We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballsbridge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$512
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$208
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,522)
Filter reviews
2,522 results
Traveler rating
596
844
584
278
220
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
596
844
584
278
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdubliner baraviva stadiumcity centrebit datedlovely hoteltrinity collegetemple barballsbridgeembassyrdsrugbytaxispubdart
Filter
Updating list...
1,894 - 1,899 of 2,522 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

OK, this hotel is fine...not great at all..but fine...rooms seemed clean...the tower rooms seem much nicer but our room still had stains on the carpet.

There is also no wifi...they say it is available but then they charge you for it....if you need it plenty of places comp it. My vote is to stay at one that does.

This hotel is relatively close to Centre City....and the airport bus is right out front..those are good things...

Room Tip: Stay in the tower
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionsandlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I am just back from a weekend at this hotel. Two rooms were booked for the first night. One was a disability room as my elderly mother was with us. The toilet had been blocked by a sanitary towel. There was no seat in the disability room. There was some litter in it. The lights didn't work. In the other room the shower pressure was totally inadequate and the toilet flush too slow. The valance on the double bed was not put on correctly. The lampshades were cooked. The upholstery on one of the chairs was badly torn. There was no shampoo and no facility to buy any. I needed a needle and thread, and this could not be made available. There was a broken hairdryer in the bathroom. On the whole, it was very grubby. At breakfast, no sausage or eggs were available. There was a fine platter of cheese available at one point but when we went to avail of it it had been removed. I asked for coffee and was served tea. Worst of all, there was a lot of noise on the corridor during the night and we were unable to sleep. On the positive Sid, the staff were very peasant, the bar was good and the location was excellent. We were given free parking when we reported the problems.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the ground floor..not good and noisy
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lottie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was ok for the price we paid but its not excellent ,not even close of that. In the recepcion we were only well received for an kindly recepcionist that was young in the hotel but was the only that received us well.And the recepcionist was Spanish not Irish.The rest of the staff didnt have the simpaty that the irish people use to have, Maybe because the hotel its big and not so causy .The room was ok but the furniture is old and we stayed in a room and heard a lot of noise in the street at night.Nest time we went to dublin this hotel will not be the first choise. Nevertheless the hotel offers a good Breakfast and has a good restaurant and its well located at dublin 4 at a nice neighborhood and its near from the city center just a 15 minutes walking
We only recommend this hotel because of the localization.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LitleBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Having stayed the previous week in a smaller hotel close by, this one on paper seemed to offer a good deal but I was a bit let down unfortunately.

Reasonable standard of room but on the downside:

a) It was the hardest mattress I've ever slept on. Ever!
b) Unusual and expensive charging system for internet access.
c) No radio stations on the TV nor was there a radio to borrow
d) I reported that someone had been smoking on the 4th floor (not in my room thankfully), but reception did not feel it necessary send someone up to check it out, despite it being a no-smoking hotel with non-smoking rooms! Their response was 'Many guests ignore the signs!!!' They did offer me another room, but the point was that smoking in the hotel was being tolerated.
e) A deep, booming sound reverberated through the corridor when the lift doors opened and closed.

On top of that I had to ask for tea on two occassions as the bedroom staff failed to replenish the courtesy tray with tea bags even though it must have been obvious that I did not touch the coffee so I must have been using the tea.

Room Tip: Check that the room has not been smoked in before you accept the key.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear ILP-JP

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - your comments have been noted. We do take smoking in our hotel very seriously and there is a fine in place for anyone caught doing so. If this was not conveyed to you then I must apologise. I will discuss with our reception team immediately.

Kind regards
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed for two nights in the Towers part of the hotel. The rooms were large and well equipped but the decor was a bit tired. The room was perfectly clean but the paintwork needed freshening up. All of the staff I met were very courteous and helpful, in fact the staff were about the best I've met in Ireland. Breakfast was very poor. The sausages were deep fried and contained what looked like a 'white paste' instead of meat and the bacon was 50% fat. Very poor ingredients. Fruit salad was very basic. Breakfast service was fast and efficient though.

The hotel was acceptable but I would look for somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the Towers, they have air conditioning (if that's important to you).
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cligereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear cligereen

Thanks for your review. You'll be happy to know we are refurbishing our bedrooms this year. We're delighted you found are staff to be so friendly and helpful - we do take pride in our hospitality. I have noted your comments on breakfast and will speak to our Head Chef.

Kind regards
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews