We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simply Sublime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Plancha

Le Plancha
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Plancha is a modern Irish restaurant with a style of cuisine using influences from the Iberian Peninsula & France. At Le Plancha, our customers will be offered a menu that reflects seasonality and freshness. We work with Artisan food suppliers in order to offer our customers the best ingredients and local produce at prices that are affordable.We make everything in house from our delicious home made breads baked daily, to our sauces and relishes & even our crackers for cheese.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service, an absolute gem of a restaurant that we found completely by chance.

Very reasonably priced food and wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back at La Plancha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having last visited La Plancha in January decided to return again on 18th May to check it out once more.
What can one say: hasn't changed thank god, food par excellence and service still friendly and efficient.
Will keep coming back as long as it stays the same.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“blackrock gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

this week we arranged to meet up with friends & to eat in le plancha which is a cosy restaurant off newtownpark ave & carysfort ave in blackrock. from the moment you arrive here there is a very nice warm welcome & the staff are very pleasant & eager to please. the menu has a lovely selection & there is a blackboard with daily specials. i had the calamari for starters & john dory for mains. both of which were delicious. then finished meal off with a beautiful mixed berry crumble.... which was yum. all others in the party really enjoyed their food. there is seating for about 30 or so downstairs but there is also a room upstairs for about 20 people. this restaurant is bistro styled and well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I hadn't heard of Le Plancha when my daughter said she would meet me there on a Tuesday evening. I arrived first at 6 intime for the Early Bird Menu and was the only person there, came back a little later and when we sat down we were still the only people in the restaurant. The very helpful waitress assured us that we wouldn't be alone for long, and she was right within 30 minutes the place had filled up, and I can understand why. The food and wine was delicious and excellent value, very tasty as could be seen from the empty plates going back. I noticed that a lot of the people eatting there that evening were known to the staff so obviously were regulars which is always a good sign. I highly recommend Le Plancha.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Called with my daughter on Sunday last (Mothers Day),without appointment,asked by a very pleasant girl if we could come back in 15 mins as the restaurant was full,and they would sort out a table for two.
This we did and were we glad.
This is the third time i have eaten in this restaurant and it gets better and better.
The warm and pleasant welcome to start and then down to the food.
The menu was a special for Mother's day at approx €23 per head plus extras.
Beautifully presented, cooked to perfection. French Onion Soup for Starters followed by Confit of Duck and Roast Rib of Beef for myself.Faultless.
The Restaurant is small and comfy,holding approx 30-40 people on two levels,but what a Gem for Blackrock.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Plancha also viewed

Monkstown, County Dublin
Monkstown, County Dublin
 
Monkstown, County Dublin
Blackrock, County Dublin
 

Been to Le Plancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing