We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of The Wild Boar - CLOSED

The Wild Boar
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, American, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

All good, great food great decor Great food, great for early breckfast. It has a really cosy athmosphere

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony12345186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Work to regain your standard....”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a lovely informal eating / drinking location. Have enjoyed my visits - quality food, so clean and well maintained, good service. Visited last Saturday, 2nd Feb. If this was your first visit you would have formed the wrong opinion, can only assume they were having a bad night. One girl did a super job on her own covering all tables.... not the norm. The €17.95 2 course menu is no longer available which in my view makes it a bit pricey now. Presentation again was not to their normal standard - it was always surprisingly good. Food quality WAS still up to their high standard, I have never had a problem with any choice made. Look forward to it being back to how it was on next visit - everyone can have 1 bad night - so won't let it put me off. Be sure to try it!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shared_Experience30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A pre-wedding get together with people arriving at different times - all well catered for by the lovely staff. Very nice surroundings / decor and great menu with very reasonable prices. Presentation of food - very nice and piping hot. Seating on comfortable chairs where we spent the whole evening in the "function room" adjacent to the bar/main area and tables were quickly added too make room for more guests.
As it's outside Dublin parking was no problem (free) across the road.
Have enjoyed lunch here on another occasion - will definately be back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish this place was at the end of my street...”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a great Sunday lunch with family and friends last week. Food was really good - chicken wings all round, fish, steaks and a nicely done Sunday Roast all served by friendly and professional staff. Good selection of wines by the glass and some nice craft beers - O'Hara's, Galway Hooker etc. The decor and ambience are elegant and relaxing, like a modern take on an old-school pub, bright and airy. A great place to while away an afternoon

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WJB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Gastropub where the food, drink and atmosphere is a pleasure.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I have had dinner in the adjoining restaurant (Box Tree) and had a couple of drinks in this pub while waiting for our table. This time we decided to try the Pub-grub instead. It was a delight, the food is every bit as good as in the restaurant (should be, same kitchen) but the feeling is more relaxed. They have a good selection of Ales too, both on tap and in bottles.

Some of the staff are excellent while others could do with a slight improvement (inconsistencies in service). The food more than makes up for it though and we'll definitely be back for more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naoise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Boar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing