We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best nights out you could have in Dublin, and it's free!”
Review of The Comedy Crunch

The Comedy Crunch
Ranked #3 of 86 Fun & Games in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“One of the best nights out you could have in Dublin, and it's free!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I go to the Comedy Crunch every couple of months, and definitely whenever I have guests in town. It is a brilliant night out - and free! The show always has a good mix of novice and veteran comedians, but is always funny - I've never been disappointed. For locals is a great laugh, and for tourists, I really think it's one of the truest glimpses into Irish culture - comedy is one of the things Ireland does best. And free ice-cream in the middle! Can't go wrong on a Sunday or Monday night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marichan623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    30
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Outstanding Comedy performances bolstered by a consummate structure”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have attended the Comedy Crunch on three separate occasions and each time I had an absolutely brilliant time. The style of comedy is diverse as a myriad of performers are utilized in the delivery of what is invariably hilarious joke and story telling. Particularly pleasing is the consistent theme running throughout the different comedians' performances in that none of the humor is crass and cheap, rather it achieves the hardest feat in Comedy- the ability to use subtlety and intelligence to deliver laugh out loud entertainment. From the travails of nominative determinism infecting a comedian's life to the hilarious reasons why one comedian prefers whales to humans, you are guaranteed to run the gamut of comedic storytelling. There are two presenters who alternate on Monday and Tuesday nights and their style of introducing the acts and all round management of the show is what truly makes the Comedy Crunch a fantastic night out. Their styles are disparate but both are outstanding at building up an atmosphere and engaging with the audience in order to tickle their funny bones in preparation for the main acts. It is the speed and fluency of their introductions and build ups that really make the night special as they break up the acts and allow you to savor the previous comic style while developing a ravenous appetite for the upcoming performer. I cannot speak highly enough of this deft approach to the comedy as otherwise the performances may be in danger of blurring into one amorphous set of continuous joke telling. However, this pitfall is masterly avoided allowing each performer's unique joke telling to stay with you long after the show is over. A real bonus is the fact that the show is on downstairs in the Stag's Head so it is not susceptible to morons tanking up on alcohol and ruining the show by engaging in heckling. This never happens and the crowd have a really engaging, interactive and most importantly hilarious time. It's an absolutely great night out and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great people, always funny”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Almost every week we run down to the Comedy Crunch. Every Sunday and Monday evening they have a free comedy show and it never disappoints. Some comedians are just there for fun and are joking with the public, some are professional comedians and trying out some stuff and some just love telling jokes. But all of they are good craic and very funny. The Stag's Head has become our favorite pub in Dublin, mostly because of the Comedy Crunch. If you're visiting Dublin this is worth checking out. If you live in Dublin, you should have been here a long time ago.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MHelfrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Goods laughs for free”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in Dublin a few weeks ago and heard this was worth checking out. Thxfully we did this as this was our favorite nite of our trip! gr8 comedians & a Stags Head is a great bar. The hosts Colm & Danny were very friendly, sexy and welcoming as well as gr8 on stage!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great night out.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

defo check this place out if you are in Dublin on a sunday night. First off - its free !! you even get icecream at the break. 6 comedy acts - usually 4 are good and maybe one or two chaps/ladies learning the ropes but still good stuff. The headlining act last night was colm o'regan he is a geniune comedian ie he can go off tangent and ramble on and still be funny. It seems he is not following a scrpt as much at the others. Good interaction with the crowd. It starts onj time as well 9pm and is over by 11pm.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinShivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Comedy Crunch also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Comedy Crunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing