We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #75 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had my second taste of the townhouse, my wife's first and what a pleasure it was. My wife rated the breakfast as the best ever in many years of travelling. I just love the laid back, friendly attitude of the staff, and the ability to get a hot drink and a biscuit when you felt like it, or a bottle of decent wine to help us wind down after a late arrival in the cosy residents lounge. Lovely place to stay,10 minutes stroll to Grafton St et al

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TattersLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Hi TattersLeedsUK,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and mostly you felt the staff were lovely and and breakfast so good (we are blushing!!).
I hope we get to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 816 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent a few wonderful days in Dublin at the Pembroke Townhouse. It is in a great location with good transport links and in a lovely part of the city well served with places to eat and drink. The building has real character and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful , and Fiona made us feel at home . The breakfasts were great , with a wide choice of things to eat including homemade items. The downstairs pantry allowed us to make drinks when we wanted to and included homemade cordials and biscuits. These could be taken downstairs or brought to your room if you preferred.
Overall a pleasant stay which I would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Dear MidlandsEagle,
Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor.
We are really delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and mostly that you felt the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and you flet at home.
We look forward to welcoming you again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The breakfast served was the best which we ever experienced in our many trips to Dublin, The hospitality of the staff was excellent as they were always friendly, polite and extremely helpful. The availability of free coffee/tea/shortbread in the reception area at all times is a lovely touch, which gave my wife and I an opportunity to mingle with some of the other guests. Our stay was a wonderful experience which we aim to repeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2015

Hi Ciaran P, So glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the little touches, breakfast and our crew! Thank you for writing. Best regards, Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Dublin, staying at the Pembroke Townhouse.
We got from the airport to the hotel via the aircoach, which drops off about 10 minute walk from the hotel, which in good weather is fine.

The hotel is located in a nice area of Dublin, close to a few shops, pubs and restaurants (although we didn't try any of them), and it is a 15-20 minute pleasant walk to St Stephens Green/Grafton Street.

We had a standard room, which was functional, but perhaps a little tired (especially compared to some of the photos on the website). The room was very clean, with a comfy bed and good shower, which is all you really need in a city break hotel. There was no tea and coffee in the room, but you could help yourself to tea, coffee and home made biscuits in a nice lounge area.

Breakfast was excellent and filled you up for the day. We tried the omelette and full irish, and would recommend both.

There are plenty of eating/drinking places in Dublin, but we would certainly recommend Hugo's which is a restaurant on the walk from the hotel to the centre (bright blue bistro).
The little museum of Dublin is also worth a look in (again on the walk in to the centre, opposite St Stephens Green). It is worth getting there in time for a guided tour to help explain things a bit better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Hi Andyemily,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we 3 booked a large room with a loft above...very comfortable ....giving us privacy and space....a very busy townhouse with an electronically gated parking lot for our rented car.....all was wonderful as you can enter from the parking lot with your luggage without lugging it up stairs.....if you enter from the pembrooke road entrance, there are steep stone stairs that you must travail....for the reasonable price , we had all we needed.....cleanliness and convenience.....we had 3 guests come over and we used the comfortable drawing room and the library/private dining room to meet with them...we ordered a good bottle of cabernet....one was enough as it was only an hour meeting and 2 guests did not drink....we parted and walked to an elite irish restaurant ....about a 15 minute evening stroll...the morning breakfast was just lovely and fresh...the breakfast room full on that weekend with mostly European guests......a very nice, tall and elegant Chinese waiter talked to us about his life and fondness for the country ...the young receptionists at the front desk seemed to not like their jobs as they seemed distant .....maybe dreaming that they were more fit to be in the movies than answering queries and telephones....the owner doesn't visit much as he depends on the lovely hotel manager, Fiona, to run everything....she is very sweet and helpful and overworked..... the hotel owner may be pushing his luck...all in all, we would return

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarak211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2015

Dear barbara k,
Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor.
We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and mostly that you felt the staff were helpful. We look forward to welcoming you again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to go to the Fleetwood Mac gig at the O2.

Initial impressions were good, nice front of house in a good location. It was relatively easy to find by car and the locked car park was great. The hotel is only 20 minutes walk from St Stephens Green too.

However the room which was beside the lift opened onto reception which was weird. We weren't too bothered by noise but other members of our party were kept awake by guests coming and going all night. The room itself was decorated rather roughly although it was clean. There was a tiny 1990s portable tv with a poor picture. No tea making facilities in the room but the free fudge cake and shortbread at reception made up for that.

I noticed on checkout a crudely written note saying that because they were full the night before new guests would not be able to check in until late afternoon. I found this a bit strange and unprofessional. There were popular concerts and the GAA final on that weekend, the management knew it would be busy so put on extra staff?

I expected more for the price

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheNomiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Dear TheNomiMo, Thank you for writing and so sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay.
I might address some of your comments -
The note left at reception that you are referring to was not left by the guesthouse - it was left by a tour leader of a group who was staying with us who was leaving instructions that were meant for all his group, he asked could he attach it to the reception desk for them - and it had the group name it referred to on the top of the letter - he was only leaving instructions for those group guests who had arrived at the crack of dawn, so was advising them the rooms were not available until later... there was no issues with shortage of staff as we are fully staffed. Sorry if you read it and left it was from us to you.
I am sorry you preffered tea / coffee in your room, but maybe you weren't aware that tea / coffee and homemade cookies are available 24 / 7 by calling room service free of charge - we offer this as an alternative to making it oneself.
I hope you decide to come and stay on another occasion - maybe drop us a line and will try allocate a room that suits you better (you might be interested to hear we will have new upgraded tv's too). Best regards, Fiona and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Extremely noisy. rooms are tiny very basic and stink of cigarettes . staff clearly don't want to be there and couldnt care less any complaints are treated with disdain and disinterest . Checked in at half three pm and was told our room would not be ready anytime soon. dropped our bags and on return our room had been given to someone else. we ended up on ground floor where it was so noisy that we did not sleep a wink. our room stank of stale cigarettes . really disgusting. I travel a lot and stay in hotels at least once a month this hotel is a standout in low standards. Aesthetically it looks the part and the location is good neighbourhood is great but the Pembroke Townhouse is a real let down. avoid! Many other decent hotels in same area to choose from. I have never written a negative review before but am compelled by this experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dongalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2015

Dear Dongalway,
Thank you for writing a review.
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We really do try to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay where possible, so am mostly disappointed to hear that you didn't feel our staff were helpful.
Maybe do come and stay again and drop us a line and I will personally make sure you are looked after. Best regards, Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#41 of 152 in Dublin
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 152 in Dublin
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 152 in Dublin
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 152 in Dublin
2,659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harrington Hall
Harrington Hall
#89 of 152 in Dublin
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 152 in Dublin
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $113 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing