We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #76 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
dublin
1 review
“Wouldn't stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

I'm currently sitting in my hotel room thinking about canceling my remaining 3 nights here and looking for somewhere else to stay. First of all, the rooms are pretty small and the showers don't get very hot. This I can live with. However, what is a total deal breaker for me is the fact that they want to charge me 15 euro per WiFi device per 24 hour period for access to an absolute garbage internet connection (0.86M / 0.08M - down/up). This might not be a factor for some (seriously, do these people still exist?!), and I certainly didn't come to Dublin just to use the internet, but I had been blogging my trip and uploading pictures for friends and family to view but this garbage kills that idea. This place was a total let down after spending 3 days in some very nice B&Bs in Ennis and Dingle.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penbrokesucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, May 14, 2009
Dear guest,
I have just come across your review and I am very sorry to read that you are not enjoying your stay. We are unaware of the problems you are having - maybe you would identify yourself to us and we promise to do our best to help. We have bedrooms of various sizes and could maybe move you to another room if this is of interest. We are unaware of an internet speed problem or hot water, but I have now just turned up the overall tempereature of the hotel water just in case.
Hope we get the opportunity to help you.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    257
    126
    48
    19
See reviews for
118
324
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed at the Pembroke Townhouse for 4 nights and enjoyed everything about it. The breakfast room is really lovely, sunny and bright with wonderful paintings on the walls. Our room had a large sunny window overlooking the street and the bed linens and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The lounge area is furnished with very comfortable sofas and chairs. We enjoyed the tea and cookies that were always available as well as the latest newspaper and magazines.
However, what impressed us most was the friendliness of the staff. We had some trouble with bus tickets that we had ordered on line and Vivien who was on duty at the reception desk went out of her way to help us with the problem. We would certainly stay there again.
You can easily walk into the centre of the city but if you prefer buses are only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, May 3, 2009
Dear Noyan,

Many thanks for your kind words about Pembroke Townhouse - it was our pleasure to have you stay.
We hope to see you again some day.
Best regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

Lovely little hotel, good furnishings, clean and well looked after.
Bit out of the way, however walking distance of city.
Staff really helpful , friendly and professional. Good advice on eating, location services, sightseeing. What you sacrifice for location, you gain by the hotel being in a quiet spot without traffic noise, so a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is not so good. ours was part of a special deal, would not have been overall happy if I had been paying extra for it. Would I stay again? Possibly (personally would prefer to be closer into the city). No tea & coffee making facilities in room, but you can get it 24hrs complimentary, but this is a little ambiguous as room service is extra? however we ordered it in the room one morning and were not charged on departure.
Value for money: for the price paid - very good

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank hotelierswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, May 3, 2009
Dear Hoteliers Wife,
Thank you for your comments and spending the time to write on Tripadvisor.
I apologize if we didn't explain fully our tea/coffee facility during your stay.
We offer complimentary tea/coffee and homemade cookies brought at no extra charge to bedrooms or to the lobby lounge -
we have a litte note in the rooms explaining this. We prefer to offer this rather than tea facilties in bedrooms, as we feel it is a more personal touch.
I hope you might stay with us again and we can get the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

The hotel was in a good location and buses were frequent and cheap which made it easy to get about. The hotel room we were given was the smallest double room and the view was obscured by a wall plus the lift cut into some of the room space and i wasn't impressed. However after asking the receptionist if we could change rooms i was very happy with the new double room we were given, much more space, nice view and no lift noise.
full irish breakfast was lovely and the room was tidied daily so everything was great.

  • Liked — the room size was good, breakfast was nice too
  • Disliked — no back garden so view was of carpark
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, May 3, 2009
Dear Tinaml,
Thank you for your kind comments.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

We booked this hotel based on a combination of price, location (for Donnybrook Stadium) and the reviews here.

The hotel is well located - a pretty pleasant 20 minute walk to St Stephen's Green and 25 minutes walk to Donnybrook. The area is pretty nice, and a cab from the airport was about Eur25.

The interior is very well presented - the public areas are very impressive and the double room we had was very well decorated, furnished and clean. Only things we'd have liked in the room were our own iron and board and above all tea and coffee making kit.

Staff were courteous and helpful, and the breakfast (which was included in our rate) was very good indeed. We missed there not being a bar (but that might just be us!)

The experience is not one of 'wow!' but 'wow!' costs a lot in this city. If you are looking for a decently priced and clearly very well run establishment then we'd recommened.

In Dublin itself we'd recommend two restaurants - KOH which is avery nice Thai just on the north side of the river, and Botticellis in Temple Bar. We were taken to the latter by friends and really enjoyde the food, service and desserts. Not a flash place but really very good indeed...especially compared to the awful service we received in the Milano next to the Canal as you walk into town...

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — no kettle
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmar169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, May 3, 2009
Daer Danmar169,
Than you for comments.
You might be pleased to know we now offer wine and minerals, snacks (crisps, etc) to drink in the lobby lounge.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you to stay with us again.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

My daughter and I have just returned from our stay @ the Pembroke House. Overall the room was clean and sufficient for our needs yet the window needed to stay open because it was quite stuffy therefore traffic noise was an issue. Our biggest problem with the hotel was the staff. Very little information was communicated, ie. no one pointed out that a fitness center was nearby, that breakfast was not included included in the price, and no one helped bring bags in or out. The "continental breakfast" was very disappointing. Very little offered and the cost was 9 euros. The overall feeling was not very welcoming. Though in a beautiful area I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The area
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsk4md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed here for one night and we would definetly return again. It was more like a mini boutique hotel - the reception area was very old world and the rooms were beautiful and clean. The location was amazing - old Georgian Dublin and is on the Bus Tour route. I would only complain avout one thing and that was breakfast. We presumed it was included and although it was nice it cost 14 euros each - for that you got cold buffet and one hot item from the kitchen - for me that was a bowl of porridge and for my boyfriend an omlette! 14 euros for one bowl of porridge - outrageously expensive!! On top of that we had to wait for about 45 minutes to get this breakfast! So we would return again but not have breakfast!

  • Liked — Location and overall service
  • Disliked — Cost of breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueskiesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing