We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacobs Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jacobs Inn Hostel
Ranked #2 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Brilliant hostel, was very clean. We stayed in a 6 mixed dorm room, was good, there's a big kitchen to make food, lockers which are safe etc. Everything went well! Would 100% stay there next time I go to Dublin.

Room Tip: 6 mixed dorm was a good size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Diva42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Really pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    776
    211
    62
    50
See reviews for
140
208
502
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed at Jacob's Inn countless times in the last few years and have always been comfortable, the staff are so friendly and ready to help and find information at any time. I am pleased that the facilities are clean and it is easy to meet people if you're on your own. There is something for everyone. The hostel is so conveniently close to bus stops and Connolly station as well as the city centre, so it is easy to walk everywhere or get a bus. I have met some lovely people at Jacob's Inn. The only thing I would like to suggest is containers in the shower cubicles to place soaps and shampoos at eye level, off the floor and the shower drains cleared regularly (of hair). I had such a good time and the room was comfy and warm. It's great to have the use of a locker if you want one. One feels secure and safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 619Earthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Many thanks for your great review and for your help[ul suggestions which we will certainly look at.- keep 'em coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place could easily be a 100%. The staff are fantastic, the kitchen is large and easy to use, they have a simple to use laundry and the rooms are large enough with nice ensuites.

However, and this is a BIG however...The wifi is only in the common room. It is so slow that it basically doesn't function at all. Add to that there are only very few electric sockets anywhere let alone on the room that has wifi and you can see my disappointment. The fact is that for so many travellers these days wifi and the ability to recharge your device are essential for planning your trip. So if I had the choice I'm sad to say I wouldn't stay again. Just imagine there is no wifi and no electric sockets and then make your decision based on that.

Its frustrating because the place was great other than that, and these are very easy to resolve problems.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review . So sorry to hear we missed the 100% due to wifi issues

We do offer free wifi in all common areas and it has been greatly improved in recent months as we have vastly increased our investment in bandwidth to cope with increasing demand due to use in smart phones. There are times when people are streaming movies , you tube which can cause temporary interruptions in flow and we understand how frustrating this may be for some so we are continually striving to improve the system so it is fair for all.The Wifi does work so i am not sure what happened when you were with us but again so so sorry for your frustration . Please come back and give us another try !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had never stay in a hostel before I was expecting the absolute worse thinking it was a place for drug users etc.. gosh how wrong was I? The bus from the airports stops right at the bottom of the street. Our room mates was nice apart from 2 of them that kept going mad for the slightest noise. The rooms are ok I loved staying in a 1 dorm mixed room meet loads of people from around the world. Staff you could not fault them always there to help. Locker rooms are good and very big (I got locked in one haha) breakfast was basically but what do you expect for what youve made. Its a brilliant hostel and I would definitely stay again.. no need for posh hotel anymore. Hostel are definitely the place to stay xx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augustxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Bang on ! Love your review and thanks a million.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in a quad room. We enjoyed our stay and found the bunk beds to be quite comfortable. We liked the security of requiring a room key to gain access to the area where the bedrooms were. The staff were friendly and helpful in explaining how to get to the airport. Temple Bar was about a 15 minute walk. Only small issue we had with our stay was that there was no place to sit at breakfast 2 of the mornings we were there so we had to stand and eat, but since the breakfast was included in our room rate we weren't terribly bothered. Everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the building, right beneath the entrance where everyone smoked in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkeyeGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for your positive review. Sorry if breakfast was crowded it was busy during your stay and guests sometimes tend to come down together. However you are also welcome to take breakfast to the self catering kitchen where there is more table space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great location, awesome hostel! Really helpful when getting to town from the airport and good recommendations of things to do. No wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. Great energy and fun environment!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Many thanks for your 5 stars .We appreciate it and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went with 5 friends for just one night in Dublin. Location is ideal, near the busstation. Friendly and cheerful staff, free breakfast, clean, free wifi and they offer for a good price for the rooms. They offer a free walking tour, which is nice but was too long. For me too much talking (interesting though) but it felt like more talking than walking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0laLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,265 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 104 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Inn Hostel

Property: Jacobs Inn Hostel
Address: Jacobs Inn 21 Talbot Place, Dublin D01 W5P8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacobs Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose built youth/backpacker hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station,the tram and rail lines, Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. There are Private Ensuite Rooms sleeping from 1-4 people and spacious Ensuite Dormitories sleeping 6-12. Temple Bar is a twelve minute walk away. O'Connell Street, 3arena, Croke Park and the Aviva are just a few minutes from the hostel.Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge and common areas, Games Room 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Roof top terrace, Movie and Games Nights ,Friendly staff, great craic and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Jacobs Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing