We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Eat where where a president ate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fagan's Pub

Fagan's Pub
Ranked #302 of 2,500 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is an extremely popular restaurant in Drumcondra - former taoiseach Prime Minister) Bertie Ahern frequented it regularly-- can't believe you don't list it. Has an excellent menu
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
531 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Eat where where a president ate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yes, this is where President Bill Clinton came when he visited Dublin and so can you! A bit "commercial" and packed, but a nice place to eat. Very large, bright and loud, bussling with servers and tourists. We made a reservation earlier in the day which I suggest. I ordered the surf and turf which included a sirloin with shrimp, and veg. It was very well cooked and tasted good, not great, but good. Cost wsa a bit pricey at 25.00 euro, but this is where a president ate afterall! There are pictures of Clinton on the wall and a very large bar area. Conveniently located on the main rd into and out of Dublin. I would visit again definately when in Dublin again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KenmareLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    80
    20
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fagan's Pub / restaurant which was recommended by the concierge of the Croke Park Hotel concierge (about 15min walk). If the restaurant is good enough for Bill Clinton and Bertie Ahern, it is a good testament of service and quality of food.
Excellent good choice of food and value for money, friendly and welcoming.
On the first nigh we did not book - big mistake, had to wait for an available table. The place was packed, bar staff very busy.
Would recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank victor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Great atomsphere in here and the food is fantastic with generous portions and the staff are very friendly and welcoming!

Helpful?
Thank Hihihhihi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you're in Dublin- it's worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came on a local b&b hostess recommendation and were happy with the service, the selection of food and drink and the ambiance. Lovely pub on Drumcondra - we were all pleased with the vegetable soup which is a don't miss and they did cater nicely to a gluten free diet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wyoming_traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern US
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fagan's Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Friendly barkeep and cheap drafts. Carvery lunch was bland but cheap and filling. The building and memorabilia and photographs were interesting. We'd go again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bisbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fagan's Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Fagan's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing