We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is in an okay location, but it's hard (and expensive) to get into the city centre where all the action is. Our room was 1980s and tired...skip this one. We didn't eat here so we can't comment on that - friendly guy on reception if I was to look for a strong point.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Stephen C

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and my apologies that you didn't enjoy your room. On our location - we are a15 minute walk into Dublin city centre and many of our customers find this a benefit as we're close enough to experience the liveliness of the city but secluded enough for some relaxation time as well.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 2,381 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We needed somewhere to stay for a night in Dublin before heading off to the North West, and this was perfectly fine.

Welcoming staff, a choice of places to eat, and a decent room. Not the most attractive of buildings, but that didn't matter.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_registrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Locals seemed to think this place was fancy because I got a lot of oooos in my taxi rides.
I chose this hotel for the price and the proximity of it to attractions.
We walked to the hop on bus for two days, took about 15 min. Lots of cute pubs around to grab a meal at.
Front desk was helpful, rooms were clean and the gardens were beautiful. The US embassy is nearby for American travelers and lots of old beautiful houses to walk by. Dublin is fantastic in general, but it's nice to save some coin while you're abroad while not sacrificing quality.
The only downside to this place is the restaurant. Prices are absurd, each individual meal was at least £22. There were enough other places to eat that we only went once to try it and I ordered the cake

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here on our first night on a six day Ireland vacation. The room was an average hotel room. It was clean and nice enough, but it needs updating. We ate at the Dubliner for lunch. The roast beef was good. We were walking distance to several pubs. We were able to check in and out quickly. I could hear noise from the hallway. We didn't have any problems, but if you are looking for a more upscale hotel, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank star_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we arrived at the hotel around 3pm and the young gentleman at the front desk apologized and told us "at the moment we don't have any rooms ready" after he made 2 phone calls Sergio told us the room will be ready in 10 min so we decide to wait he offers us coffee (best coffee we had in Dublin Thanks Alfredo) after long 10 min Sergio apologized again and give us our keys to our room, without any porter around Sergio offers to help us with our luggage, room was dated, smelly and wallpaper was partly hanging of the wall( no room service or free wi fi in 2012!) we had to call Sergio and he upgrade us for free to deluxe room, was much better, breakfast was ok Alfredo's coffee always good, bar service poor, lucky we found Sergio and Ester in the front desk both always very professional, polite,and funny they have demonstrated great knowledge about Dublin where to go and what to do even when you are 66 years old thanks to them we enjoyed our stay in Dublin and in the hotel

Room Tip: deluxe room for sure on the 5Th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schusser f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Schusser F

Thanks for taking the time to write this review and my apologies that you had to move bedroom. I'm glad you found Sergio and Esther so helpful though and indeed we get a lot of positive feedback about Alfredos skills as a barista so I will pass on the compliment. We hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for on the first night of our holiday travelling around Ireland and it was not an auspicious start.

Whilst the receptionist we dealt with on check in was very friendly and gave us the suite, the suite smelt mouldy and if it had not been dusted for some time. The television was left behind when Noah was going on his ark.

As we had not booked any restaurant, we decided to have dinner in the hotel; what a mistake. We were stuck in a corner in a cold room off the main dinning room, 2 of the party facing grey walls. When we asked twice to be moved into the dinning room, we were told that they were expecting a party of 20, who had still to materialise by the time we left a hour and a half later.

The food was truly dreadful. Bad quality beef, soggy mashed potatoes with lumps and chips that had not been cooked properly. The maitre D did ask was everthing ok and when I responded it was only alright, he thought that was ok. Also, when asked for mustard, I was given those awful sachets; 4 star hotels do not use sachets, like McDonalds, although I think McDonalds would have been no worse than what we were offered here.

When we came back to the hotel after a post dinner walk, we thought we might have a drink outside the hotel's Dubliner pub; think Weatherspoons. However the tables looked like they had not been cleared for ages and glasses were everywhere and ashtrays had not been emptied, so we passed on by.

Breakfast the next morning was no better. As we were being shown the restuarant annex again, I asked if we could be moved to the main body of the restaurnt. We were allowed, but the woman who allowed us to move was very rude/aggressive. The food was no better either - the bacon smelt steamed rather than fried/grilled, watery scrambled eggs. The nicest thing was the wheaten bread.

When I checked out, I was not asked the customery questions "How was your stay, etc". I would have let them know.

Luckily our stay was only for one night, as we moved into the Maldron the following night, where the manager was most helpful.

I suggest that the management spend more time/money in training their staff, find different food suppliers and get a new chef.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BBLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear BBLLondon

Thanks for your comments. My apologies that you found the food anything but fresh and delicious. We typically get great comments on our food so I'm surprised and disappointed with your experience.

I have discussed the issues raised with our food and beverage team. If you would like to contact me directly my email address is jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here three nights over August bank Holiday. Reception staff very helpfull. We had booked two rooms and asked they be near each other. On arrival we were told they were on different floors. Receptionist did what she could and got us two rooms on same floor one room apart. Then took time to explain local sites etc, with us. Room its self basic and Bathroom needs updating. Room service was not geat on our visit. Room not cleaned on one day and we were woken up the next morning as room service entered room early! This hotel is a bus / taxi ride away from the highlights of Dublin city which was a pity for us as we had expeced it to be within walking distance. It can be done at 45 mins.
Dublin its a great place and if we visit again we will use a differant hotel this choice based on location more than anything else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Shaw S

Thanks for your feedback and apologies you were unhappy with your room service. I will highlight this immediately to our accommodation manager.

Regarding our location, this is continually highlighted to us as one of our most attractive benefits. We're just a 15-20 minute walk to Grafton Street/Temple Bar and the same to the O2 Arena and Bord Gais Energy Theatre. We're also right beside Aviva Stadium and the Royal Dublin Society - 2 of Dublin's largest event and sports venues. We're in a safe affluent neighbourhood and yet we're close to the city centre - most of our customers really treasure this combination.

If you would like to talk to me personally don't hesitate to get in touch at jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com.


Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $93 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing