We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here night of irish match v faroe islands... got a really good price with their summer special....asked for refurbished room which was basically the old rooms that got painted up... shower was poor and no air conditioning we were facing south so room was boiling at sunrise... tried opening window but screw install to prevent you opening the window more than an inch or two... safety measure with 100euro fine if tampered with.... on the positive side staff were very nice... breakfast was excellent and the free parking was a bonus..

Room Tip: would need to have refurbished room as minimum and book a fan in good weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgattridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    753
    520
    243
    199
See reviews for
343
697
101
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were on a Brendan Vacation Tour and we stayed in your lovely hotel 2 times. My husband and I were extremely pleased with the courtesies extended to us by all the staff we encountered.
Everyone in the group felt equally happy with the accommodations. By the way, we are not
handicapped and did not need special care. Our bed was so comfortable we hated to leave.
Thank You for your fine hospitality. Hope to return to your beautiful and convenient hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful. It was great that the rooms were ready at 12 noon. I called and took a chance and they were, great!

The rooms have been renovated, a good size for city hotel, toiletries and hair dryer. I like that the hotel is non smoking have to smoke outside, wonderful. You may to air out your room a bit since Ireland is a country that is damp with all the rain. After an hour the room is fine. There is a pub and restaurant to get a bite to eat but there are other places to eat all around the hotel. This hotel is near the embassies and about 20 minute walk from the temple bar area.

You will have to pay for the Internet but that is the norm in Europe.

The breakfast buffet had a good variety and staff was quick to clear tables. So no waiting.

I would return to this hotel again.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luciab23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Currently writing this in the hotel bar with a glass of wine to get over my disappointment....
Checked in for four nights in a deluxe room, only to get to my room and find it a standard room that is dark, musty and run down.
Returned to reception only to be told that unless I could give them my booking number they couldn't even check if I was telling them the truth. Luckily I had my work laptop and could return to my room sign in and pay for the WiFi to forward their confirmation email back to them.
Upon returning to reception they apologised but because they were fully booked they could do nothing!
They have promised to change my room tomorrow and make the WiFi free but it is simply just not good enough.
Am only using this hotel to attend a conference here... Next time I will stick to the much nicer and cheaper ones my work normally uses.....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KieranJWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Don't know about other rooms but we stayed in the Towers the beginning of June, 2013 and had a exceptionally nice room in every regard. Beautiful hotel and good food in the dining room. Pleasant staff. Plenty of amenities. Did not patronize the bar/lounge area but it was quite attractive. Dining room food was good.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room. Possibly in the Towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacksmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked a last minute weekend away with a friend, and chose this hotel primarily because it was cheaper. Used the transfer bus to get from the airport to the city centre. City centre was a good 20mins work from the hotel but it was i midday so we didn't mind! At night we did get a taxi as didn't want to walk which ranged from th €7 - €10. There are lots of taxis around Dublin so that's not a problem. Staff very friendly no issues checking in. Room was nice, nothing overly modern but was a nice well kept clean room which is all you need for a weekend away. Bath and shower, both clean and tidy!breakfast wasn't included in our package but that was €12.95 we didn't have this we eat elsewhere. On the first night we went to the bar attached to the hotel which was nice as they had a live band but drinks were expensive, €13 for a double vodka lemon and lime. Then again food and drink wasn't cheap in Dublin anyway! Flew back at 6 in the morning on the way home, reception helpful and called us a taxi to the airport transfer drop off. Would defo stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey1990_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on Saturday night (1/6/13). I booked a double room. The room was very dated, old fashioned and in need of major improvement. The shower was worthless, no power at all. If one was to chose a bath instead, it was another disaster as it took quite some time for it to fill. The shower gel dispenser was hanging off its mount. There was a big crack and chip on the mirror, repaired with putty. The nets on the windows are rather 1980's. The window was bruised with drill holes from previous points where the safety chained had been attached. You would get more air on the moon than through the horrid tilted window. Resident bar seems to be a 'pick and choose' policy amongst guests, There were three hotel guests drinking freshly poured alcoholic drinks in the lobby at 2.20am I made a enquiry about obtaining a drink in the residents bar, I was informed the bar was closed in a rather impolite manner without an explanation by the staff member. The staff member didn't even stop and speak with me when I made this enquiry, no courtesy was shown to their guest in my opinion. Either the hotel has a residents bar or it doesn't. I would assume no if people may decide to book. However, I stayed in this hotel in February 2013 and the residents bar was open.?!. Parking is €10.50 overnight. I wouldn't think it's the most secure car park in modern times. I would feel more comfortable paying that fee if I knew the car park was fully secured not just by a plastic barrier. €5 would suffice if at all a fee.. Reminds me of a "Ryanair" Hotel, pay for everything which should be complimentary. I won't be staying here again and I'll take my custom elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fingaldub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you may have seen from our ground floor area we are currently undergoing a full refurbishment of the hotel. The ground floor is almost complete and we have also completed 122 of our bedrooms. We are commencing phase 2 of our refurbishment on the 1st July where we will complete a further 120 bedrooms.

Our car parking is very secure as we have staff on 24 hours a day which patrol this area. To date we have have never had any incident in our car park.

Regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing