We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice”
Review of Picasso Restaurant

Picasso Restaurant
Ranked #567 of 2,616 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Picasso Restaurant Clontarf specialises in Italian cuisine offering superb food, wines and delightful dining experience.Picasso Restaurant has been under new ownership since 10th July'12.Here at Picasso Restaurant, we serve the best in traditional Italian Food and Wine. Our menus include some of the most popular Italian dishes and wines to satisfy every taste.The delicious food is prepared by meticulous chefs who have worked for a number of years in Italian restaurants and have mastered the wonderful and mouth-watering dishes.The decor has been updated to create the perfect settings for an intimate occasion or a place to celebrate a special event.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Took a while but found a place to eat and talk without the riots of the crowd. Food is adequate...nothing exceptional

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank janecappiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    41
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lovely little restaurant in the village of Clontarf. We sat upstairs where we had a view of Dublin Bay. Had prawn (shrimp) with garlic sauce and mussles as starters. Both very good. For main course we had Veal with mushrooms, Spagetti Bolognaise, Steak and daily fish special. All were very nice and well presented. Service was good. Overall a nice experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT - A LITTLE GEM”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed at Clomtarf Castle and luckily their dining room was booked out . Staff recommended the Picasso. We had a warm welcome and asked to choose our table. The waiter who we later discovered wasn't Italian, was great craic Mother from Cork and father Birmingham - but they were an authentic Irish restaurant with some Italian staff
The menu offered a wide choice to suit all our palates One had the duck, one cod and one chocken neapolitan I had the sole served with prawns in a brandy cream sauce Exquisite All our meals were accompanied with gratin potatoes, and a selection of vegatables, broccoli, roasted peppers, runner beans, parsnip , etc House wine excellent
Too full to have a dessert each we opted for 2 and 4 spoons cassata and banoffee Both excellent We were offered zambucca or limoncello but declined
This was one of the best meals I have ever eaten with very helpful and friendly staff
A littel gem in Vernon Avenue Clontarf A must for visitors staying at the castle

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service can be "interesting"”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The food is excellent. Always. Book a table downstairs as the ambience is nicer. The service is normally good but the Italian influence means that if the (family member) waiter is having a bad day, so will you. But the last few times I've been it's been excellent, so maybe they've increased the waiter's medication.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sunday evening before Christmas with Picasso”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The restaurant is located in Clontarf a suburb of Dublin and is a very short distance from the sea just off the main Dublin to Howth Road. For some reason or other you have to ring the doorbell to gain entry to this restaurant that has been well decorated.

It was a Sunday evening before Christmas and there were quite a few diners in there. The cuisine is Italian and there were three of us in the party.

Two of us had starters and all three had the same main course – Veal, with a bottle of wine costing €29 which is about the average price. As often happens in Irish restaurants, they do not try and sell you mineral water, but come along with jugs of tap water, which is a very good tradition.

Although an Italian restaurant themed menu the bread was a choice of Irish brown and white, full of it’s distinct flavour that you only get with Irish bread.

One of the party had a desert. The portions were generous and we finished with coffee and tea.

We were offered complimentary liqueurs, but two of us were driving and as Ireland has recently introduced tougher drink drive laws and also in the week leading up to Christmas was not going to take any chances.

The staff were friendly and the only comment I would have, was why use bowls of granulated sugar to accompany the excellent coffee. Maybe this is another reminder from the past that I used to find in Irish restaurants going back 20 years.

The final bill for three came to €149 including the tip I left behind. We would certainly return again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimTimLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Picasso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing