We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic rooms in need of some tlc... lovely bar.. great staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Basic rooms in need of some tlc... lovely bar.. great staff”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This was my SEVENTH stay at this hotel and i have always been happy with this hotel... Firstly I have to say what I look for on my stays in Dublin is somewhere to put my head at night..mostly my trips are based on nights out, going to concerts, girlie weekends etc... I was suprised when I arrived for our stay.. the hotel has been nicely renovated on the ground floor (due to a flood last year) so it is mostly the ground floor which has been updated. With it the hotel has taken away everything I loved about it, the pizza parlour, the hair dressers, the shop, the coffee dock. Our stay was perfect, the staff were all lovely.. we ate in the bar twice and everyone was happy with their meals... prices were reasonable and portion sizes were huge. I have no complaints we had a lovely stay.. I just wish they bring back the best bits of the hotel ( well what i consider the best bits) :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mail4ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    720
    494
    230
    192
See reviews for
324
667
100
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Yes - the location is away from the heart of this sort of charmless city (Cork is way nicer)...but that's just the part of this hotels issues.

Car park (btw...do NOT drive in Dublin) charges and stale linen get there before the location. On the plus side we encounterted a very helpful man at front desk.

I would not recommend this hotel; but again...maybe we just hit it on a bad day (it was very busy.)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarleth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I'm a pretty no frills traveler - all I require is "safe and clean". The hotel was safe, but cleanliness is an issue. Mold on the bathroom walls, peeling paint from the ceilings, broken telephone, stained blanket, and a mattress that was stained by something that could have been blood or old coffee (I only discovered this as I was checking out!). The heater rattled loudly at night, and there is noise from the street. The walls are thin, and I was woken every night by other guests in the hallway or in their rooms.

The hotel is quite a walk to city center (about 20-25 minutes), which can be hard if you are the kind of traveler who likes to put your feet up for part of the day.

The property is in massive need of refurbishing. You can tell the hotel was once very lovely (perhaps in the early 90s), but has not been cared for much since then. I would not stay here again. I was not sad to leave.

On the neutral side, the bed is quite firm. That's great if you like firm beds. It's not great if you prefer soft beds.

On the positive side, I will say the staff was very nice and kind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuezqBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having booked in to this hotel with Sergio the most ignorant member of staff I have ever met, I knew it was going to be a long night. The hotel is fine after that but I advise their management to get rid of this member of staff or they will suffer in the future,,what an ignorant person

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkingmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights over St Patricks day weekend. Lovely and peaceful apart from the night of Paddys day thanks to noisy drunks at 4am. But that isn't the hotels fault. The hotel is really easy to get to from Dublin Airport as Aircoach stops right outside and buses operate regularly. The hotel entrance is very grand but the rooms are not to the same standard yet, the hotel was clearly doing room updates whilst we were there. I stayed in a triple room, which was a very good size. Rooms were clean and comfy. If you can live with a little bit of peeling wallpaper, then for 60euro a night its a bargain.The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. City centre is only a 20 minute walk away. Will definately be staying again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed at the Ballsbridge Hotel for three nights on business. I took an Aircoach from the airport (€8 single or €14 return), which stopped right outside the hotel, on the corner of Lansdowne Road and Pembroke Road. The bus driver referred to it as “D4 Ballsbridge”, and I had my reservation booked for me by work as ‘Ballsbridge Inn’, but the hotel livery clearly states ‘Ballsbridge Hotel’.

An uninspiring looking building contains a more impressive lobby, where I was greeted by a very cheery receptionist who, in her charming broken English, thanked me for staying with them at least four times during check in. Access to the rooms is through a door requiring a room key card for added security, and is monitored by CCTV.

My triple room (i.e. with a double bed and a single) was on the second floor, and was very large. The décor is rather ‘traditional’ and in need of an update, but the room was very clean. There were unsightly cup rings on the desk, the wired-in hair dryer had no actual hair dryer attached, and the phone in the bathroom was so smashed up it looked like someone had been bashed in with it. Surely it would be relatively cheap to replace these appliances, even cheaper to remove them altogether. The heating system must be very arcane as it made a horrific clunking sound when it kicked in so I simply switched off the radiator. Moreover the room overlooked the flat roof of the dining area with the associated perpetual humming of industrial air-conditioning units.

I was surprised that there was no information folder in the room, so I had to ring reception to confirm when breakfast would be served and how to connect to the wifi. Internet access was €11.95 for two days, and I was surprised in a conference hotel that it was not offered for free, and even more that I had to go to reception to obtain a code.

There is a decent pub restaurant in the hotel (The Dubliner) which serves wholesome pub style dishes at around €10-14 for a main. According to the waiter if gets very busy when there are games on at the nearby rugby stadium. There is also a restaurant (Raglans) which serves a fixed price menu. This is also where breakfast was served, which was the usual hot and cold buffet. I ordered two poached eggs from the waitress, with only scrambled on offer, and they were excellent. The sausages were a little disappointing, but the black pudding, tomatoes and bacon were all very good. Items for the continental breakfast were very varied, including several types of salami, rye breads and a myriad of cheeses.

All in all, the hotel needs some updating, especially in the down-at-heel bedrooms. I was cheered to see that further down my corridor there were painters and decorators at work in a couple of rooms, clearly giving them a total overhaul. Until this work on the rooms is done, I would stay for business, but go elsewhere for a holiday hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor or above to avoid the possibility of being kept awake by the resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

The hotel is very old and woran out my bed was as hard as nails and the room was so hot even with the window open the heat was shocking in the bathroom the sink was blocked and did not drain and the showere was rubbish going hot cold hot cold

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guygsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Ballsbridge
0.4 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#31 of 153 in Dublin
2,002 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Burlington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 153 in Dublin
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#22 of 153 in Dublin
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballsbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballsbridge Hotel

Property: Ballsbridge Hotel
Address: Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballsbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballsbridge Hotel is a 4 star property located just minute's from Dublin city centre. With 400 luxury guestrooms (many of which were refurbished in 2013), a traditional Irish pub and the fantastic Raglans Restaurant serving delicious cuisine, Ballsbridge Hotel is the perfect choice for any visit to Dublin. We're located beside Aviva Stadium, home to Ireland's international soccer and rugby teams, and just a short stroll to the 3Arena and Dublin's theatre and shopping districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballsbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing