We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”
Review of Montrose Lodge B&B

Montrose Lodge B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montrose Lodge B&B
Ranked #45 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Mountbellew
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here recently with a colleague while attending a conference in UCD. An excellent location across from UCD, easy to access by bus and in a quiet area. Helen was efficient, business like and also very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, clean and the price was very reasonable. Breakfast was lovely and again Helen was friendly and helpful.
There was a lovely homely feel to the place, and the excellent selection of reading materials, books and magazines available on the landing is a great idea.
Would defininitely recommend .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, choosing this inn due to its proximity to our friend's home and the fact that it is on the Lepardstown line for the Aircoach for transportation to the airport as well on the Dublin bus line for getting back and forth to the center of town. Ms. Martin was charming and very welcoming. We had requested a double room with ensuite bath and found that we had one double bed and a single one as well. The bedroom was nicely appointed with wardrobe, tv, hair dryer, tea making facilities and was very comfortable. The bathroom had only a shower, though that is fine for us, and was quite modern. There were many choices for breakfast and all were delicious. We did not use many of the inn's other facilities as we were gone for long hours with our friends but the house is very nice. There is off street parking as well as WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VHTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This a nice B&B close to UCD. Which is why I was staying. I stayed for one night and the host seemed nice. Rooms are clean and comfortable, with antique style through out the house. The sausages were not to my liking, however the breakfast was good. My only problem was finding the B&B. It is actually quite concealed, and it is not obvious from the outside that the place is actually a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notherdayanothercity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here recently for 2 nights and in general enjoyed the stay. Location is convenient for the bus into the centre of Dublin. The accommodation was clean and the food was good.

The not so good - Car parking is minimal - about 3 spaces for 9 rooms, so could be a problem. Also, other than handwash, there no toiletries in the room.

There were noisy Canadian guests whilst not the fault of the B&B, did spoil 1 night's sleep

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gg13533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed here when I did the Cambridge English Proficiency exam. I had studied in Galway and all I needed was one night in Dublin for the exam. We chose this B&B because it was the closest to school according to Google Maps. And it is really close! And the room was nice and clean, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice too. I wouldn't have mind to stay longer but I only needed one night. :( However.. it's a little bit far from the city centre... But if you're only going to the University College Dublin then it's perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dublin
1.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
0.8 mi away
Tara Towers Hotel
Tara Towers Hotel
#118 of 151 in Dublin
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Broc House Suites
Broc House Suites
#52 of 149 in Dublin
16 reviews
1.3 mi away
Adare Bed & Breakfast
Adare Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 149 in Dublin
267 reviews
1.3 mi away
Morehampton Townhouse
Morehampton Townhouse
#36 of 149 in Dublin
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montrose Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montrose Lodge B&B

Property: Montrose Lodge B&B
Address: 164 Stillorgan Road | Donnybrook, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Hotel Class:3 star — Montrose Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Montrose Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing