We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great palce!”
Review of Four Courts Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Courts Hostel
Ranked #21 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great palce!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was my favourite hostel out of the 8 I stayed in on my recent trip in Europe.
The staff were amazing. Very friendly and always willing to give directions or advice, or to sit and chat if they weren't busy.
The large kitchen and two guest fridges really helped keep food costs down for me! Lots of space to eat and relax. Breakfast was included and more than adequate.
Free Wifi and free computers with internet. Free luggage room. Free guitars that you could borrow to play, as well as a wii.
Rooms were pretty clean, and spacious enough. The shower was clean. Although for some unknown reason, we had a bunch of flies in our room.
The location was great. Easy walking distance to all sorts of attractions, and easy to find when getting into the city.
The only downer was the huge group of very loud and rather rude teenagers who seemed to be on some sort of school excursion. They seemed to feel they could take over the place and order people to vacate dinning tables. But other than that, I really enjoyed my stay and would absolutely reccomend Four Courts!

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank worldoyster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    158
    88
    32
    25
See reviews for
21
42
100
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Staff was very helpful with information's. You have free access to internet, a kitchen to use, some snack automate, a place to sit and talk and a lots of flyer to check what is going on! The Hostel is very good located, you can walk to the most sight in less than 15 minutes, and there are bus stops and the Dart is very near. The bed-room and the sheets were clean. The bathroom was a bit small to share for 30 girls (12 and 16-bed-room) only 2 showers, 2 toilets and 2 sinks. Also were the facilities a bit worn-out. The main-kitchen as well. The breakfast was good, besides I was missing soy-milk. But all in all the Hostel was very good and I would always recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieO0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Though this hostel isn't huge it feels like there is always so much going on and so much to do. With multiple spaces to eat, read, or watch tv (their movie collection is amazing) there is something for everyone. The location is great too far enough down the road from temple bar that there are not crazy drunks but close enough that you are a five minute walk from a great night out. The rooms are also nice spacious, airy and with ensuite bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Was "improvising" for the first time while travelling, had to take an expensive hotel the first night, and on a whim inquired at Four Courts Hostel, and was lucky to find them with a vacancy. The accommodations were just what the doctor ordered, at a great price. Good vibe, friendly staff and guests, I was very happy to find Four Courts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hostel was fantastic. There was a nice melange of both quietness and good ol' Irleland fun with great people and wonderful staff.

The first pub on the bar crawl was great! And even came with a free BBQ and live Irish music!

Location was great! A little further away from the loud nights, but just close enough to stumble home to.

We had the private room the first night which was tiny, but still decent.
The mixed dorms were a decent size.

Staff was amazing, and ask for Seamus when you are there, he'll take care of your bags!

Great place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed for one night in a 16 bed dorm and it was very good. On the plus side:
The location is great - central for almost everything in Dublin
The staff were great - helpful, friendly, good craic
Bed was comfy and clean
Free breakfast was basic but I paid £8 for the room so I'm not complaining
Free wifi

On the down side
I'm 6ft 1 and the bed was *just* big enough. If you're bigger than that, check before booking
The showers and toilets lacked a little privacy - it wasn't a problem, but having the shower and toilet in the same room for our dorm meant things were a little, erm, friendly

I've stayed in a few hostels and this is as good as any. All the important things are there - safe, clean, helpful, nice bunch of people etc with relatively few downsides. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed in a private 10 bed room on a hen do and the hostel was really good. I haven't really stayed in many hostels but this one was clean and had really great amenities. There was a really good atmosphere in the hostel and there was a lot of events that you could join in on if you wanted to such as Wii tournaments and quiz nights/dvd nights etc. they even provided tours of the city!
There was security on the door and it was staffed all night so you had to show your pass on entry which was reassuring.
The main area was large and included a kitchen that we were all welcome to use and a variety of other bits such as lockers and leaflets etc.

The staff were really friendly too and advised the best places to be.

All in all the hostel was clean and the atmosphere was so good that I would definitely recommend it and stay again!

Room Tip: We had a room off the main building on the ground floor which seemed more spacious and slightly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saz1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 117 in Dublin
785 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 117 in Dublin
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 117 in Dublin
2,073 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 117 in Dublin
2,059 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Courts Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Courts Hostel

Property: Four Courts Hostel
Address: 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Four Courts Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Four Courts Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Courts Hostel
Four Courts Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing