We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and neglected and avoid breakfast”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for one night and the price was reasonable. However the poor experience started at check in. Only one person on and they were juggling check in and operating the phone. They were pleasant but clearly overworked. The room was the next disappointment. Great size and comfortable bed but the small things are neglected. The handle was off the bathroom door. The flush in the bathroom was slow and the handle too was about to fall off. The shower. Mechanism also felt as if it would come out of place. There were other small things Small maintainable issues gave a neglected feel but it was the cooked breakfast that let it all down. Cold and tasteless and €12 per head not worth it (though the non cooked items were fine) I returned my cooked breakfast and was given a heated up effort that tasted worse. Though the feedback was accepted it felt it was not taken seriously. Though they did admit there was a temperature issue they said everyone says the breakfast is good. Well it was not today. ! Please at least pretend you care

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Cold shower, no shampoo, and a horrific breakfast. To cap it off when I asked the very disinterested waitress for poached eggs she replied "we didn't get a delivery of poached eggs this morning, we only got scrambled and fried ones". I never realised the eggs got delivered in different ways. Highly reassuring that it's fresh.

The worst part is that it was full of very nice American tourists and i am embarrassed by the "Irish hospitality" being afforded these much needed tourists.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Ferker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Good hotel. Very helpful personal. Also good breakfast. Moreover, they try to vary the meals from day to day. Well, to a certain extent, of course. But as regards the bathroom... Well, 20 years ago it should have been marvelous. But 20 years ago, for sure. If you don't care much - than this hotel is what you can take. And the price is acceptable.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
3  Thank Boris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

its a good hotel, the location is not as centered as I was hoping but Dublin is not that big after all. they have a very good restaurant/bar downstairs, with nice selection of beer and salads.
I stayed in the 8th fl. was quite and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abdallaahmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel was a bit outdated , badly needs refurbed but the food was real nice and the staff where friendly an as this was a business trip i didnt have much say in the location although it was near to all the touristy things to top it all off my colleague got stuck in the bog an couldnt get out ...... although pretty funny at the time i dont think this should be a requirement for a work trip :D

Room Tip: dont get jammed in the bathroom its no fun getting stuck in the middle of important business
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Really surprised at this hotel as the exterior of the building has definitely seen better days. That said, absolutely no complaints about the interior. Nice spacious room, good bar and breakfast area, very spacious lounge areas and good views from upper floors. The decor is a little dated in places but on the whole it's definitely a good place to stay for a night or two, and the price was very affordable.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank paul_mcnally_design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I came to the hotel for a college ball and could not have asked for a more enjoyable venue. The food was great, as well as the service and the staff were a delight to interact with. special thanks to Robert and Neil for their exceptionally generous hospitality throughout the evening. certainly very recommendable.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Eamonn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $93 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing