We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of San Lorenzo's

San Lorenzo's
Ranked #161 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: San Lorenzo’s is a modern Italian restaurant on Georges Street in the centre of Dublin city, close to Temple Bar at the downtown end of the culinary-famous Camden Mile. Grafton Street shopping, Dublin Castle, Christchurch Cathedral and Trinity College are all within a few minutes’ walk of our front door. We welcome walk-in diners. Our weekend brunch is a staple of the Dublin social scene; it’s a buzzing hub of Irish metropolitan dining. High-quality ingredients and a laid-back style offer a smart treat for discerning visitors seeking the finest Italian restaurant in the Irish capital. If you are in quest of a cool and contemporary eatery for a business lunch or dinner, you can be assured that San Lorenzo’s is dedicated to delivering prompt and consistent quality and service every time. We offer superior quality Italian food with a NYC twist for lunch and dinner…and of course our famous weekend brunch!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place has an interesting, authentic menu; on the night we were there, the early bird offered unusual options, including a venison pasta dish, which might not be for everyone, especially if you are looking for Margherita pizza and Spaghetti Bolognese. The place has a great buzz, staff are very friendly and they do great desserts (top-notch Tiramisu). Overall, the food is high quality but the early bird was a bit hit and miss for us and at €27.50 for three courses, it was a bit over-priced compared to similar restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    232
    99
    58
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Forget to go back to your table after you use the facilities!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

A refreshingly open way to prepare your food...not afraid to be under the scrutiny of toilet goers above (separated by glass & plaster obviously)!! Warm surroundings in the centre of dublin! Staff are friendly, in a genuine way rather than affected, attentive but not intrusive. The manager who served us...well we assume he is...judging by his attention to detail & air of experience! Unsure if he is scottish or irish...not sure if he does either, he reflects the approach of all staff, which when you get down to it, are not trying to blind or impress with their knowledge. The approach seems to be that they will try to get a feel for what you like and then try to match this with what's on offer on the excfeptional menu. Sean the sommellier is a perfect example of this, with his mind reading abilities was able to select a magnificant red that I didn't even know I wanted...it was spot on!!! The scottish fella treated us to a Campari based cocktail that was both fruity and sweet and put us in the mood for our meal, we based our selections on the expertise of the wonderful Gerry The quail and mozzarella starters were exquisite...all the flavours complimenting each other & good size portions. For main we had Venison & Rib Eye, venison shoulder melt in your mouth wonderful!! Rib eye cooked to perfection...mustard mash fantastic. And it just got better...the desserts..nutella baked cheesecake is a MUST... it is fair to say the best dessert i've had in a hell of a long time!! The tiramisu was also delightful...light & flavousome!! Huge Compliments to the Chef!!This restaurant is not trying to BE something...serving quality food at a fair price!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Addition to Dublin Restaurant Scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Ironically, the recession in ireland has been good for the restaurant scene in Dublin. Many of the over priced underwhelming establishments have faded away and have been replaced by innvative exciting places like San Lorenzo's.
I recently ate here with my wife on a Sunday evening and we had an excellent meal. The prawns we both had to start we simply done but were all the better for that - served with garlic butter and fresh parsley. My main course was venison done at least four diferent ways - it as an excellent, flavoursome dish that showed that there is some real skill in the kitchen in this restaurant.
If you are a tourist reading this - take the advice of a native Dubliner - head out of Temple Bar when it is dinner time and explore some of the excellent restaurants that Dublin has to offer - a great starting point would be San Lorenzo's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cashel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“First experience outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Having an alcohol-free November, we decided to treat ourselves to lunch in each of the restaurants featured in Irish Masterchef, and first up was San Lorenzo’s. It was quiet as might be expected on a Monday, but a few occupied tables and good music created a pleasant atmosphere. Service was informal but attentive and professional. We both had pan-fried gambas bruschetta with a white wine, chilli and garlic sauce, which was exceptional and at €6.50 almost miraculous. A fat slice of focaccia in the middle of the plate soaked up the gorgeous juices and not a drop was left. Then I had a confit chicken leg which was an all-too-rare real soft confit, full of flavour with a fine squash risotto and tasty wild mushrooms. The chicken was very salty but it was explained that this is part of the confit process, and otherwise it was perfect. Cathy had grilled calf’s liver which was beautifully tender and came with a flavoursome sage and mustard mash among other tasty things. We were tempted to quit while ahead but succumbed to a shared tiramisu, and were very glad we did as it was just outstanding, light as a feather with a flavoured chocolate sauce and a lovely chocolate ice cream. For Monday lunch this was a huge success showed all the signs of a very promising kitchen, and we vowed to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SkeffIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great food, Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I went here on Friday night with the folks before we headed over to John Bishop in the O2. We booked for the early bird at 5.30 and what food and what value!

Selection on the starters was little limited depending on taste buds... but all in all for an early bird at €27 there was a choice of 4 in each course which was great...San Lorenzo's is an Italian with a difference. Fabulous cooked meat for mains, great sauces, and fab veggies...My Dad had the lamb and it was cooked to perfection, so tender and juicy! Yum...

Wine list was a little on the high list however we grabbed a Montepulciano for €24, great flavours, nice robust accompaniment to the meat dishes we had.

All in all I will definitely return to San Lorenzo great service, great good, great price!

Credit to all concerned... Well done

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SanchaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Lorenzo's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to San Lorenzo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing