We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a group booking.”
Review of Four Courts Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Courts Hostel
Ranked #19 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for a group booking.”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Myself and a group of friends used the Four Courts as a base for a stag weekend late in July. The rooms were basic but clean and had an en-suite bathroom and shower. Although the breakfast was basic it was ideal and as we had only paid 20euros a night it was far better than i would have expected. The staff were friendly and helpful both whilst arranging the weekend and whilst we were there. I thought that the location was perfect for us as it was close to the centre (5 minutes walk) yet far enough away to be quiet at night. Some people mention that there is noise at night in earlier reviews, we didnt hear a thing but then again we were up on the 3rd floor which may have been why!

I'd definately use the hostel again if i was in the city again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MK1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    155
    83
    31
    23
See reviews for
18
39
98
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Four Courts is an upbeat, clean, and fun hostel to stay at. The location speaks for itself, it sits between Temple Bar, a 5 minute walk, and the oldest bar in Ireland, The Brazen Head. The staff is very kind and helpful with a great sense of humor. The hostel itself is very clean as well. We loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pony613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont Shore, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

i stayed at four courts for two nights and was very impressed by this hostel (and i'm a picky traveler). i stayed in a 12-bunk dorm and found the price to be fairly reasonable and in line with all the other hostels. this hostel had everything that we were looking for: VERY clean, VERY friendly and helpful staff, VERY safe with security cards that change color daily and swipe cards to enter dorm, CENTRAL location in templebar neighborhood and to guiness factory, FREE wifi downstairs and FREE 20-minutes per day of internet on computers, supplied linens, lockers under bunks for luggage, very lively.....

do you hear people partying in the middle of the night? of course, it's a hostel. do you sometimes have to wait for the bathroom? of course, it's a hostel.
you need to bring a lock for your luggage locker and a towel.

would DEFINITELY recommend and return to!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Spent a few days in Dublin and stayed at Four Courts hostel. Had an excellent time there - clean rooms, lots to do, lots of information, free international calls, and really friendly staff - especially Carl, who helped us select a day tour, and told us about an excellent pub outside of Temple bar which did cheap Guinness. Will definitely return to this hostel if I'm in Dublin again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I'm writing this review from the perspective of (and perhaps for the benefit of someone) who had never before stayed in a hostel before. I'm in my mid-twenties, so not exactly rolling in money or luxury... but had thus far stuck to hotels. However, Dublin hotel prices are quite high (or were on the weekend I was there), so I decided to be adventurous and try a hostel. My bed in a 4-person shared room (2 sets of bunks) cost €25.

The people at reception were quirky, but friendly and jolly. You get to lock your bags in the locker room yourself with a key attached to a funny leprechaun doll (although this kind of means any other guest could steal from you if they wanted to...). This didn't happen to me though nor have I heard of it happening, so I'm just making an observation. I felt completely safe while I was there.

The room and bathroom looked very clean, but had an odd but pretty strong moldy/musty smell, particularly in the bathroom. I don't know if this is normal, but it basically made me need to get in and out as quickly as possible, so that was uncomfortable. I was staying only one night and so did not want to brave the shower. Mattress was pretty solid. I didn't sleep super well and it was disruptive when other people came in and you could hear people in other rooms, but I think people are as considerate as possible. Breakfast was cereal and toast. You have to wash your own dishes. :-P

So... it was okay. I wouldn't call it a bargain because it's exactly what you pay for. It's a decent option if you plan to be out all day and only need some place to sleep. Location was pretty convenient although a bit farther west than I would have preferred.

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank whyran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is a great place to stay for a bunch of friends wanting to tour around. I particularly enjoyed the downstairs breakfast area with lots of options and nice hardwood floors. The rooms are pretty standard for a hostel--well worn bunk beds and plain walls--but it was clean and the room that I stayed in was relatively quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank literarylady42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

One of the best hostels I have stayed at. The staff was great and very helpful. Lots of room including a reading room, TV room and large eating /hanging out area. Close to everything! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish2orat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 115 in Dublin
780 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 115 in Dublin
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 115 in Dublin
2,011 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 115 in Dublin
2,016 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 115 in Dublin
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Courts Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Courts Hostel

Property: Four Courts Hostel
Address: 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Four Courts Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Four Courts Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Courts Hostel
Four Courts Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing