We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Isabel's - CLOSED

Isabel's
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Utilizing the very best of seasonal and foraged local produce, we aim to provide a unique dining experience in Dublin. Our extensive selection of wines from around the world caters for every budget.
Dublin,
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Passed by this place tonight and decided to call in on spec to have dinner. What a good decision.

The food is amazing. Really nice early bird menu which is great value. My partner had the fish and chips while I had the duck - best confit of duck I've had in a long time. The peach dessert was a great end to a lovely meal. The atmosphere leads to a lovely relaxing evening and the service was wonderful. Many thanks to Ian who is anxious to ensure that his customers have a good time. And he knows his wine...as evidenced by very nice wine list

Will definitely be back :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boris243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    31
    6
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Cool decor, delicious food, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a romantic early-bird dinner in Isabel's recently and we thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband had the slow cooked lamb shoulder with gnocchi, and I had the crispy cherry duck with artichoke. The food was delicious, absolutely spot-on. We were both really pleased with the decor. The walls were covered from floor to ceiling with wine bottles set apart at clever intervals. It looked really cool. I was delighted to find a good choice of open wines - you didn't have to order a bottle to get a really good wine. All said, it was a lovely meal with a reasonable bill at the end of it. Great location too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NinaBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Charming find in a cosy basement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

A wonderful, imaginative menu, an exciting wine list, and a cosy, intimate ambiance; Isabel's is the kind of place you go to share secrets, start love affairs and celebrate special occasions. The staff are knowledgeable and welcoming, and the food is first rate. We've been a number of times and find it hard to fault.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
“Very enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Lovely food, fantastic wine and a very relaxing atmosphere, would really recommend.In a great location , central for transport and in a lovely part of Dublin.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gayann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Wine delicious Food and great ambievence.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our first emperience in Isabel's was for Lunch.this was in the Spring when the restaurant was only opened a few months. We were very much taken with the whole ambievence. and bowled over by the surperb wine and delicious and different food. We thought it cannot get much better than this.

Much to our delight on our return, this time for dinner it was even better. The evening menu even
more exciting. We started with a lovely fresh light prosecco, and having already had the meat and cheese platter at lunch, went this time for the ox tail gnocchi.beautiful intense flavour. Main course was the pork belly what a joy. beautifully cooked and presented, The lamb was melt in
mount tender with a light jus dark delicious. A shared desert of sinful chocolate was to die
for.

The wines, a full fruity Rioja. recommended by Ian and our own choice of the restaurants namesake a white Isabel's were excellent and complimented the food beautifully.

Dining at Isabel;s is an experience and indeed a treat we have been back several times for Lunch and for Dinner with family.

. Ian and staff most welcoming. Definitively top of our list for special dining out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabel's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing