We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms a little dated but a well managed hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Tyrone
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Rooms a little dated but a well managed hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a school group staying here for a concert in the National concert hall. The booking process was very straightforward and cheap for Dublin. The hotel is close to many of the concert halls and the Aviva Stadium. The bus service into the centre is frequent, but just make sure you have the fare in coins as the bus driver does not accept notes or give change. There is a taxi rank beside the hotel which we made use of as well. The rooms were clean but a little outdated with old furniture and bulky televisions. The carpets were getting a little worn too. However, we are living through a recession and hotels are doing well to stay open so I'm not going to complain too much. Reception staff were pleasant and the breakfast good. All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s10cud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful. I'm also glad to inform you we've started a refurbishment plan on our guest rooms. I do hope you will consider us again.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    727
    495
    231
    192
See reviews for
327
672
100
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed here recently over Easter period. Hotel was very central and reception staff very helpful with directions etc. Room was very clean and quiet and bed comfortable. Handy tea/coffee making facility in the room is always a bonus. Dislike paying for WiFi. Food was great, breakfast in the morning was nice too. Good value for money. Manager Donal Meehan was a pleasure to meet Easter Sunday morning he has a great rapport with visitors and was more than helpful to me with a few queries I had, I would be more than happy to return again and I shall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks so much for your kind review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to Donal.

Warm wishes
Des McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the Ballsbridge Hotel in March of 2013 with a group of 8 people. The hotel staff are very nice and you can get an amazing Irish coffee in the bar!! The room that my husband and I stayed in was in a separate wing and it was extremely nice. My sister and her husband stayed in a different wing and there room was dated. I think that they must have remodeled half of the hotel and were not done yet. I even had a towel warmer in my room! This hotel was a good price and a fantastic location with clean rooms and good food. There were little pubs within walking distance and a bank on the corner to change our money over to euros. I would stay here again if I ever went back to Dublin.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the side of the hotel that has been remodeled. There was a huge difference in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skenneavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was booked in here by my company for a three night stay on business, whilst in Dublin last year Great reception and efficient staff. Very friendly and corteous. Looked the part. I did notice there are lots of internationals in the whole of Dublins service industry and this hotel was no exception. Sign of the times I guess, although I have to say this is not a negative observation.
The room was adequete and was pretty ordinary (I stay in a lot of these type of rooms on business) but functional and correct. No gripes. Always gets me why hotels charge extra for WiFi though but my company paid so cant complain. Shower was great for my needs and nice touches with decent towels, one of my gripes unfortunately. The bed was comfy and room set out decently.
They served us a great meal and afterwards in the bar, all was good.
If I had to stay here again , I would not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Close enough and far enough from the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluenose1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and I hope you will consider us on your next stay in Dublin.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for the Robbie Williams Concert in the O2 last September. The hotel could really do with a makeover. The carpet was badly stained in our bedroom, the shower rail was also all rusty. Although the food was lovely at breakfast time, car park was cheap enough. A bus stopped outside the hotel to take us to the O2 and back. The staff didn't seem to know very mush about this as everyone we asked gave us a different answer.

Room Tip: Basic but not cheap!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATRINA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and my apologies you found your room inadequate. I'm glad to inform you we are currently undergoing extensive bedroom refurbishment and I hope you will stay with us again.

Des McCann
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Pine, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is situated near many attractions in Dublin, and the staff were helpful in how to get to them, what to see, and any other amenities we needed. We stayed on the front and end of our trip to Ireland, and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet immensely, both as a first introduction to the famous specialties (fantastic cheeses, including chef-made Guinness cheddar), and as a final farewell.
The entire staff, with the exception of the understaffed evening restaurant, were very helpful. Of particular note was Donal Meehan, the senior manager. He was gracious, charming and made the stay an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: I would ask to not stay in The Towers (5th floor), as they were a bit musty. The showers were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks so much for your kind review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. Donal sends his regards!

Warm wishes
Des McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owego, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were booked into this hotel because of a package deal with Aer Lingus. We were booked there for the first night and the last night. We had two rooms, one for my husband and I and one for our kids. Neither room was comfortable. There was no free wi-fi. The hotel itself was very nice. It appeared that it was once an upscale hotel. However, the bedding was very cheap. The sheets were scratchy and the pillows were as flat as pancakes. We requested additional pillows. This process took 45 minutes and an actual trip to the lobby to check our where they were. Eventually, we got one pillow. The beds were very uncomfortable, springs poking in your back. There were broken things, like trashcan lids and very sloppily repaired grout and caulking in the shower. The soap that was provided was in a dispenser and seemed to be based on lye, with a smell that was intolerable. We paid for our own rooms for our last night's stay just so we did not have to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest

My sincere apologies that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. I'm disappointed to hear about your room however I'm also glad to inform you we are currently midway through an extensive bedroom refurbishment. I hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards
Des McCann
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#77 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing