We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballsbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ariel House(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dylan Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,498)
Filter reviews
2,499 results
Traveler rating
588
839
579
275
218
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
839
579
275
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdubliner baraviva stadiumcity centrebit datedlovely hoteltrinity collegetemple barballsbridgeembassyrdsrugbytaxispubdart
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,984 - 1,989 of 2,499 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was my first ever visit not only to Dublin but to Ireland.Although went on business with a colleague for the 'Taste of Britain' event put on by the hardworking UKTI staff at the British Embassy. We were booked in to the Ballsbridge Hotel and have to say it was a pleasant stay. I personally found the hotel rooms and reception areas well decored and the staff helpful and pleasant. The hotel room was very comfortable and had everything from a kettle, hairdryer, flat screen tv [it was nice to see Setanta Sports once more], everything you expect of an hotel for a comfortable stay.The bathroom again was clean well tiled and had a deep bath for long soaks in and a nice shower. My one disappointment is to say you do not go to this hotel for the views, I was looking out on a mish mass of refrigeration units and ducting, but there the comfort of the room made up for the poor view. The hotel has a barbers shop [Gerry's] and the Dubliner pub inside where most were drinking their favourite back and white tipple namely Guinness. The breakfast was more than acceptable with a fine choice [cannot comment on lunch or dinner as we ate out]. If you did not want eat in the hotel the Dubliner pub offered a range of fine food.The hotel is based in quite an affluent area and we felt safe at all times additionally it is very suitable for a visit to the Aviva stadium,o2 arena especially when the mighty Wales rugby play play there. Also in the area are the British and American Embassies. There are plenty of bars, pubs and Bistros' around the hotel area. All in all a comfortable hotel for my first Irish visit. Hope to see a lot more of Dublin and its hospitality on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear the views may not be so unsightly.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Paid wifi (~20 euro/5 days) and shabby, no minibar (what a downer!)... but great personnel, good value breakfast, walking distance to the center and the sea, nice area - plenty of bars and shops nearby but not too crowded.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

While the location near the stadium is optimal, the condition and price was dismal. This could be a good hotel if they refurbished the rooms. The bed was old and uncomfortable. The bathroom was worn with a cracked sink and missing shower curtain rings. The desk had stick-on bumpers on the surface left from who knows what. When we checked out the bill had prices in Euros and Dollars. I asked to be charged in Euros and was told the charge would be in Euros. They explained that Americans wanted to know what the equivalent dollar price would be, so that was why it was on the bill. Of course, when I checked the Visa charge later, the amount was $90 more than it should have been because they charged a ridiculous exchange rate. Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KE-Parent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear KE-Parent

Thanks for your feedback and my apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I will speak to the accommodation manager and the front desk manager about the issues raised here. Should you wish to talk to me directly my email address is jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manger
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the leonad cohen concert in september. The hotel is very nice rooms clean spacious they have a really nce bar friendly staff. The breakfast was good plenty of variety.i will stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIDGET186638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second time staying at this conveniently located hotel . Three years ago, it was in a shabby condition, but has since been renovated. It is located in a very upscale area of Dublin , approx 1 mile from the city center. It is close to the US Embassy, the Aviva stadium, the Royal Dublin Show grounds and within walking distance to shops,and restaurants. The staff are very helpful, The room was beautifully appointed and spotless. There is a restaurant, coffee shop and pub on site. We chose to eat a light evening meal in the pub as we found the lunches in Ireland to be the equivalent of a regular US dinner. Buses from Dublin city stop right outside the hotel and more importantly, the airbus which goes to Dublin Airport also makes a pick up and drop off there also. The only disadvantage during our stay was there was a group of 300 Italian high school kids staying and of course there was a longer wait for the elevators and the noise was increased. We stayed in the hotel on Sept 16, 17, and 18th. returning to the Us on the 19th. The cost for two adults was a total of $282.00 for the three nights....a real bargain.

Room Tip: Would definetly stay there again...convenient location, good value.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryd42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews