We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just what was needed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #62 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just what was needed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Was a lovely hotel which catered for our family of six! Rooms were spacious and very clean, staff was ver helpful and friendly. We had dinner in the bar and could not fault it. I intend to stay again in aug!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariamc337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    554
    239
    66
    45
See reviews for
227
487
62
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

me and my partner were looking to go away for a couple of days and came across the belvedere and were immediately impressed! the location was perfect and only a short walk to the bustling O'Connell street!
the staff were ever so friendly and would go out of their way to help you!
the room itself was perfect! very spacious and well looked after! the bathroom especially was very modern and up to date! however the refilling of toilet paper was a little sparse!
overall we were both really impressed and have already recommended it to family and friends!
we would happily stay again! x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morell, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Customer service was grand and were ready to help at any time. Would recommend this hotel. Breakfast was delicious! They gave us a great discount on overnight parking, which was close by. The hotel was easy to find and just as easy to depart from in the morning as we started our week long tour of Ireland.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CoCo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I found this hotel is a gem in the heart of Dublin , ideal for city centre, also around the block from Temple st children's hospital ( i would recommend if you have family staying in temple st hospital ) This hotel is great value , friendly staff & fantastic food for adults & children ..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bk292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ireland has been going through a heat wave, so this is an exceptional situation.

Room 209 has a window that faces the afternoon/evening sun and has no air conditioning. The reception area felt cooler, so maybe there is A/C in some parts of the hotel. Anyway ... back to the room: I propped the window open with a phone book (they're good for something!). But since there was zero venting and nowhere for the air to go, I also had to prop the door to the hallway with another book. That helped, but only a little bit. I slept on top of the covers, and sweated through the night.

Good:
- very large, very clean bathroom
- free internet is reasonably reliable
- staff was reasonably friendly
- bed was clean (before me), although the carpet was questionable

Bad:
- Hot and poorly ventilated (see above)
- Cheaper than some properties on Expedia, but not really worth the 129 euro I paid, in my opinion.
- Not a great area. Away from the nicer parts of town. There is a place called "Barry" or "Barrys" across the street that displayed a sign showing "45 euro" for a room.
- Weak breakfast. Watery OJ, fruit, and coffee. Coffee was undrinkable -- I think that there might have been a problem with the machine. Eggs, bacon, and potatoes were ok. People were picking through the plates to find the clean ones.
- The room was small -- so the bed took up most of it. The only 'desk' was just large enough to hold my laptop and my mouse, and it was difficult to fit the chair in front of it. It was strange to have such a small room with such a large bathroom. It's an old building, and the rooms might not be uniform in size.

Room Tip: Avoid 209 in warm or hot weather. I suspect that any others with exposed, west-facing windows will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spend two nights in this hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. Very central to City Centre. I found a camera in one of the drawers in the room I was staying in. I handed it in to reception. Hope it has reached it rightful owner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was all we needed for a weekend in Dublin. It was a bit of a walk away from the central hussle and bussle of Dublin south of the river, but we soon discovered the Dublin bikes to rent around the corner.

The rooms were quite big, breakfast has a good variety and the staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially when we had to get a last minute taxi to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back or side of the hotel. There is a bar close by which can probably get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizJou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#81 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#60 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere Hotel

Property: The Belvedere Hotel
Address: The Belvedere Hotel Denmark Street Great | Off Parnell Square, Dublin D01W1C0, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin
#65 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belvedere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing