We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conditions satisfactory accommodation for a great price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Egans House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Egans House
Ranked #28 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Conditions satisfactory accommodation for a great price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room had a strange smell from antique furniture. If you looked out the window room saw a wall 1.5 meters .... very nice. The smell was unbearable living room, the smell of old. The missing sink soap. In relation to the conditions found at the scene, the price is very high.

Room Tip: Avoid this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am confused by your statements. You put a heading on your review saying that “Conditions satisfactory accommodation for a great price”.
Then the rest of the review is very negative. There is a small red-bricked shed close to the room but there is also a beautiful silver birch tree beside it as well as various nice shrubs.

My wife and I met you at the guesthouse entrance as you were leaving and you said that there was a smell of smoke in the lounge. We checked and there was no smell of anything and in any case, by law, smoking has not been allowed in such places for over 10 years. Smoke may have wafted in the windows of the lounge from someone smoking outside.
The room in fairness was expensive on that particular night as there were a couple of major events on in Dublin that weekend.

Kind Regards

Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    180
    71
    34
    17
See reviews for
126
135
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a lovely place! This is the best 3 star place I have ever stayed in. The staff where lovely and so helpful, the breakfast was spot on for the price. The location is perfect if you dont want to be too close to town with all the noise and drunk tourists at night. The bus stop is 5-10min walk down the road and they are reasonable priced. If you come from the airport get the dublin city bus, not the airport bus as these are very expensive! There are great local pubs to eat in, in particular the botanic house pub just down the road and addisions hotel, fantastic food and far cheaper than town, the botanic gardens also worth a visit even if this doesnt seem like your type of thing. I booked this place way in advance so i got an amazing price as well! would go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. This place is indeed very convenient overall to so many places of interest as you mention as well as to a few others such as Glasnevin cemetery which is very historic in relation to Irish history in its broadest sense. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Pat Finn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rüthen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

What do you think is the reason why we came to stay at Egans House for the third time?
When we (that´s my husband and me) stayed in Dublin twice last year we fell so in love with this beautiful city - and with Egans House. We couldn´t imagine a nicer place and a more helpful staff. So we had great expectations - and we were never disappointed. During our stay for 15 days in July this year we had again a very comfortable room, clean and tidy every day, a good bed to sleep in, a completely satisfying breakfast each morning and the kindest and most welcoming staff you can imagine.
What else would you like to know? Well, you can reach Dublin Airport or the city center easily by bus within a short time, the bus stop is only just around a few corners as well as Drumcondra Station or the Botanic Gardens. And if you like to take a walk into the heart of Dublin City, you´ll be there in about 40 or 50 minutes, depending on your preferred destination.
Visiting famous Glasnevin Cemetery is a must, it´s only a stone´s throw away from Egans House.
We can only tell you that we´re sure to come back to Egans House - it´s always a great pleasure for us - and we can recommend it with all our hearts to everyone who wants to visit Dublin, meet nice people and earn great value.
Special thanks to Monica and Pat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerlinde W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your superb review and especially the detail relating to local attractions. Please let us know in advance when you are coming next and mention this review and we will try even harder for you. Best wishes.

Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This guest house offers great value and the owners are very welcoming!! Egan's is a very nice and safe place to stay. The owners are Patrick an Monica they are very nice and may i add funny.
The rooms are very spacious and are comfortable. There are wardrobes in most rooms with hangers the rooms are reasonably clean also. The main lounge is great for all ages!. It has a computer which is 2 Euros per hour. The lounge also has sweet machines and a hot drink machine. The lounge also has comfy sofas and a range of fun board games! There's a TV with a great range of DVDs there's also a piano and an amazing range of books. The breakfast is a buffet which includes bacon,fresh eggs,beans,sasages,white pudding ,black pudding,toast,cheese,cereals,milk coffee,tea or orange/ apple juice.

Overall this is a lovely place to stay and i would recommend Egan's guest house.:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you Eve for your lovely review. We are delighted that you were happy here. Pat & Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and me stayed here last night for one night, for the Maddonna concert. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, Lisa on reception give us a voucher for 10% of nearby bar, and even ordered the taxi to take us to the stadium.Monica also give us a very welcoming greeting. Lovely place to stay weather it is one night or longer, breakfast this morning was very nice and lots of it. We hope to return soon and stay longer, I would recommend the friendly guest house to anyone! Thank you Egans!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you Jacqueline for your lovely review and look forward to seeing you again. Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The place itself was nothing special, the room was small but I didn't expect much. Is close to the city by bus. The staff is very helpful but the housekeeping is not really efficient. If you want internet you need to pay extra 8 euros per day and for breakfast another 10 euros extra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbaWaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and especially your very positive comments about the reception staff. WiFi used to cost €5 per 24 hours but has been free since 11/6/12. It never cost €8 and so i wonder if you are mixing us up with another hotel or if it has been quite a while since you stayed here. In any case we have recently finished upgrading the lounge areas and some of the rooms. I am uncertain what you mean by the housekeeping staff not being efficient as the breakfast is self service. Perhaps it was a very busy time when you visited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Excellent value, clean, very convenient location, Heater, in-room hair dryer, tv , wifi , nice living room - enjoyed the family atmosphere with other guests. We felt like 'Guests' and not just Customers. Egans House is great place to stay, the owners are pleasant, and they make you feel welcome. This was our first stay and if we are ever in Dublin again, this would be our first choice for a place to stay.We wish Pat and Monica every success.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zayed_Abu_Dhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EgansHouse, Owner at Egans House, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. You were a lovely couple. Hope to see you again.

Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#8 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
North City Centre
Anchor House Dublin
Anchor House Dublin
#26 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ABC House
#27 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Morehampton Townhouse
#37 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Tipperary House
#11 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Egans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Egans House

Property: Egans House
Address: 7 Iona Park | Glasnevin, Dublin 9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Egans House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet residential area, Egans House is an elegant terrace of Edwardian houses. The 23 bedrooms of the guesthouse are en-suite with all modern facilities and much more to cater to all your needs ensuring that your stay has been a comfortable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Egans House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Egans House Hotel Dublin
Egans Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing