We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing :(”
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
winchester
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing :(”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We spent almos 2 weeks in Ireland last month and this was by far the worst place we stayed. To start with I booked a family room and was given a double room....since an error happened with their computer system the booking got entered as only 2 adults so they decided to move us...but instead of only charging us for the double room rate they were still going to charge us the extra 35 Euro a night the family room cost. Reception was very condescending...they gave us the incorrect room number and room keys that took 3 trips back to get ones that worked. And while they tell you they are glad to help you with anything you need...there are hidden charges to do this. They charge you a fee for everything...and without telling you they are doing so until you check out. So traveler beware...my advice is to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llogan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
My apologies that your stay with us didn't meet your expectations. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss at jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com.


Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    754
    527
    244
    199
See reviews for
347
701
102
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

On arrival there was no greeting from reception. Keys were handed, without any explanantion what is where. We had to ask what time is breakfast. We had to actually wonder around before finding where the lifts were. Room was dated but clean, beds comfortable. Toilet didn't flush properly, after few tries it finally did. Then at night time it got blocked again and after flushing, the water overflowed and all bathroom floor was flooded as well as carpet in the bedroom! It was late at night so we reported it on our very early check out due to dissapointment. The only positive was Moise at reception,very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanna37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I appreciate your feedback and I'm sorry you had some issues during your stay. I will investigate these immediately.


Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

On arrival we found our room to be stiflingly hot. Turning off the radiator and opening the window had no impact even after several hours. We reported this to reception staff who provided us with a fan in an attempt to resolve the problem, but with limited effect.
The following morning we asked at reception if it would be possible to change rooms. This presented no problem and we were advised to simply leave our bags packed in our room and we would be allocated another room.
After a day sightseeing we returned to the hotel to find we had been relocated and our bags helpfully moved for us.
Great customer service from very helpful staff who knew how to solve problems without a fuss.
This was our second stay in the hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Went to Ballsbridge hotel with Shearings holidays. First impression of the hotel was very good. Beautiful lobby and we were checked in quickly by polite staff.The room was lovely and clean with a spotlessly clean bathroom and plenty of storage in the bedroom which was a good size.
After travelling for 10 hours we were very tired and ready for our evening meal.When we got to the restaurant we were met by a waiter who said ''Shearings?'' and pointed to a table.That was the only conversation from him, we queued up for our tea just like a soup kitchen. The waiter stood behind the counter and slapped the food on our plates without even looking at us. One night the manager was serving while on his mobile phone. Someone asked for a yorkshire pudding which was on the menu and he glared at her and said ''This is all there is!'' I felt embarrassed for her. Breakfast time was a different matter altogether. We ate breakfast with the rest of the hotel guests and the waiting staff couldn't have been nicer. There was plenty of choice and it was a lovely experience for us. My overall impression of the Ballsbridge experience is, lovely hotel unless you go with Shearings holidays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. I will investigate this immediately with the relevant department managers. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss also at jclifton@ballsbridgehotel.com.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Arriving at around 1am on our first night we were put in an old room with horribly outdated decor, and there was a street lamp shining through the curtains. In the morning I read the welcome note which mentioned that all of the hotel was due to be refurbished by June 2012. With it already being June 2012, I went to reception and requested that we be moved to a newly refurbished room. We were moved to a new room in the Ballsbridge Tower section and our stay in the hotel from then on was excellent. The refurbishments throughout the hotel are great and when the entire hotel is completed it will be really nice.
The entrance and lobby area is very impressive. The hotel is located in a really nice area with a bus stop on the other side of the road with frequent service taking only a few minutes to get into the centre of the city.
The Dubliner pub inside the hotel serves nice food. There are more traditional looking bars in the centre of the City, but it is a handy option to have the bar at the hotel.
Internet access at the lobby was reasonably priced.
We didn't use any of the other services at the hotel so cannot review those.

We did place a note together with our booking stating that we were staying at the hotel as part of our honeymoon vacation. So, the fact we were placed in an old room on the first night left a little bit of a sour taste. Overall we found our stay at the Ballsbridge Hotel to be very enjoyable and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: make sure to request a newly refurbished room beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for your detailed review. I have passed your comments on to the relevant department managers.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed in this hotel a few nights ago for the Red Hot Chilli Peppers concert. On arrival the hotel is very big and grand but you do have to pay 10 euro for parking there for the night, which i thought was a bit extreme! The room itself was really big but had very dated decor! The bed was very comfy, but the tv was dated and didnt have many channels at all!. Also there was no iron or iron board in the room. There was a trouser press but it just about worked and took ages to heat up. All in all it was a nice stay. The hotel even supplied a return bus from outside the hotel to and from the concert at 10euro return. The only problem I had with this hotel was the accommodation calling round to all the rooms from 8 o'clock in the morning on. We couikd hear them knocking on all the rooms on the corrider aswell. Check is not until 12 and I think they should only come around once they see you have checked out of your room from the reception desk. They then came around again at 11! It was very annoying especially when you want a sleep in and not to be pestered at that hour of the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ballsbridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for this review. I have discussed your issue with our accommodation department.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
John Clifton
General Manager
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed for a week. Bedrooms were clean but dated. To be renovated soon, I understand. Breakfast had great choices and good healthy options. Staff very helpful. Lots of tourists so can be busy. Foyer and bar/lounge in good order. Had dinner there twice. Cosy, great value, very well presented and chef to be complimented on the food. Restaurant staff particularly welcoming. Manager Nashir dealt with - very professional. Only compaint is the additional cost of wi-fi and customer parking. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CREEDO57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#19 of 151 in Dublin
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
0.5 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing