We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent...”
Review of Yamamori Izakaya

Yamamori Izakaya
Ranked #344 of 2,689 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: YAMAMORI IZAKAYA, located at 12-13 South Great Georges Street, Dublin 2, in what was originally Ireland's very first cafe. This old Bewleys building boasts original oriental style decor with a twist. Enjoy the 1940's Chinese and Japanese beer ads and movie posters with a great Asian beer or rice wine, and try our dublin famous homemade Izakaya burger. After your meal we have a lounge downstairs where you can catch a nice Izakaya Lycee cocktail, and enjoy some modern sounds from Dublin's up and coming DJ's. Downstairs is a Japanese style drinking house, serving small Japanese style pub food dishes with great Japanese whiskeys, beers and sake. Come for food or drinks, chill out and listen to some urban lounge deep and soul tunes. The Izakaya has a retro easy going atmosphere and is open 7 days a week from 17:30 and is available for private bookings.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

this is my favourite place to eat in Dublin... if i lived nearby I'd eat there every night... the noodles are amazinf, and eating with chopsticks is such a relaxing and pleasant way to dine

Thank albumen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We always appreciate customer feedback, and look forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Yamamori Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 292 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Love this place. Great vibe, funky crowd, good value. Food is delicious. Service excellent. Music gets progressively louder as the night goes on - deafeningly so by midnight. 

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angeld62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks Angeld62 for your positive feedback. We are always delighted to hear about our customer's experiences at Izakaya. If the music gets too loud on your next visit, please mention it to the staff. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the service and food, and look forward to seeing you again soon. :)

Yamamori Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

As usual the food was OK, not really value for money, but we had some really terrible issues with the service staff here again. Firstly the waitress brought a glass of the wrong wine, then fixed the wine but still only brought a glass even though we had ordered a bottle! To be honest we had some really horrible experiences with the wine and from the start, so much that we almost left there and wish we had. Then only four out of our five food plates arrived, with one being served to us only for the waiter to take it away suddenly to say it was for another table, leaving our mouths watering. I think he was the assistant manager and for him to do that without a better explanation is bad form. Then time to explain to the staff that we were missing a plate. Instead of finding out from the kitchen, she was asking a very confused table what was missing. And there is always an issue here with getting a check at the end, suddenly seemingly too busy to flag down, but hoping you will order more? I have eaten Yamamori dozens of times but will not continue in their Izakaya premises again, from this horrible service that is clearly the managers fault. They are ill trained and have some horrible habits in their service, rude and neglectful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank repete1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience, and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your issues will be brought up at our next meeting. Again we really appreciate you taking the time to offer this feedback.

Kind Regards,
Yamamori Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were out in a group,there was 10 of us.We all had various dishes and beers.Service was slow,to begin with but got better as the evening went on.Everyone enjoyed there food and the pockets were not cleared out at the end of it.Buzzy busy atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks for your review Paul. We really appreciate your positive feedback, and hope to see you again soon :)

Yamamori Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Staff were relaxed and attentive despite being busy. Food was very tasty with an excellent choice, it was almost difficult to narrow down your choice. Good vegetarian options. They had a tapas type menu with offers of three dishes for €15 or five dishes for €25. When I went down to the toilet the bar downstairs was really busy with a good atmosphere. Despite it being a Saturday night there was no time limit in our table which was a plus.If you like their other restaurants you will like this new addition.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Purplefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Izakaya, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you Purplefood for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate the chance to hear about our customer's experiences, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your evening with us.

Kind Regards,
Yamamori Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamamori Izakaya also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Yamamori Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing