We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but Pricey”
Review of 777

777
Ranked #308 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stylish but Pricey”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went to 777 last Thursday, we didn’t have to wait too long for a table, there aren’t many seats and there is nearly more room at the bar which was very lively. Our server suggested getting a number of starters to share rather than a main each so we did that. These plates are small but tasty and have two or three little tasters on each one. Most of them were pretty good although they are obviously quite small. The chicken one and the chorizo ones were both excellent and we ordered more of them. We had to order quite a few of these small plates as they are tiny but they arrived quite quickly. The wine was also very expensive so we stuck with beers which were fine. Overall this place was pretty good but very expensive for what you are getting, we will be going to our usual Mexicans instead in future purely down to the exorbitant pricing at 777.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rezzzident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    150
    83
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place but music too loud”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went here with 4 friends at the weekend, it was my second time to 777. even though we hadn't a clue what we were ordering as the menu is quite complicated the food which arrived was delicious. The cocktails are to die for also but one big fault is how loud the music is. The restaurant is small and literally the music would put you out the door it's so loud and horrific.

I love this place but they need to turn down the music so people can actually chat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EC2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go for dinner, not brunch.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

So we went thinking the Sunday brunch deal was such good value we couldn't miss it. €7.77 for brunch items and €7.77 for special Sunday cocktails. We were seated at the bar, and the restaurant was busy, but not too much, the atmosphere was just right. I was excited about the menu and my cocktail, admiring the Margaritas being dished out every couple of minutes by the very competant bar girl.
However, the special Sunday cocktails are served in much smaller glasses than the regular ones. Maybe because there's a fiver in the difference? Still, it was potent, and moreish. Now onto the food. 2 sliders for him, and a mexican chicken stew for me. When they arrived I was crushed. They were tiny. Starter size. A small starter size. Now I know why brunch is such good value!

That being said, I will be back. The place is just so cool and the cocktails too good. I've heard good things about happy hour on a Friday!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Cool”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Managed to get the last table straight after walking in at 9pm on a Thursday night. Lucky! Great atmosphere, loud music but GOOD music - even some 80's dance/funk going on - just loud enough to talk over and not have to shout over. The service was attentive and polite, the staff seemed to care about the food - And about the food - Wow! The taste! Especially the duck tacos. When in Dublin this is a must-visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
253 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The best in town”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

777 is up and running a year now and we go very oftern. This is THE place in town if you want authentic Mexican nosh. Cocktails are superb and the interior is very cool. The staff are brilliant and they make this place special.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinWelcomesAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 777 also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to 777? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing