We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a very short stay”
Review of Spire Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spire Hostel
Ranked #19 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Firstly, the staff are very helpful and welcoming.
The rooms are your typical shared dorm, shared bathroom. Fortunately there is a female only bathroom on the 3rd floor as my 12 bed dorm was filled with boys... So you can imagine the state of the bathroom and the lack of privacy! Unfortunately I was in room 2 which is located right next to the commual areas and was extremely noisy (no fault of the hostel of course!). The main downfall of my stay (as i can cope with the noise, lack of privacy) is that the atmosphere is a bit off, no real travellers staying here; mainly people looking for work and even some long term sleepers who actually live in the hostel. Therefore i didn't get to meet anyone to venture around the city with, which was disappointing (but again, not the fault of the hostel!) Overall, i cannot mark down the hostel for anything in particular, afterall you get what you expect from shared accomodation in a popular city; although i have to say, i would not stay here again.
Breakfast is self service and included in the price of the room; basic toast, cereal and coffee - but adequate.

Room Tip: If you're a solo, female traveller i suggest staying in the female only dorm. And to everyone e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently, we found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. On arrival the room wasn't quite ready, but they let us leave our bags and didn't charge us until we were ready to book in.

First impressions were good, the standard of decor and cleanliness seemed to be good - basic but functional.

Unfortunately, we later discovered several areas that let the place down. Firstly, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and gave me backache. Secondly the room lacked basic features like a mirror and coat hooks. The final problem was the bathrooms (separate male and female), they weren't particularly clean, and the gents only had one locking cubicle out of three. The showers had no area to get changed so clothes had to be left on the floor; they were also visible to everyone in the bathroom. They were only cleaned once daily which i don't think is enough. My friend made similar comments about the ladies bathroom.

Another issue in the front bedrooms is road noise, there is a bus stand outside and it is noisy in the morning, if you want to have the window open you get woken up.

I wouldn't say these are reasons not to stay there, but they need to be rectified. It was more expensive than other places, and i don't feel this was justified.

If these problems were rectified i would have no hesitation in giving 4 or 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Horrible beds! The room has a exit sign turned on all night, so it's never completely dark, which interferes in the sleep quality. The wooden floor doesn't help at all as when people walk in the room you wake up with your bed shaking. The bunk beds are really crappy. If the other person moves in their sleep, you move too. Some of the bunk beds were broken or the ladder was loose.
I was given the number of the bed I was supposed to sleep in, but I had to look for it very carefully as the beds have only a small sticker with its number, some of them handwritten, which seems to be very untidy.
The breakfast is not very good, but it's OK. However, the kitchen can be very crowded in the morning.
I stayed in a dorm with 20 beds and there was just one shower for all these people. Can you imagine how dirty it was? They clean it every day, but 20 people using the same shower is impossible. It should have more showers or they should clean it more than once a day. There is only two toilets in the room, which are very disgusting by the end of the day.
Most of the staff are friendly and the common areas are nice. There is a good kitchen with everything you need, a TV room and a lounge area.
The location is good. it's in the city centre and that is for sure the best feature of the hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linistk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I spent only one night here, the service was great and the location is perfect. I was sleeping on a huge bedroom and I think the only problem was that as it was saturday I could hear everyone partying. But the hostel is quite good in general, I can't say more as I was only one night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kass_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed in the double bed private room, it was pleasant clean and the staff were very helpful.
my only problem with the hostel was the showers, they were one of those press for 10 seconds showers that had no control over the water and most of the time it was cold.
other then that I have no complaints and it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hostel is very new and at a perfect location, the showers and washrooms were very good and clean, I stayed with 2 friends for 2 nights in a 8 beds dorm and the bed was very comfy. The staff was very nice and helpful, lots of young people there. I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorcanoc, Owner at Spire Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thanks for your review, really glad you liked your stay !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This a really central hostel and it's clean with good washing facilities. In theory, it's all you could really want from a hostel in the heart of Dublin City. I was kept awake some of the time from the noise outside, but not many people stay in a hostel for the peace and quiet and it wasn't too bad! My friend and I stayed in an eight-bed dorm, but found that the only bunkbeds that were left didn't have ladders, so getting into bed was a bit of a challenge. Getting down was even more tricky! Apart from that, it was pretty good and the staff were friendly. Would I stay there again? Yep, you could probably talk me into it...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnonyWozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorcanoc, Owner at Spire Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hi , thanks for the review.Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the missing ladder. , i wasn't aware of that , so thanks for letting me know. Any missing ladders are being replaced this week. we've also just installed lockers in reception for keeping valuables in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 129 in Dublin
2,252 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 129 in Dublin
1,127 reviews
Sky Backpackers
#9 of 129 in Dublin
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spire Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spire Hostel

Address: 90-93 Marlborough Street, Dublin D1, Ireland (Formerly Sky Backpackers - The Spire)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $22 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spire Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a youth and party Hostel welcoming anyone with spirit of happy atmosphere. Spire Hostel is the most central Hostel in Dublin, a perfect choice for young people, backpackers, week-enders and student to stay in Dublin. The hostel is also a perfect choice for groups well accommodated in large rooms En suite. Our staff team speak various languages and are both friendly and helpful to welcome you. The Hostel has 4 floors in the building 12 rooms and 120 beds all dorms. Free Wi-Fi in throughout the property, luggage room free of charge and small lockers for rent at reception. We also have communal modern kitchen with all appliances So come and feel in your house!!! Please note: Check-in from 2pm. Check-out by 11am. Cancellation policy is 1 days in advance. We accept payment by cash, debit & credit cards. Valid identification is a requirement. Breakfast included. Taxes included. Term&Conditions apply. Management has the right to refuse admission. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Spire Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing