We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They must walk very quickly in Dublin...”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #86 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As noted by other reviewers, the website-advertised "15 minute walk" to the city centre is barely credible.We are fit, healthy, regular walkers and runners - we couldn't do it in twice that time.
We were there from 12 - 15 July, when the city and the hotel were very hot and airless. The hotel cannot control the temperature - but the inability to open room windows more than an inch seemed unreasonable.We booked through a Dublin-based agent, which meant that we were treated, effectively, as package visitors. This meant, variously, a limited menu choice (mushroom risotto was the only veggie option on two of the three nights) and morning tea from a (glorified) urn.The cost of drinks in the hotel was,I felt, extortionate - 5 Euros 20 for two 33 cl bottles of soda water, for example. And while I know you can soon get too much in the way of local touristy culture - the incessant drums'n'bass soundtrack in the dining room and adjoining "Dubliner" pub was grating.
Breakfasts were good, and most of the employees were helpful and friendly - with the exception of the Irish waitress ( unusual amongst the majority non-Irish waiting team) who seemed to take it as a personal affront if any guests came into breakfast towards the end of the advertised meal time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLonePoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. I will review your comments with our head chef immediately regarding vegetarian options. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Regarding the time it takes to walk to the city centre, it is 15-20 minutes to Stephen's Green from the hotel which is considered city centre.

Kind regards
Donal Meehan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,702 - 1,708 of 2,436 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here back in June for 6 nights. The rooms were basic but clean. It's a 10 minute walk to the city centre but the walk through Baggot street is pleasant. There is a beauticians in the ground floor if you fancy a quick manicure or pedicure. Good value for money too.

The staff were friendly and efficient. Check in was quick. The breakfast was standard hotel breakfast. Nothing fancy but for the price we weren't expecting anything special.

There was a 10 euro charge per day for parking but because we were staying for 6 nights they gave us a 25% discount.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinoLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were a group of four and had booked the hotel for a great price last year as we knew we were going to a concert .reception staff where not the usual smiling helpful faces you would expect ...floor staff in the bar was ...brutal ...and no excuses as the bar was practically empty !!! Food was nice when we did get it .We had a refurbished room thankfully and in fairness to the cleaning staff it was kept clean .we got what we paid for but I feel bad for anyone who paid big money for their stay :( .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marylizt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear you found our bar staff inefficient. We have arranged for further training to prevent this going forward.

Kind regards
Donal Meehan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The website stated that it was only 15 mins walk going to the city centre if you are in a marathon. We had to get a taxi which took nearly 20-25 mins.

Each room in the hotel does not have an electric fan. It is too warm and the windows wont open widely to get the air in. We had to ask for a electric fan but the staff on the front said it was not available. The customer service was poor especially the one on the pub. The man i was talking was disrespectful.

We stayed for two nights so we had to ask for room service after the first night. The beddings were changed and toilet was cleaned but unfortunately the table in the room was still the same whenever we left. The cups were not cleaned and the tea and coffee was not changed. The table was still messy.

Over all, I would not recommend this hotel especially if you are with your family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhensen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. I'm very disappointed to read about your experience and please accept my apologies. All issues raised will be investigated with the department managers immediately.

Kind regards
Donal Meehan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My daughter and I had breakfast here on Thursday. We had two continental breakfasts which cost €20.00 I thought this was very expensive for what we had.I don't think I will be returning here again. The staff were friendly .The restaurant was a bit outdated and could do with a make over.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank magicm144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

no air conditioning. staff at the desk speak very fast; my English is quite good, but I was not familiar with Irish accent, and this was a proble. Telephone in room didn't work for 48 hours,
I had to go to the hall to tell them, and they were reluctant to believe it (apparently it did give the right sign when called at), and took 2 days to fix it. breakfast is very good, fresh fruit and reasonable cereal and muesli, besides full irish breakfast. light in the room is poor. quite noisy not for the traffic, but from people (staff, at times) talking loud in the parking lot at night or early in the morning. I closed the window, but it is not much insulation. no direct bus to UCD, only one bus from city centre, and not walking distance to it. cleanliness: they make up your bed, and you will find everything exactly the way you left it, including pajamas tossed on the blanket: ?? the feeling is they do not clean, which for a 5 day stay is not pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. Please accept my apologies if you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in our bedrooms however fans are available for guests at the front desk. Also I'm sorry to hear that your bedroom wasn't cleaned to your satisfaction and be assured I will raise this with our accommodation manager immediately.

Kind regards
Donal Meehan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Room was expensive and exhausted. Very hot and couldn't regulate heat or open window wide enough. Bar very pricey. Food very ordinary. Location for the Avia great. Guess that's what you pay for though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayoMatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location. Yes unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in our bedrooms however fans are available at the front desk. I hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards
Donal Meehan
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 152 in Dublin
2,665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#12 of 152 in Dublin
2,538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#8 of 152 in Dublin
1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $98 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing