We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but great price / value ratio”
Review of Egans House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Egans House
Ranked #25 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place is in a very peacful part of the city. The Eagen house has a great reception until 12 pm they are very nice and helpful related public transport advising :)
The room was great, solid with a bed, TV and a little bathroom but everything was clean and the price included the towels and the cleaning everyday.
I appreciated very well the ironing opportunity and and the hairdryer :)
The room contains this tools by default. The whole territory of this guest house free wifi is available which is an other great thing!
I missed one of mine having breakfast opportunities but the first what I tried was very delicious and more than enough. The having breakfest staff was very cheerful and nice! :)
I loved it and I think next month I return there :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamasGTamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. Egans guesthouse is in a very peaceful part of Dublin City but only 2Km from the city centre and 10 Km from Dublin airport.
Reception is open from 7.30 am until 12 midnight from Sunday to Thursday and until 2 am on Friday and Saturday.
As you say the Wi Fi is free and works in all of the rooms and in all the communal areas.
The breakfast costs €10 but less for children. It includes a mixture of continental and Irish in a self service style.
Let us know when you are coming back and we will try and do even better.

Kind Regards and thanks again.

Pat finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 456 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Following less than wonderful stay in a small room in Paris, this was just the break I needed. I got a good deal on the room and it was lovely. The location was great because I could walk to the bus stop in maybe ten minutes and then it was less than hour back to the airport. Lisa was very nice too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. As you say the bus stop is very close by and you can get a bus into the city centre which only takes 10 minutes. The airport is less than twenty minutes by taxi and can be booked at reception for a fixed price of €23. It takes longer by bus but the cost is just over €2.


Kind Regards and thanks again.

Pat finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great little B&B we stayed in room 27 twice during our 2 1/2 week stay in ireland once in the begining for about 3 days and then the last 2 days we were in Ireland, Great price, great room only things i would note is that the channels on the TV are very limited (as seems to be the trend in most hotels in ireland so i dont fault Egans for this, we also werent in ireland to watch tv, was jus something to fall asleep to) The staff is very friendly and helpful with all our inquiries and getting us cabs to go to dublin Centre. Great stay both times would return

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissee1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry about the TV. That one was especially bad for whatever reason. It was recently brought to my attention by another guesr staying in that room and it is now fixed. we only have 8 Tv channels. As you rightly say people do'nt go on holidays to watch TV but it is nice at the end of a tiring day to lie back and relax watching TV.
We do not do "pay per view" etc as we are a small family - oriented hotel.

Kind Regards

Pat finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ireland is a garden, Dublin is a gorgeous place smelling of turf peat instead of exhaust gas, and Egans house is a charming and friendly place. My four children and I loved staying here - the lounge with its kids games and coffee machine was fantastic! I strongly recommend it for families!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, especially in relation to the fact that we try and cater for children of all ages as well as their parents. Young children love playing games and having these simple games in a lounge which is warm and cosy and safe and not a lounge in the usual sense of a pub is very nice.

Kind Regards

Pat finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just one world: perfect...
A B&B situated 20 minutes walking to the O'Connel Street.
We arrived very late (and the check-in is 'till 24.00) but the receptionist waited for us!! The room was clean and the staff very helpful..
Thank you again!! :)
Valentina & Sebastiano

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to be helpful to all of our guests in any way possible. Hope to see you again.

Bye for now.

Pat Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned to Liverpool from a lovely 2 night stay at Egans House in Dublin. I booked this B&B through the internet and was told that we didn't have to pay till we arrived or when we departed (whichever was easier for us). Arrived to lovely receptionist who was more than helpful and very polite. We went into our twin room which was very clean and warm with ample space for 2 people. We didn't spend much time in the B&B as we were sight seeing or sleeping but we did ask the receptionist for some help with buses and directions on the sunday morning, she was more than helpful with bus numbers and even drew a little map to help us find the bus stop. We requested a taxi to take us the airport on departure which the receptionist organised for us. Overall we found all staff more than helpful and made our first visit to Dublin an enjoyable experience and I would definately recommend to friends and family. Thank you for all your help and a lovely experience (next time I will book breakfast as it smelt lovely) can't wait to come back x

Room Tip: The B&B is in a quiet area so all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjc00Marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you or and your friends again.
The breakfast is indeed very nice with a choice of continental or Irish or both if you like!

See you.

Pat Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

When I arrived or checking in the girl on reception was too busy on her mobile phone to even notice i had arrived. My room (23) was extreemly small for the price I had paid and had NO HOT WATER. I complained to reception twice and the girls did nothing to help.

Very dissapointed with this guesthouse and would reccomend anyone to stay away, or demand they get a room the size they pay for!

Room Tip: Avoid being ripped off and demand a larger room, they are the same price!! Avoid Room 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We are sorry that you had a bad experience.
Our staff are strictly not allowed to use their mobile phones except to text other staff members re rosters etc, if they cannot get them on the landline. The receptionist was most likely doing this or possibly using the "walkabout" wireless phone which they always take with them if they have to leave reception at any time. (We are a small hotel and only have one receptionist on duty at any one time). They will answer this phone if it rings when they are away from reception and then walk back to reception to deal with the call, still using this phone.

In relation to the room it is a little small but is very comfortable and quiet being off a corridor where there are no other rooms. It is beautifully decorated ,all furniture being lovely polished mahogany. For the price you paid on a very busy weekend, namely €37, I would not describe it
as a ripoff.
You are right in saying that the you complained about the water being cold in the shower. You were told to leave it running for a few minutes and to dial zero for reception if you still had a problem. There is no record of any further issues.
Apologies for the problems.

Pat Finn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Parkway Guesthouse
#17 of 149 in Dublin
341 reviews
ABC House
#29 of 149 in Dublin
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waterloo Lodge
#22 of 149 in Dublin
320 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#24 of 149 in Dublin
668 reviews
Almanii Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 149 in Dublin
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egans House

Address: 7 Iona Park | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $74 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Egans House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area, Egans House is an elegant terrace of Edwardian houses. The 23 bedrooms of the guesthouse are en-suite with all modern facilities and much more to cater to all your needs ensuring that your stay has been a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Egans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egans House Hotel Dublin
Egans Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing