We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here three nights over August bank Holiday. Reception staff very helpfull. We had booked two rooms and asked they be near each other. On arrival we were told they were on different floors. Receptionist did what she could and got us two rooms on same floor one room apart. Then took time to explain local sites etc, with us. Room its self basic and Bathroom needs updating. Room service was not geat on our visit. Room not cleaned on one day and we were woken up the next morning as room service entered room early! This hotel is a bus / taxi ride away from the highlights of Dublin city which was a pity for us as we had expeced it to be within walking distance. It can be done at 45 mins.
Dublin its a great place and if we visit again we will use a differant hotel this choice based on location more than anything else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Shaw S

Thanks for your feedback and apologies you were unhappy with your room service. I will highlight this immediately to our accommodation manager.

Regarding our location, this is continually highlighted to us as one of our most attractive benefits. We're just a 15-20 minute walk to Grafton Street/Temple Bar and the same to the O2 Arena and Bord Gais Energy Theatre. We're also right beside Aviva Stadium and the Royal Dublin Society - 2 of Dublin's largest event and sports venues. We're in a safe affluent neighbourhood and yet we're close to the city centre - most of our customers really treasure this combination.

If you would like to talk to me personally don't hesitate to get in touch at jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com.


Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,911 - 1,917 of 2,379 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel really did not meet my expectations. I arrived at the hotel at 1.50pm, now i had two rooms booked so i was prepared that they might ot be ready and would have to wait but the gentleman on reception Sergio i believe was in no way polite or helpful, he basically told me my rooms weren't ready that check in time is 2.30pm and told me to come back in 30-40mins that was it. First off check-in time on my confirmation email says 2pm, he can't just make up times to suit himself, if he was in anyways polite about it i wouldnt have minded waiting at all.

I decided to wait it the bar and get something to eat, the food wasnt great but the young lady behind the carvery that served me was cheerfull and polite, maybe she should work front office! Also the older gentleman behind the bar was lovely and greeted everyone that came in the the bar with a smile. However the younger Indian lad that was working the till at the carvery could do with a few lessons in manners, when i got to the till he blunted stated €11.95, then it seemed the till wasnt working for him or something and he kept muttering and cursing under his breath and then practically threw my change at me without a word of an apology or a thank you, nothing!

In the mean time the rest of my group arrived so we said we'd go try check in again it was now 2.30pm, this time we were greeted by a young lady Amy i tink, she was much friendlier, now our rooms still werent ready but she was doing her best to find one for us, pity that the previous gentleman i had been talking with came over and started making fun of her for been slow etc, he was quiet rude and annoying and it was obvious he was annoying her but he kept at it, laughing away to himself. He really was so unprofessional.

When we finally got checked in the rooms were very nice, couldnt fault them, only thing was it was very warm during the night but that was nothing major! After being checked in we really enjoyed our stay, everything was great untill 11.55am the next morning, housekeeping came banging on our door asking were we checking out, now granted we were running a little behind but check out time is 12 so why come banging before 12. We then received a phonecall 10mins later from reception and we were asked would we be staying another night i said no we'll be down in 10mins and got a reply of "Good because we are fully booked tonight and need to clean that room straight away", why in gods name did you ask me do i want to stay another night if your fully booked and cleaning rooms straight away all of a sudden was a priority even though we had to wait untill almost 3oclock the day before for our room!!

All in all i don't think i would be in a hurry to go back to be honest. The hotel itself is perfect so maybe when the staff get a well overdue facelift i would return but untill then there are plently of other places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Nicki K

Thanks for your review - we appreciate the feedback. Of course I am very disappointed to hear about the service issues you raised as typically we get great feedback on our staff at Ballsbridge Hotel. Please contact me directly on jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com and we can discuss the situation further.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed at the Ballsbridge the first two nights of an 11 day tour of Ireland. We arrived from the U.S. at 11am and the staff was amazing. We were able to check in early(thank you so much) as we were exhausted from the flight. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Throughout our visit we had many questions and the staff always helped and was very nice. The hotel restaurant is just average and would not eat there again as every other restaurant we tried was much better. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank captron197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was 40 minutes from the airport! Hotel room was really dated! I found hair in the bathroom! Wallpaper was partly hanging of the wall! Water stains on the wall! The carpet was stained and ripped! Weird moldy smell in rooms and hallway!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin3425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Katrin3425

Thanks for your comments. We pride ourselves on cleanliness at Ballsbridge Hotel and so I'm surprised and disappointed by your feedback. Perhaps you could contact me on jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Having used the property and it's adjacent premises for 35 years, i have seen good times, great times. he place has lost all character as far as a corporate client is concerened. The staff try their best, sadly their best is not good enough.
The rooms are still the same and little can change if you are lucky enough nor to get the smallest room in the house. The serice in the Dubliner bar on Saturday 11th of August though the place was not busy. One could not be served ater await of 15 minutes we decided we were insulting our own intellegence so we went to the the Dragons Den at the Landsdowne hotel. It was much busier though we wre served by a most effecient bar tender within minutes with extremely good pints of Guinness that the Ballsbridge Hotel can not present too you.
The breakfast is very poor with everything pre cooked. That is deplorable for a four star property
Paying to park your car is wrong
The room rate is competitive
Then to be shown theTowers where I normally stayed in the good days. It made me cry. Why they had to take away the busts of the writers and artists hat gave the Towers such glamour is hard to believe?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Jospeh3355

Thanks for your feedback and apologies that you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us.

We do have plans for bedroom refurbishments in the near future you'll be happy to know. Regarding the service issue in the Dubliner Pub, this is most unusual and I have highlighted it to our bar manager. Apologies for that.

I hope your long history of staying at our hotel will not falter on this one experience. We would love to welcome you back again where I hope we can restore your faith in the character and quality of our hotel.

If you would like to talk to me personally don't hesitate to get in touch at jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com.


Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed during the Dublin Horsehow which is an extremely busy time ,there was some confusion over our room but the staff sorted it out straight away and were very helpful.
The rooms are comfortable & clean and food is good - we have stayed previously and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Design of the lobby, restaurant and rooms is very good. Staff was also very polite and helpful. However, nowadays, when most of the airports, restaurants and hostels offer free Internet, 4-star hotel must offer Internet for free too. Asking 7 EUR/day is way too much. Also bathrobes and bathshoes are quite common in hotels and should they should also be offered in Ballsbridge hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
2.9 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,044 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $94 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing