We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Silk Road Cafe

Silk Road Cafe
Ranked #252 of 2,617 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

No matter what I will say it won't be enough , the quality of the food is wonderfull , nice decoration , friendly staff, located in the heart of city centre..
I would recommend it for everybody , families, friends , couples and groups .
I would say it's cheap for the quality of the food.
I will diffently go there over and over again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    64
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food. Surly service.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having looked forward for some time to visiting the Silk Road Cafe, the food did not disappoint. However, I feel that some obvious improvements could be made in other areas. Firstly, when queueing for food, the mains were described simply as 'Lamb dish' or 'Chicken dish'. People, of course, would like to know a little more before ordering. The lady behind the counter was quite curt (and incomprehensible!) when giving details and I got the feeling that she did not appreciate having to repeat herself. Overall, I had to make a rushed decision which should not be the case.
My advise to prospective customers is a) ask questions if you need you and b) take your time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatNoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Slop at the Silk Road”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The first time I ate at this cafe at the Chester Beatty Library I enjoyed it so much that I went back the next day to try another dish; both times the food was excellent. And the space in foyer of the Chester Beatty library where you can consume the food is very pleasant and airy. This time, however, the food was a tasteless slop masquerading as mousakka and very disappointing (although the two salads were fresh and tasty). I can no longer recommend it except for coffee and backlava and the salads.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Many times before - Never again”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

When we turned up there was nobody serving food. There was two members of
staff around the coffee machine and others coming in and out of the kitchen
but we were studiously avoided until there were 10 people all queing
patiently at the hot-food counter.

When somebody did appear we were infomed that there was no falafel (a sadly
common occurence as it delicious). After opting for the Tagine a plate was
fired into the microwave without asking me - microwaving fresh food is an
unpleasant business and the bain marie has always been sufficient to keep
things piping hot in the past. Two salads were then plonked on the plate
such that they all blended together. I realise Tagine can be hit and miss
but the luke-warm meat was incredibely tough and fatty and the whole dish
was rather unpleasant.

In addition the crockery was absolutely filthy. The knife was manky from the
clean pile - I gave it to a member of staff and advised them that maybe
loads had got mixed in the washer - I worked in restaurants for 15 years and
know well the pressures people are under - however, the staff member just
shrugged and put it back in the clean pile. The water glass I was using also
had a large smear of lip-stick on it. I tried and failed to get a napkin on
a number of occasions and when ordering 3 coffees the member of staff simply
totted up the sums and left the teas and coffees on her side of the divide -
forcing me into a tricky manouvre to load a tray without spilling or
dropping anything onto the buns and cakes. The only acceptable part of the
meal was the baklava which was its usual sugary delight. Things have slipped from the glory days sadly

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was a little skeptical that a museum cafe would come so highly recommended, but the Silk Road Cafe does not disappoint! There are rotating lunch specials that are themed to match the Chester Beatty Library collection. There's Mediterranean and Middle Eastern food and plenty of vegetarian options. I especially enjoyed the moussaka and a side of lentil salad. It's a lovely place to spend an afternoon, and I found myself returning to the Chester Beatty Library later in the week just to get lunch there!

Most importantly, the prices are extremely reasonable for Dublin. Of particularly good value are the lunch "half portions" for 6.50 euros. These portions are more than enough, and come with 2 side salads that you choose. Most places in Dublin offer soggy fish and chips for about 9 euros, so getting such great and unusual food in such a lovely atmosphere at that price was such a treat! I would highly recommend a lunch at the Silk Road Cafe when you're in Dublin, whether you visit the library collection or not!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NellABJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Road Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Silk Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing