We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Boutique Georgian hotel with value for money.”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #76 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Elegant Boutique Georgian hotel with value for money.”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We came to Dublin for our wedding anniversary along with my parents, the staff could not do enough to make it special. The room (mezzanine) had a huge bed in it, it was a beautifully converted Georgian room that had a massive window that faced out to the Street (yet it was quiet as new windows!) Great shower, linen, towels etc. Fantastic breakfast with home baked bread, pastries, hot food was beautifully presented. It featured a Georgian Lounge area with tea/coffee facilities with the most, to-die-for home baked cookies that you just helped yourself to all day, if you so wished. The staff were very friendly and helped in any way they could. I would recommend this Hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shermanndennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear shermanndennis,
Many thanks for writing, we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay and found Pembroke's rooms quiet and you enjoyed the cookies and breakfast!
Also we are thrilled to hear that you felt the staff were friendly - I will be sure to pass it on to everyone here!
I hope we get to welcoming you back some day.
My best regards from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    258
    127
    48
    19
See reviews for
118
328
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed here while exhibiting at Showcase trade show in the RDS. Great service, comfortable rooms, very good breakfast and lovely individual touches.

Will be back next time I'm to stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Dear circ,
Thank you so much for your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back, should you stay again one day.
All our best from everyone here!
Fiona and all the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Overall the service was good, but no one ever seemed to have a smile on there face. Not the woman who checked us in nor the gentleman who checked us out. We didn't feel welcome at all. The room was small, but was put together well. The biggest problem was the window in the bedroom did not shut properly and therefore did not keep out the cold night air. Also, the shower was lukewarm at best. The cold room, combined with the cold shower made for a less than enjoyable experience. If we ever return to Dublin, we will not be staying at the Pembroke Townhouse.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frazeej28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear Frazeeej28,
Thank you for writing a review.
I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and am most disappointed to hear that you did not feel that you were made welcome.
We were unaware that you did not feel comfortable in your room or had trouble with the window or the shower, I am sorry about this and would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify these for you.
I hope that you might maybe change your mind one day and stay with us again, I would be happy to assist if you would like to contact me directly to do so.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed at the Pembroke townhouse during our whistlestop stay in Dublin. I can be a little fussy (so my husband tells me!) at times but I have to say this hotel delivered and was really good value. The location is fantastic, in a nice part of town, not too far from the centre yet really quiet - perfect.

The rooms themselves are beautiful and quiet. (Although as I am fussy, bathrobes in the room would have been nice) There is also a lovely guests lounge where we relaxed before we went out. There was a 'larder' with free tea, coffee, cookies and so on, which was a nice touch. The staff are friendly and helpful, even when I declared that I needed soya milk for my coffee (there's always one isn't there?!)

Overall it is a small, cosy and welcoming hotel and I would reccomend it highly particularly as it is so good value - I think you get a lot for your money particularly compared to other hotels I looked at.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmiths_Lichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear TheSmiths_Lichfield,
Thank you for writing a review about Pembroke Townhouse. We are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and love to hear all your comments about the rooms, most especially regarding the staff, which I will be sure to pass on.
Hopefully, we will get to welcoming you back again on another occassion.
Best regards from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2010

A nice, quiet hotel in a very nice neighborhood in Dublin. The staff was supremely helpful during our stay. They knew the city, and gave great suggestions on things to do and places to see. They were helpful in tracking down tours for us as well (we traveled off season, so many tours were not running).

The room was elegant. The room was on the small side, but we were really only there for sleeping, and the bed was huge and comfortable. The neighborhood was quiet, and we felt comfortable walking around in the evening and late at night. The hotel itself was very sweet. It's in a series of old Georgian townhouses, and the windows in our room were huge, and the room itself consisted of 2 floors with a huge ceiling.

Breakfast was wonderful!

It was a bit of a walk to the Center of Dublin (about 15-20 minutes), but it was pleasant, and there is convenient bus service nearby. Definitely worth the cost of staying there. Convenient parking for our rental car as well.

Loved the place, loved the staff, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Delvian,
Thank you so much for your review on Pembroke Townhouse, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much with us and I hope we will get to welcoming you again on a return visit.
Happy Christmas and all the best for 2011 from Fiona and all at Pembroke Townhouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens,ga
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2010

It was a nice place once we got the right room Orbitz is who we booked thru and had a free room upgrade and it took several rooms before we got the right one and once we got it everything was good,except on the day we were going on a side tour and got up for a nice hot shower and no HOT WATER so after that every night had to make sure at midnight we had hot water. People who worked there was really helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICETRAVELOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Dear Nicetravelor,
Thank you for writing a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Pembroke Townhouse, but I am so sorry about the water you mention, we had a problem we had been unaware of, but thank God it is fixed now.
We look forward to welcoming you back again some day.
Best regards from Fiona and crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

we were a group of approx 20 students and two staff members, and found out about the hotel from a work colleague - sure enought the hotel was exactly as my colleague had described, clean, great location, cosy, friendly, and very reasonably priced with a yummy, freshly made breakfast that even the students were delighted with! i would definitely recommend it for a school group and the next time im staying in the city myself, minus students, i will definitely be choosing the pembroke townhouse! we were treated very well, the students felt very comfortable, and the rooms were absolutely lovely!

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank edeldefaoite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Dear Edeldefaoite,
Thank you for your writing such kind words. It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found Pembroke Townhouse clean, cosy and friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back again with our without the students!!!!
See you soon from Fiona and the crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing