We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bear

Bear
Ranked #750 of 2,547 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Www.twitter.com/beardublin
Dublin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

It pains me to say but don't bother. I wanted this so badly to be good, but it wasn't. The steak was tough and not cooked the way I asked. The chips were nice, the beer was not.

Also the Million Dollar Fries are OK at best. Stick to the chips.

€96 for what we were served was a bit much to be honest as all we had were 3 beers, 3 cheap, cheap, cheap steaks and chips.

Their plum sauce is pretty tasty though.

Don't think I'd go back unless someone else was paying.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BBDubIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    137
    80
    60
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Meat lovers eat here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I ate here and loved it. I had the lamb steak which was devine. Not a Hugh menu and it's all meat and salad. Different concept and unusual drinks but definitely worth a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aishling G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent team serving imaginative food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have been here a few times this year for weekend lunches; the decor is decent, the staff so unpretentious it is refreshing, food excellent from a decent choice of menu. The lemonade is exceptional both in terms of quality and quantity. The steak we had was excellent and amazing value for money. Will certainly make multiple visits again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaddingtonBear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food was great. The service was friendly, we sat outside while we waited on a table (they don't take reservations). We weren't waiting long. My one negative comment was that the wine by the glass was a very, very small measure

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradybunch24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Definitely not a "typical" restaurant, but excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

North Americans looking for a "regular restaurant" (like my mom) will have a hard time wrapping their head around the menu, but the food was great. The restaurant might be a bit outside the comfort zone of some, but it was a very interesting dining experience. My only complaint was that they didn't have a wider selection of beer on tap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing