We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay . Very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Ranked #10 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derby
Level Contributor
129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay . Very friendly.”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

this hotel is amazing, above the pub are the guest rooms. The rooms are clean and lovely and the staff are all friendly. great atmosphere. this hotel is a 5 min walk to the main centre of Dublin which is amazing :-) you are straight at trinity college/temple bar/bus stops etc... perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: we had room 2 (mother and daughter twin) it was nice and big and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    170
    55
    27
    19
See reviews for
82
158
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was awesome townhouse where we had dinner and stayed the night.It was quiet and the breakfast was great,cooked by the owner! it was in a very nice area of town,close to everything.My review is complete but it's not 200 characters so I'm trying tro make this longer.

Room Tip: it was a very comfortable place and the breakfast was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 53Patsy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Lovely to hear you enjoyed staying with us in our Townhouse and we hope to see you again sometime soon. It is our pleasure to have such nice people stop and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Heverlee, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We enjoyed staying in this excellent located pub, where we had each morning a warm welcome and a superb breakfast. Our rooms were spic and span and we all had a good sleep. Next time we're in Dublin, we'll certainly book again !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back here again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Township, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

o'Neills was the last of four hotels we were staying at during our whirlwind tour of Ireland. It was just what we needed. Hughie, Jerry and their staff were the nicest people we met while in Ireland. The room was clean and big and the bathroom was great. I have talked about O'Neills and their friendly service good food and Red Ale more than once since we are home.

Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We very much enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you to hear you too enjoyed it so much but I hope it is not too long before we can serve you another pint of O'Neills Red Ale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

i came here for dinner as was recommended by a local friend. lovely venue, lovely stay, delicious menu of all traditional hearty meals! the staff were lovely. so reasonably priced as well. will go back 100 percent when back in dublin!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brooke i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was a little concerned, giving up the modern hotels in favor of room above a pub, but at the same time, that was part of what drew me to it! I'm so glad I took the gamble. It's located only 2-3 blocks from O'Connell Street (the main throughfare of Dublin) and the Temple Bar area - so visitors have the benefits of sleeping in a quiet location, but easy access to all the sights of Dublin!

The rooms are located above the pub, so check-in consists of bellying up to the bar. Just note, this is a truly quaint pub and hotel, so there's no elevator hidden in a corner. You have to carry your bags up the stairs to your room. In my case (ladened with sourvenirs from all over Ireland) the very nice man checking me in (owner?) helped carry my bags up.

The rooms are quaint - small, with creaking wooden floors under the carpeting. But the beds were clean and comfortable, and there were small decorative touches to make you feel at home. No clocks, but then again, not one hotel I stayed at in Ireland had a clock in the room. The bathrooms have been renovated and are modern and spacious.

The absolute best part of O'Neill's is the pub. It's the quintessenial Irish pub, with low lighting, warm dark wood covering every surface, with nooks and corners hiding secluded areas for contemplating my memories of Ireland over a sip of Jameson.

I stayed at O'Neill's over St. Patrick's Day, arguably the busiest time of the year, yet service was exceptional. The man at the bar (owner?) was able to book me a cab for a 4:30am pickup, and went above and beyond to locate an alarm clock for me to use to wake up in time for the cab :)

If I'm ever back in Dublin again, I'm definitely staying here and spending more quality time in the pub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry N, Owner at O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
I'm glad that you did take the 'gamble' and stay with us and I'm also delighted to hear you liked our pub which has been in our family for over a hundred years - hence the creaky floorboards. We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope its not too long before we can welcome you back here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Trip of 6 adults for few days - called in for Guinness day one already eaten but saw the amazing food that came out and we decided to eat there the next day. We all had the carvery it was delicious , very generous portions & good value for Dublin as is expensive in anyone's wallet. Don't traipse round for ages go here you won't be dissapointed .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
3,743 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Dublin
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4,338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
2,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse

Property: O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse
Address: 36-37 Pearse St, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city opposite Trinity College, and only a 5 minute walk to Dublin's premier shopping streets, art galleries, theatres and night life. O'Neill's (established 1885) offers top class accommodation, traditional pub food and great Irish craft beers & whiskeys. The O'Neill family have run this pub for over a hundred years and pride themselves in the warm and friendly welcome they offer their guests. With 8 beautifully appointed en suite rooms guest's can choose between twin, double or triple rooms, or for bigger groups - our family suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your O'Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Neills Victorian Pub & Townhouse Hotel Dublin
o`Neills Victorian Pub And Townhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing