We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #60 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant break”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Belvedere Hotel and found it a very pleasant experience. The staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly. It is clean and warm. On our first night there was a persistent noise somewhere but after that all was fine. The rooms are well appointed. They are adequately spacious with adjoining bathroom. The heating, which is important at this time of the year is very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Sean

Thanks for writing another review. I am delighted to see that we are maintaining our standards.

regards

Cathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    583
    248
    71
    47
See reviews for
239
513
64
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
donegal
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel alone recently while attending a course in Dublin. I found it great value for money and in a great location to get my buses. I love the facility where they look after luggage after you check out so you dont have to drag it with you. My room was was beautiful and modern. it was important to me to have wi fi in the bedroom. i had a meal in the restaurant alone and the bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful as indeed were all the staff. I have stayed here in the past and have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Susan

Thank you for taking the time to write you review. I am delighted to see reviews from regular guests. I look forward to your return.

Regards

Cathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

was visiting dublin as grandchild was in childrens university hospital and hospital arranged b and b in a guest house round corner called clifeden guest house.although furnished adequately i wouldnt recommend it at all.it cost 60 euros per night.in morning i found belvedere and was grateful i did.clean,very friendly staff,especially the little irish girl on reception (didnt get her name,but she was always asking about our grandchild.she knows who she is and surely employee of the month material,if not the year ),in the right place for hospital and close to city centre,it is a jewel in dublin,s crown.cant recommend it highly enough.all staff very chatty etc and nothing was too much for them.cleaner even refused a tip.

Room Tip: it costs about 80 euros per night for b and b but they give a reduction if your at hospital about 60...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Bahnjoe

Thank you very much for your lovely review and thank you for your kind words about our staff. I hope your grandchild is feeling better and I look forward to welcoming you back in better circumstances.

Regards
Cathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We, as a couple booked a room in this hotel for 2 nights. Came there around 11pm, checked-in, around 1am we went to bed, but we never had a chance to sleep, because of the noise in this hotel. Imagine that someone put working motorcycle in your bed, the noise was the same loud, because of the malfunction of the Hotel heating system. The night front office manager gave us another room, just 2 doors next from our 1st room, where obviously the noise was the same!!! It was Tuesday and the hotel was absolutely empty! We were just the one couple on the 2nd floor, and the manager could easily gave us room on the another floor, but he never did it, because he simply didn't care. Because of such a "warm" hospitality in this hotel, we moved away at 3.30 MORNING!!!!! Front office manager didnt do anything to keep us to stay there. He charged us for 2 nights, that was the first what he did.
If you, dear guests want to have the worst hotel expierence ever go to this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank million2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Million2009

I am very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience at the Belvedere hotel. Just a couple of points I would like to clear up. The noise problems were caused by water restrictions place by the council on the whole city of Dublin for a week causing air in our heating systems. Far from being empty, the hotel was nearly full that evening and the only rooms available to move you to were on that floor. A full refund was issued to you on the morning that you left.

Once again apologies for the issue you experienced.

Regards
Cathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was clean, nice, what was expected really. It's a little off the centre, away from confusion, but close enough if you want to walk 15 minutes to the Temple Bar area. We got a nice price for it, compared to other offers, but it wasn't a memorable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portuguesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO-MADRID-LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I was at his hotel for 5 days and 4 nights and I'll start with the best:

It's not a prime and excellent location, but it's Dublin. It's pretty walkable and just a few blocks away from the buses that drop you at the main avenue after arriving at the airport and 2 blocks away from city centre.

The staff is incredibly nice.

Their English breakfast might be one of the best ones I've had (which is a buffet)

The little things that bothered me - not that much:

After 10:30-11:00 PM staff closes the front door and you must ask for somebody to open, as if you were at a house and not a usual hotel. I must say this is a feature I've found at many reformed buildings into hotels all over Britain and Ireland.

The carpet on the way to your room is not the cleanest, but hey! No hotel is perfect.


I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and hope to stay on my next visit to Dublin!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank erickdbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSWICH
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights during the weekend of the Dublin Marathon.

It is situated in the heart of Dublin in a fantastic location.

We received a very friendly welcome when arriving at the hotel and the service throughout our stay was first class. The rooms are spacious, a little dated in places, but kept clean to a high standard.

Breakfast was an optional extra, we tried it once and it is decent value for money (although there is a cafe on the corner which is a little cheaper)and the bar serves delicious food and a good pint of Guiness!!

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel as good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal O, General Manager at The Belvedere Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Neil and Hayley

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Being an older property there are areas that are dated, but we are in the middle of a complete renovation of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Cathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Castle Hotel
#59 of 151 in Dublin
1,933 reviews
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. George
#84 of 151 in Dublin
669 reviews
Cassidys Hotel
#48 of 151 in Dublin
2,547 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere Hotel

Property: The Belvedere Hotel
Address: The Belvedere Hotel Denmark Street Great | Off Parnell Square, Dublin D01W1C0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin
#65 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belvedere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing