We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Terenure!?”

The Lovely Food Company
Ranked #276 of 2,547 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lovely Food Co is delighted to bring Gourmet-Cafe Dining to Terenure Dublin. Brought to you by a multi award winning team we focus on the freshest local food, our team prepare in-house daily to deliver an extensive range of fresh homemade products to our customers. Whatever we don’t produce in house is sourced from some of Ireland's upcoming artisan suppliers.Opening Hours Monday 8:30am until 5pm , Tuesday to Friday 8:30am, last orders 9:30pm, Saturday from 10am with last orders at 9:30pm, and Sunday from 10am until 5:00pm.
Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best in Terenure!?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

My wife and I went for dinner here last weekend and must say we were delighted with the experience. We had been here for lunch a couple of years ago and couldn't really remember how the food was so decided to try it again. When I rang to book a table for 7pm they recommended getting there earlier so we could avail of the early bird. So glad we did as it was great value and was getting a bit hectic as we were leaving around 8.

The staff were very good. Warm welcome when we arrived and very attentive, couldn't fault the service at all! Food was delicious, I went for a crab mousse starter, pork belly main and mars bar cheesecake for desert. Every dish was seasoned and prepared perfectly! Highlight was the cheesecake. I'd go back for just that alone!

As some other reviewers have mentioned the only negative we came across was that the tables are a little bit too small. It is a small restaurant so not much they can do about it unless they get bigger tables and take less customers or maybe just renovate the whole place? Anyway it wouldn't put me off going back as long as the food is that good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A1K3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    69
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WoW !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

A friend recommend The Lovely Food Company to us to try out, it exceeded our expectation very friendly staff and outstanding high quality food.

Helpful?
Thank Ohara30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love this place. Myself and my partner eat here or get food to go regularly and it's always my go-to place with friends for the great value supper club. Even my 5 year old asks to go now for his weekly hot chocolate date with me!
Margaret and Suzie who we meet regularly there are so friendly and I'm often told when they are available that "my scallops" are on the menu (with chorizo and pew purée - gorgeous!)
Upon eating a delicious curry I emailed the next day for the recipe and was given it straight away and I've since discovered all the cookery course recipes on their site! Although I have yet to attend the course and will soon I believe it is a great night and I will be attempting the risotto, one of my favourite dishes this weekend.
From the friendly hello, to the crisp warm sourdough bread, fresh and tasty starters and mains to amazing (Mars bar cheesecake - say no more!) this place is worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sincro329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely is right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I've been to this restaurant a few times as it's located just minutes from where I live. There are about 5 other restaurants in the village, so we have choice, but the staff here make it a winner every time. They really manage to give a warm welcome every single time, without overdoing it.
It helps that the food is great also, I had brunch on many occasion, they even did my favourite "French toast" to go one morning when there were no tables available. Lunch is always busy, but it's the dinner menu that really sets it apart from the competition. The food is amazing, and the supper club is great value. And for the record can I just say they do the cutest Facebook updates....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Fails to deliver great food, atmosphere and value!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Lovely Food Co offers great menus for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is gorgeous and never fails to impress. Staff are always friendly and there's a great atmosphere. Cookery school demos provide a real fun night!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah-shields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lovely Food Company also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
County Dublin, Province of Leinster
 

Been to The Lovely Food Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing