We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballsbridge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$281
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$206
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$423
$283
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stauntons on the Green(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$227
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dublin Skylon Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge(Dublin)(Great Value!)
$183
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,501)
Filter reviews
2,501 results
Traveler rating
588
840
579
276
218
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
840
579
276
218
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdubliner baraviva stadiumcity centrebit datedlovely hoteltrinity collegetemple barballsbridgeembassyrdsrugbytaxispubdart
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,012 - 2,017 of 2,501 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Design of the lobby, restaurant and rooms is very good. Staff was also very polite and helpful. However, nowadays, when most of the airports, restaurants and hostels offer free Internet, 4-star hotel must offer Internet for free too. Asking 7 EUR/day is way too much. Also bathrobes and bathshoes are quite common in hotels and should they should also be offered in Ballsbridge hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at Ballsbridge again this year (twice in the one week) during the RDS horse show. This is a very busy time for all hotels in the area and Ballsbridge handled the workload perfectly. I can see the standard of the hotel beginning to get back to it's former glory before the developers planed to knock it down. Great news to hear it's staying as is. The foyer and staff give a warm welcome. We ate in the hotel which was very good and beat 'outside' prices hands down. The Dubliner Pub retains it's charm and had carvery food going all day which was a big hit with the exhibitors at the show. Bedrooms are good and comfortable - maybe requiring a bit of updating. Hotel has easy access to the city centre and generally well positioned should you wish to see the sights. You will enjoy staying here so do give it a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair-Ngaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Your review (200 character minimum)
stayed 4 nights for the dublin horse show room was lovely and large and the room was very clean staff very friendly, water was lovely and hot for shower every morning
will definently be back next year, it was just 5mins from the rds food was lovely, car park was great

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann551729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

this hotel has seen better days. I expect the irish crisis will delay any real upgrading or renovation which would make it much nicer. Still it can improve dramatically at low cost. First this is a non-smoking hotel, but you will find every hall and room smells like smoke. Thats an easy policy to fix with a fine and maybe making one floor smoking. Second, as many people noted the temparature is not able to be adjusted and the windows are bolted
To a chain. Thats also stupid and easy to fix. My biggest complaint was a bad nights sleep due to poor temp control and crappy bedding. Both are low cost fixes. The service was nice and the staff i found super friendly. Rowan at the coffee bar was a standout.

The room is a bit poorly appointed as the pictures show, but theres a lot to see in dublin so you wont want to hang out there anyway. A small gym would be nice, but there are places to run nearby.

Wifi is reasonably cheap (12 eur) for 2 days and fast. The room was a bargain at 75 eur and the breakfast and dubliner bar are also really nice extras.

I would prefer maybe another hotel in dublin, but this is not a bad choice either considering.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveprague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear steveprague

Thanks for your feedback and my apologies that you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us. We keep the windows bolted for safety measures but the temperature in the hotel should never be uncomfortable and I am checking this out with our management team.

Our hotel has been non smoking now for several months due to the fact that some people have severe allergies to smoke and due to the decline of people requesting smoking rooms. There is a €100 fine for smoking in the hotel and this is advertised in the bedrooms on tent cards. We try to police this as much as possible but it seems on this occasion it wasn't picked up on.

I'm glad to found our staff helpful and friendly and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

i have had a great time in Dublin also thank's to the Ballsbridge hotel. Professionality,timing, kindness and safety are the best qualities of this place. not too far from the city center it is a pleasent walk, also public transportation are available near by.
A special thanks to Esther who has been woderfull with me the entire time and took care of my needs professionally and kindly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews