We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking spot”

Brother Hubbard North
Ranked #2 of 117 Coffee & Tea in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our aim is to serve simple, fresh food and drinks that are made with a lot of love and effort so that they can be something that we can be proud of, something you can enjoy.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cracking spot”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This place had been on my "to-do" list for long time, so a friend and I headed here for coffee on Friday afternoon. A lovely place, great coffee and service. We lingered over coffee and as they bake fresh every day and it was approaching closing time, they gave us our pick of the bakery to take home free of charge! A lovely touch. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thenakedtourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    201
    54
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice ambiance, good food”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The food here is good, simple and tasty. I had the portobello mushroom soup, and while it could have tasted more like mushroom for me, it was good, my fellow diner had the salad plate, my one complaint would be a slight lack of seasoning across the board. The place is very much on trend at the moment, hopefully they will continue to get better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herbivore23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little disappointed!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I ordered coffee and what they call, the best sandwich in Dublin. To be honest I don't know if it was just my sandwich, or that is the way to do it. But it wasn't even close what a sandwich should be. I couldn't eat the bread,. Two slices of bread ( were toasted, but they served cold) for a mountain of pork an veg, with not sauces or anything. Hard to eat!!! My girlfriend ordered another type of sandwich, it was better, but the bread seemed De-frozed, very dry. I really think they need to improve in the type of bread. One suggestion...Ciabatta bread

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely intimate place for coffee or lunch.
My wife bright me here and we had the egg breakfast,
It was substantial and really nice.
Staff were excellent. Essentially this restaurant/ cafe is a unique experience and worth a vist

Helpful?
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazingly imaginative breakfasts”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

A breakfast menu like no other. I had the Moroccan special - poached eggs on toast with an aubergine, chickpea and Harissa mix topped with hummus. A flavour explosion. It's pricier than your average breakfast but for good reason I think and it kept me going until dinner. I would have given 5 stars had the welcome been warmer on arrival (though the waiting staff were lovely) and had my chair not rocked each time someone went past which, being sat effectively in a through-route, happened a lot. Also, I think the clean but cavernous toilet would be better split into two for such a busy place and something done to make you feel a bit less conspicuous when in there (opening up as it does straight into the covered outdoor part of the seating area). Get in before 11.45 on a Sunday if you don't want to queue too long (for the cafe that is, not the toilet!).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Hubbard North also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
County Dublin, Province of Leinster
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Brother Hubbard North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing