We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Foodie's paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isabel's - CLOSED

Isabel's
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Utilizing the very best of seasonal and foraged local produce, we aim to provide a unique dining experience in Dublin. Our extensive selection of wines from around the world caters for every budget.
Dublin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Foodie's paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The food in Isabel’s is hard to fault, if not impossible to fault. It’s a real foodie's paradise. Service is also excellent, as good as i’ve seen anywhere in dublin infact.

I didn’t give it 5 stars though for a couple of reasons:
- Atmosphere is a bit flat
- Menu is v restrictive- the nite we went there was Lamb, Pork or Scallops. I happen to like all 3 but i’d be slow to go here with lots of my friends who wouldn't be as adventurous as me.
- Portions are on the small side. You need side orders bringing each main over the €30 mark. Probably not great value although i do appreciate that the ingredients are of a v high quality.

All of that said, i will definitely be back, one of the nicest lamb dishes i’ve ever had! Fantastic wine list also, they clearly know a lot about wine (as well as great ingredients!) We had a bottle of the Delta NZ Pinot Noir, absolute liquid heaven! Well done Isabel's, i just hope the rest of dublin appreciate what you are trying to achieve, definitely a niche audience i'd imagine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WonkaBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    31
    6
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Isabels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Was staying in Dublin with a group of 17 friends and went to Isabels for breakfast - absolutely fantastic food and they did an amazing job even though our numbers took them by surprise. Went back both days of our trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve_r_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Visited Isabels recently for lunch, very enjoyable experience. Myself and my husband both had the fish and chips and have to say we both really enjoyed the dish. Served on a board, which I personally dislike, but the triple cooked chips were lovely. We ordered a bottle of Red Fin which was fabulous. We were in Dublin for the weekend and ate here on arrival Friday afternoon. What a great start to the week end. Staff were great, and we will definitely be back to try the dinner menu. Really recommend this restaurant, overall appearance is that of a wine cellar and is very charming and cosy....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked this place after seeing it on Masterchef. Got a booking for 6 people (one vegetarian and one with a shellfish allergy). Reception was excellent, ambience lovely. Staff were excellent. Wine was amazing.
Food was really good. Given that we went here with high expectations after the Masterchef programme it really did wow!
Only food complaint was the desert. Two of us had the pistachio cake/pudding. Maybe it wasn't to our taste but didn't like it.
Overall I'd highly recommend this place and would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaleoFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Now this is how it should be done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was here in January, took some guests for dinner. Location, setting and atmosphere wonderful. Food is sensational, in particular the Scallops and Celeriac Remoulade clean, zingy, fresh flavors perfect together. The Slow-cooked pork shoulder, beautifully tender and just right for the cold weather. Yum. Staff have that magical quality of standing back when not needed, but the ability to anticipate needs and act before you realise you need them. This is a priceless quality in Dublin. They were very charming as was our evening. Keep it up Isabels!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trident1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabel's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing