We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Egans House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Egans House
Ranked #24 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here will in the city attending a conference. The rooms are cosy and the service was good the only downsides I have were that the sheets on my bed were stained and I had to ask to get them changed and the wifi doesn't stretch to the top floor.

Cooked breakfast was good and all round it was good value for money

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patfinn, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your mostly positive comments. The wifi can suffer interference from other local connections.
I am amazed at the stains on the sheets. We rent them already washed, dried and ironed but this issue can rarely happen. The housekeeper should have spotted the problem. Apologies for this.

kind Regards

Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    184
    75
    35
    17
See reviews for
130
138
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hila ISREAL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for one night. The hotel was nice and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. breakfast was rich. We were allowed to keep our luggage untill we left for our flight (checkout at 11 AM and the luggage was kept till 21 PM) and to use the lounge untll the flight. The only disadvantage was the distance to city center, but you can always take the bus, few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaharEyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patfinn, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. As you say the hotel is 2 Kms from the city center but the bus is only 5 mins away and buses run every few minutes.
We have recently added some new items to the breakfast menu such as biscuits and cakes, cheese and delicious yogurts,

Kind Regards

Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed there in june 2013 for the 3rd time. Great guesthouse, rooms are good and the staff was really friendly. Good location, tastefull breakfast and good value.Can't say anything bad....we'll be back ne
xt year :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patfinn, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review.
We at Egans are very happy to hear that you have had many pleasant stays with us.
We are close to the City Center and many other places of interest including Glasnevin Cemetery, The Botanic Gardens and Tolka Park.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.

PS Thank you for the lovely photographs.


Kind Regards,
Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed here with a group of friends for a concert, was abit far away but if coming up for a GAA match i would definitely recommend it! The B&B Was clean and rooms were nice! We weren't told checkout was 11 and thought this was a little early and breakfast was finished at 9.30! This could be the norm for B&Bs, hadn't stayed in one before but after staying here I will be choosing a B&B again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mir23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patfinn, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. As you say Egans is very close to Croke Park. It is also close to the city centre and many other places of interest including the Zoo and Tolka Park ( great for walks especially with children as there is a lovely play area), The National Botanic Gardens and only 6 miles from the airport.
I think that 11 am checkout is fairly standard for Dublin. The breakfast times have now been extended to 10 am when we are busy.
guests comments are always welcome and acted on within reason.

Cheers

Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helmsange
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

we spent 5 days at egans with our two children(15 months and 6 years old), the room was very small, it wasn't clean every day , the carpet was dirty.
the personnel was very nice. We appreciated that the egans house had a good connection with the downtown and other nice places in Dublin, like the zoo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForzaSora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patfinn, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Sorry about that. You should have said something when you were here and we would have given you a family room for just a little more. A room with a double bed and a single bed is not big enough for 4 people when the cot is added. Your room sometimes had a "do not disturb" sign on the door and hence the room would not have been touched.
Thanks for your other very nice comments.

Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Enjoyed the vibe of this cozy spot at Egans House.
Egans House was close to everything and far enough away to enjoy the real Dublin.
the staff were friendly and helpful and this was a pleasant location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patfinn, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We are indeed located a short distance from the Botanic Gardens, Croke Park and the City Center.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in late May. The experience was less personal than the other B&Bs where we stayed on this trip but, this was also the largest facility. Egan's has 30 rooms so it is more of a hotel feel. All of our other places had 12 rooms or less so the owners had the time to make the experience more personal and unique. Having said that, Lisa, who worked the front desk was very patient and helpful. Egan's has a large lounge that we did not take advantage of but it was nice to have it there if you wanted it. The room was very small but clean and served our purposes just fine because we were out sightseeing all day, everyday. The breakfasts were tasty and there were a lot of choices. In the staff's rush to get the tables cleared off for the next wave of guests and to keep the buffet replenished, they were sometimes quite loud (rushing back & forth) but we didn't typically linger over breakfast so we managed. The residential neighborhood is beautiful and a nice place to stroll. The location is something to be aware of. Egan's is located closer to the outskirts of Dublin. This is both good and bad depending on what you are looking for. We took a 15-20 minute bus ride out of the City Center to get "home" each evening but this distance also allowed us to spend time away from the hustle and bustle. It also allows you to be within walking distance of Glasnevin Historic Cemetery. That place, by the way, is NOT to be missed!

Room Tip: Our room was on the far side of the lounge and was quite quiet with a window that looked out on an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carpediemejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patfinn, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
I am very happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the noise in the dining room. This can happen if we are very busy.
We are located 2 kms from the city centre and this as you say can be good or bad depending on your needs.
We are very close to Glasnevin Cemetery which is well worth a visit as you mention. We are also very close to Botanic Gardens, Croke Park and the Zoo and only 10 kms from Dublin airport.
Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 149 in Dublin
871 reviews
Parkway Guesthouse
#18 of 149 in Dublin
335 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#25 of 149 in Dublin
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marilyn Mansion
#54 of 149 in Dublin
173 reviews
Tipperary House
#10 of 149 in Dublin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egans House

Property: Egans House
Address: 7 Iona Park | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Egans House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area, Egans House is an elegant terrace of Edwardian houses. The 23 bedrooms of the guesthouse are en-suite with all modern facilities and much more to cater to all your needs ensuring that your stay has been a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Egans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egans House Hotel Dublin
Egans Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing