We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tinode House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tinode House
Ranked #9 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

We choose Tinode House, following personal recommendation, and having checked with Trip Advisor. The best guest house we remember staying in - the rooms were well decorated, well appointed, and spotlessly clean; the towels fresh (white) daily. The breakfast well presented and there was a good choice, and the tables set out as if in a top hotel - very impressive. The Proprietors were friendly, hospitable, helpful and informative. Hotel is next to a bus stop, and the road is very busy indeed. Journey times to and from Dublin, though easy, and direct to the centre, could be legnthy. Buses were frequent.

We'd go back.

  • Liked — The quality
  • Disliked — Closeness to a main road
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DWM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
110
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We are a family from Spain with two children, aged 2 and 5, who spent 11 days in Tinode House. The family room was very comfortable and clean, and breakfast was excellent. Besides, the owner, PJ, was really kind, charming and helpful, offering us information about places to visit with the kids, pubs to have dinner, etc. Very close to the house there're two bus stops with buses to the city centre (O`Connell Street) or the airport every few minutes.

Alberto and Ana

  • Liked — the owner's kindness and his excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — family room not very big
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto_Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

I read about it on tripadvisor, and it was just as I read: typical irish style, confortable, very clean, in a very good position to get to the citycenter by bus. We stayed in a room for four, 2 adults and 2 kids: it was smaller than other b&b's, but it fits us right. The owners were very friendly, like all irish people, and gave us a lot of informations. The breakfast was satisfying, we choose the continental one, not the irish anyway. Remember no credit cards accepted.

  • Liked — cleaness
  • Disliked — room a little small for four
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brpadali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed two nights in Dublin, and loved it! Tinode House was clean and quiet, and the owners were very patient and helpful, even when some of us were locked out and had to ring the bell at two in morning (oops!) I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skervydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

This place is great. Professional performance by PJ , the owner of the house. Warm welcome, lots of useful information e.g. about getting around in Dublin or the excellent pub "The Fagans" down the street. The accomodation was beautiful and the breakfast was delicius. We didn´t expect this kind of hospitality so PJ did his job very well. We´d love to come again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank manmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

we stayed for 2 nights in this charming house in Dublin a few days ago and had the surprise to find a very clean room, a beautiful garden and a travel cot for our 2 year-old daughter. The place is very handy to catch a bus to the center and the owner very nice.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dubasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Peche
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

Tinode House was the 1st B & B that we stayed at ( 3 days) on a 40 day trip through Ireland, Scotland and Wales. We will remember it fondly.

PJ and Maureen Dunn are great hosts providing a warm welcome and good conversation. PJ is a wealth of information on transportation, finding locations and saving money. He is also the cook and does a great job.

They are ideally situated so that you can get to them from the airport by local bus in 20 minutes, perhaps less. They are on the bus route to downtown Dublin. Buy a rambler bus ticket at the airport and use it to get to and from Tinode and downtown Dublin and anywhere in Dublin and towns outside Dublin ( a money saving tip from PJ). Both made excellent suggestions for restaurants and attractions.

Barbara and Bob Woods

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank woodsmokeLaPeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#3 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinode House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinode House

Property: Tinode House
Address: 170 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing