We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay,very friendly staff.”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #86 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for a quick business overnight trip.The staff checking in were lovely and friendly.Rooms were clean and quite.We ate in the bar and the food was lovely.Breakfast the next morning was too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nini b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear nini b,

Thank you for choosing The Ballsbridge Hotel and also for your very positive feedback and wonderful comments on your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing the best possible service to all our guests and I am delighted that you experienced that first hand during your stay. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Ballsbridge Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,527 - 1,533 of 2,431 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Extra changes for parking and internet are outrageous.
Breakfast was great except it started late @8.
The food is not great in the bar..The room is generally fine except there was no shower head with the shower.Staff are excellent

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank RachDavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

An unfortunate experience. Was grateful for an early check-in after an overnight flight but front desk employee was abrupt and impatient with this polite but tired traveler. Was not grateful to be greeted by a tragically stained mattress that was not covered by linens other than a fitted sheet. The same front desk employee said there wasn't another room available and asked if they could just put more sheets on the bed. Insert review title here. They did move us to a different room after checking in several other guests while i waited. This room was fine but nothing special. I was also not happy with the location. It was too far away from the more popular tourist attractions. We walked a considerable distance just to pick up a tour bus and relied on taxi's in the evenings. If you don't mind the extra expense then I guess the location shouldn't be a problem. This booking was done through AerLingus Vacations and they did respond favorably to my complaint conveyed through their satisfaction survey.

Room Tip: Don't look under the sheets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fadedbluejeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel close to the RDS is still stuck in the Boom year attitude where everything is charged on the "customer" card even before it is used! For a night at €79, €120 was pre-paid so internet, water, or anything i might need is covered. Cold room and past their prime bathroom without even a pen and paper to take down details over the phone. Staff with an aggressive attitude when one makes a remark that €7.50 for internet is more than my phone company would charge me for 24hours so what is the point?...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear PFJP,

On behalf of The Ballsbridge Hotel thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad to see your time with us was in the most part positive.
We strive to ensure our guests fully enjoy their stay with us no matter how long or short their stay.
We hope to welcome you back to The Ballsbridge Hotel again when in Dublin.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights it was a very pleasant stay.
We were going to meet up with relatives in the city centre which was not to far at all.
The only problem was the doors were a nuisance and had to be fixed.
However our stay was a great and we enjoyed it very much the young receptionist who was only in training I think her name was Jenna or Gemma was very warm and helpful I do wish her the best of luck working in such a lovely hotel.
I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 68ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear 69ker,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Jemma.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here our last night as part of a Groupon Ireland purchase. It was the only hotel on the trip that charged an internet fee and parking fee but not unexpected. Hotel is a little tired but service was great especially Laura at the front desk she was very helpful. Had a decent lunch in the Pub of a Seafood Board Appetizer and of course another pint of Guinness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jjbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Jjbenny,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Ballsbridge Hotel. It is encouraging to see positive comments about our hotel as we try to welcome all our guests with a warm welcome and ensure your stay is as relaxing as possible.
We look forward to seeing you at The Ballsbridge Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

On the face of it, the Ballsbridge Hotel represented everything I was looking for as a Monday - Friday option. The reality did not live up to the expectation.

Despite repeated discussions over price, invariably there was a better deal to be found online - to stay in the same room.

The re-furbished rooms were of an acceptable standard, and the location of the hotel was good. Reception staff friendly and attentive.

Staff in the Bar were the opposite. No local Irish staff, no chat - very impersonal. The food likewise - over priced and of poor quality and preparation. When staying away on business I look forward to some chat in the bar and good value, hearty local produce. The closest I got here was a burger made with Irish beef for €18 ! No Beef and Guinness pie, Irish stew, Corned beef etc...and the restaurant menu was no better and of worse value for what was being offered.

This hotel has the potential to be an ideal choice, but unfortunately, it just doesn't measure up on any front.

Cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the re-furbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HITS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BallsbridgeGRM, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear HITS_13,

Thank you for providing your feedback. I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered while staying with us recently.
At The Ballsbridge Hotel we take pride in delivering a high quality product and I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Let me assure you your comments are noted and will be used to improve on the areas you have mentioned. I hope you would consider returning to us sometime in the future so we can provide you with the true quality service we strive to achieve daily.

Kind regards,
Conor O Sullivan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 152 in Dublin
2,659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 152 in Dublin
1,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#12 of 152 in Dublin
2,529 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#36 of 152 in Dublin
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $98 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing