We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bursting with flavours ”
Review of The Greenhouse

The Greenhouse
Ranked #159 of 2,574 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bursting with flavours ”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Was lucky enough to be invited to dinner in the Greenhouse - glad I accepted - from the start through to the desert finale this was a tasting delight - creative dishes bursting with flavour in the tasting menu - surprise after surprise - wonderful staff who added to the fun made this a great evening - relaxed dining, excellent food and portions that were just right to leave enough room for the next course - I will be back as this is a real treat of a restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    61
    32
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Top Grub !!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked and got a table at the last minute for our 1st night out dining in Dublin. On arrival we opted for the chef's 5 course surprise tasting menu along with a bottle of Spanish Godello wine.
Canapés appeared 1st along with the bread selection - 5 different canapés which were all amazing both in taste and presentation. The bread was also top class with a "hoppy" treacle loaf being the choice.
The 1st course served was a foie Gras dish with an apple jelly, foie gras snow and walnuts. Scallops with textures of beetroot and an oyster emulsion was the second course.
Next up was the fish course accompanied with Dublin Bay prawns, textures of cauliflower and blood orange. Main course was pine smoked Sika deer and the dessert was a chocolate terrine with smoked milk and passion fruit sorbet.
All dishes were stunning in presentation, taste and textures and the wine choice was amazing. Service very friendly and relaxed. A top end experience and up there with the one starred restaurants out there. Highly recommended and I think very reasonably priced in comparison to other eateries in the city. Go !!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmashedGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A taste explosion”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had never eaten in the greenhouse but decided to book it for a special meal as some friends were visiting from Manchester. The dining room itself is not the restaurants best asset but we did get a nice table in an alcove with a view into the kitchen. The maître d explained that it was a five course tasting menu which I don't remember being mentioned when booking but it turned out really well. We are not great foodies so were a bit fearful that what might follow would be too challenging. We couldn't have been more wrong - each course presented was a treat with amazing flavours, beautiful presentation and lovely service. We had Sika Deer for the meat course which we thought we wouldn't like but was lovely. There was plenty of theatre in how the food was presented. The wines were well chosen. The greenhouse is an expensive restaurant but we all agreed that this was one of the best meals that we all had experienced, some in Michelin starred restaurants. My one minor gripe of the evening is that the serving of cheese from the board was a little small for 4 people. That said we didn't have much space left to fill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Second best”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a second visit to the Greenhouse being drawn back by the outstanding gastronomical experience of our first visit and once again we were not disappointed. The €100 Christmas Eve 5course set menu (inclusive of a glass of champagne and canopies) was mouth watering from start to finish...every mouthful a treat, every dish delectable, attention to detail on the presentation was superb and yet something was missing....we had a feeling that here was a restaurant that was in danger of becoming over confident and over reliant on the quality of the food and losing sight of the whole dining out experience for their patrons. The bathroom was grim and untidy, the attention of the staff mechanical and there was no signs of any christmas cheer. We felt the €100 was expensive for what we got but we did leave sated and replete......The Greenhouse is definitely a "must" as a gastro experience" we just hope that the standards applied to the menu will also be applied to the whole dining experience

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“feast for the eyes”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I experienced wonderful food and terrific service here this week. Each course was beautifully presented and explained by the staff. The standard of food was excellent and almost all sourced in Ireland. The highlight was Sika deer. The restaurant is somewhat compromised by the layout of the room which has a busy thoroughfare up the centre making the room appear busy. Noise from the kitchen can be overheard in the restaurant and tables are very close together.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pier32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greenhouse also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing