We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Great location”
Review of Four Courts Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Courts Hostel
Ranked #18 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value, Great location”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The location is easy to find (directly across the river from the Four Courts building) and a short, almost equidistant, walk away from popular tourist areas (Temple Street Bar area and Guinness factory). I was in a 12 person dorm and the accommodations were fine. I was in a room where it was a passage way from the next dorm room over to the bathroom and hallway, which makes the room sort of a high traffic area...but at night everyone was pretty courteous to keep the noise down. The people working there were helpful and very friendly. Also the room I had was mixed gender, so if you have issues with sharing toilets and showers (w/ curtains), you may want to ask if they have private rooms available. Overall, a good value hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enc429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    155
    83
    31
    23
See reviews for
19
39
98
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall a good hostel, but not without its flaws. The set-up is good and the staff is nice and very helpful. Wasn't the cleanest, however, which detracted from our stay. Location wise it is pretty ideally set, you can walk to Temple Bar and to shopping and nightlife on Camden Street. It was also really loud and pretty difficult to sleep because multiple rooms are connected and you have to walk through other rooms to get to the bathroom. Ended up getting a private room for a couple of nights just to get some actual rest. On the bright side it was reasonably priced and a pretty good experience in general.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate187178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Four Courts Hostel is awesome! I stayed twice during my two month journey around Europe. I stayed in a mixed dorm and later a female dorm. Upon arriving, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They always say hi and it's easy to strike up a conversation with them. The rooms were clean and the beds cozy. The place felt very safe with keycard access for every room and storage lockers under the beds that fit my large travel bag (you will need to bring your own lock or pay to borrow one from the hostel). The location is walking distance to museums, city center shopping and airport bus stops. I thought the bathrooms were pretty tidy, but some of them did not have soap to wash your hands. The kitchen was great and could sometimes be a little crowded. The dining area was fun and I always found someone to chat with and eat with. There is no wireless in the rooms, but wireless is available in all the common areas. The pub crawl was a lot of fun and a must if you stay here! And remember: Ear Plugs, they are essential for any hostel, do not go to bed without them in. I am a light sleeper and slightest noise would wake me up. I give this hostel my stamp of approval and hope to visit it again in the future! High five Four Courts!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

upon arrival the staff gave us all sorts of information (map, recommendations, directions) which was very very useful. our 4-bedroom en suite was bright, tidy and warm. the price was fair although i have to mention that the so called continental breakfast is a joke. but that is a general thing in the UK/Ireland. so dont expect too much. the hostel's location in Dublin was good. however, it is a fair walk to the temple bar district. the hostel pub crawl was great. if you have the chance you should deffo join the other crawlers!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Cheap hostel, but no amenities at all. Breakfast was toast and tea, rooms had a sheet and blanket. A bit of a walk from temple bar but not too bad. Within walking distance of Guinness Factory. Be prepared, not even soap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobh
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Decent, clean, quiet, safe cozy.
Worth every penny. No hesitation to stay again.
Satisfaction guaranteed.
Recommended as First choice option if on a budget.
And, don't forget your ID.
=========
Чисто, достойно, уютно, спокойно и безопасно.
Рекомендую, ели на бюджете.

Room Tip: First choice option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadym L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I spent three nights in this hostel and was happy with it. I stayed in a four bed dorm with ensuite. Room and bathroom was clean. Lockers were basically cages under the bed which were ok but I prefer something more secure, although rooms could only be entered by keycard access. Staff were very friendly and there were good common spaces throughout the hostel. Free internet access available on the hostel's computers but they only had three computers with one broken at the time I was there so there was often a line to use them. The hostel also had a kitchen - the only problem was the fridges were basically overflowing so there was no space to put your stuff. Breakfast was included and was basic but sufficient with toast and cereal. The hostel was well located - about a five minute walk from Temple Bar, 10 minutes from O'Connell Street and right by the river. It was easy to find and within walking distance of most major attractions in Dublin. The airport bus stops not far from the hostel as well. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this as a good budget option in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisbanetraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 115 in Dublin
780 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 115 in Dublin
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Court
#8 of 115 in Dublin
1,022 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 115 in Dublin
2,019 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#7 of 115 in Dublin
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Courts Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Courts Hostel

Property: Four Courts Hostel
Address: 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Four Courts Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Four Courts Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Courts Hostel
Four Courts Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing