We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, helpful, fun, and convenient location”
Review of Jacobs Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jacobs Inn Hostel
Ranked #2 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hostel is walking distance to everything which was fantastic! Just down the street from our favorite restaurant O'Sheas at Old Morans Hotel off talbot and gardener street. The hostel had pretty standard breakfast- toast, jelly, cereal, coffee and juice. We were able to meet some fun diverse young travelers in the common areas! The security at this location was great! Had to swipe your card multiple times to get through various doors to our main room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks a million - All good to hear!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

I head to dublin every couple of weekends.
Jacob's is excellently location for the docklands, city centre and is next to the Busaras Luas stop.
I go for the larger dorms, beds are comfortable, building secure and hostelers I've met here all friendly. The Staff are excellent! Luggage storage is great and handy too.

As with any hostels, bring earplugs and flip flops! :)

The breakfast here is basic but it is great in it's simplicity compared to other basic breakfasts on offer.

I will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Splash out for the smaller rooms for more privacy and quiet. Prices are still great for that too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

So delighted you liked us. Its always gratifying to get really positive reviews.Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

7 of us went on a girls weekend to Dublin at the beginning of November. We were trying to keep accommodation costs low so it was suggested we went to a hostel. I was a bit apprehensive about going to a hostel as I've never stayed in one before but having read the reviews onTripadvisor it put my mind at rest and I didn't think much of it.

It's been quite hard for me to rate Jacobs Inn though as I would assume that as far as hostels go it's probably really good. It was very clean, basic, plenty of ammenities (kitchen, laundry, lockers etc), low cost accommodation in the centre of Dublin so ticked the boxes for that. However, it just wasn't for me and I wouldn't choose to stay in a hostel again. I've given it a 3 but would have preferred the option of 3.5. I'm sure this place ticks the boxes for a number of reasons but just not for me,

Bed was comfortable, bathroom very clean and we had a room all of our own. On our first night we barely got any sleep at all. People running up and down the corridors, doors slamming and music on really loud. I actually felt a little unsafe the first night but this wasn't the fault of Jacobs Inn. Door seemed secure and had CCTV everywhere! But we had a few bangs against the door as though someone had been shoved against it and I just felt a bit vulnerable. I didn't feel that I could go out and ask them to be quiet so just tried to sleep.

Next night was fine though, maybe due to the fact I had been out drinking but got plenty of sleep.

Staff approachable and we only really used the hostel to sleep in and get changed. We ate breakfast at a local Italian Restaurant and it was lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review the Hostel. We are so pleased that you found so much positive with your stay and do appreciate that the hostel experience is not for everyone . It sounds like the shared dormitory with your friends worked a treat . We do ask all guests to be respectful of others so we are really sorry if other boisterous guests disturbed your first night’s sleep - we will always help if guests are being disturbed . As you say we do have CCTV and effective locking system and we do take security of guests very seriously.
Glad you enjoyed your second night and slept well ! Great that you found somewhere nice for breakfast but we should mention that we do offer a free light breakfast in the Hostel (and also have self-catering kitchen)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed with my friend in a mixed 6 bed dorm. It was really clean. The room came with a bathroom and it had 2 sinks, shower and toilet all of which were modern and immaculate. The helpdesk were very nice and helpful and just pleasant overall. The bunk beds were also comfortable.

It is in a central location right beside the Luas and directly across from Busaras bus station. Great if you are going out anywhere in Dublin.

The breakfast was nice with cereal, juices, boiled eggs and toast.

In my opinion this is a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: There are mixed rooms and and girls only and boys only. The train does travel behind the building bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaacs-hostel, Guest Relations Manager at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks so much fo your really positive comments - it is so good to hear we are getting so many things right ! ( we do try hard) hope to see you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Heard a lot good things about it. When visited, first feeling told all those had a deep root. Stayed just for a night, but loved it, the ambiance, rooms, toilet cleanliness, amenities, basic facilities, wi-fi availability, security, room and bed quality - being a backpacker hostel - all were awesome and no less than a hotel. Really value for money and the tie up they are having with major attractions through out the city - just superb. If someone is looking for budget hostel at Dublin, nothing to look beyond Jacob's Inn. Fully worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments -it does the soul good to read such lovely things being said about the hostel - we do try hard to make our visitors' stay as nice as possible. - And we love nice guests like you - Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were a party of 2 but had a room for 4. plenty of room. clean, helpful staff, good humor, always busy, always able to help... We even went back on the return visit as the place we had picked was crap compared to Jacobs, and cost a fortune more than Jacobs. Great place, a hive of activity.

Room Tip: We were 2 girls, we asked for a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45rossite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thanks so much for your lovely comments. We love hearing from guests like you. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Everything was as you'd expect. Clean room, etc. Free breakfast was nice. Only problem was lack of access to sockets for charging devices when sleeping on upper bunks. This is only an issue if short on time as there are charge points in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevandCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiamhBro, Owner at Jacobs Inn Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. You made a very valid comment about the lack of sockets for the top bunks. All the sockets are on the lower levels. We can add that to our wish list . But we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
Abbey Court
#8 of 124 in Dublin
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 124 in Dublin
2,193 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 124 in Dublin
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Inn Hostel

Address: Jacobs Inn 21 Talbot Place, Dublin D01 W5P8, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $18 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacobs Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jacobs Inn is Dublin's only purpose built youth/backpacker hostel with all of the modern conveniences of a hotel. Situated in the city centre beside the central bus station,the tram and rail lines, Jacobs Inn is the most accessible hostel in Dublin. There are Private Ensuite Rooms sleeping from 1-4 people and spacious Ensuite Dormitories sleeping 6-12. Temple Bar is a twelve minute walk away. O'Connell Street, 3arena, Croke Park and the Aviva are just a few minutes from the hostel.Facilities include FREE breakfast, FREE WiFi, Pub Crawls, FREE Bed Linen,FREE walking tour of Dublin, Laundry, Storage Facilities, Comfy TV Lounge and common areas, Games Room 24 Hour Key Card Access to Rooms, Modern Self Catering Kitchen, Roof top terrace, Movie and Games Nights ,Friendly staff, great craic and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jacobs Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob`s Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing