We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a stay in Dublin”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Chorley
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a stay in Dublin”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Dublin, staying at the Pembroke Townhouse.
We got from the airport to the hotel via the aircoach, which drops off about 10 minute walk from the hotel, which in good weather is fine.

The hotel is located in a nice area of Dublin, close to a few shops, pubs and restaurants (although we didn't try any of them), and it is a 15-20 minute pleasant walk to St Stephens Green/Grafton Street.

We had a standard room, which was functional, but perhaps a little tired (especially compared to some of the photos on the website). The room was very clean, with a comfy bed and good shower, which is all you really need in a city break hotel. There was no tea and coffee in the room, but you could help yourself to tea, coffee and home made biscuits in a nice lounge area.

Breakfast was excellent and filled you up for the day. We tried the omelette and full irish, and would recommend both.

There are plenty of eating/drinking places in Dublin, but we would certainly recommend Hugo's which is a restaurant on the walk from the hotel to the centre (bright blue bistro).
The little museum of Dublin is also worth a look in (again on the walk in to the centre, opposite St Stephens Green). It is worth getting there in time for a guided tour to help explain things a bit better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2015
Hi Andyemily,
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. I hope we get to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    262
    127
    49
    21
See reviews for
124
337
42
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

we 3 booked a large room with a loft above...very comfortable ....giving us privacy and space....a very busy townhouse with an electronically gated parking lot for our rented car.....all was wonderful as you can enter from the parking lot with your luggage without lugging it up stairs.....if you enter from the pembrooke road entrance, there are steep stone stairs that you must travail....for the reasonable price , we had all we needed.....cleanliness and convenience.....we had 3 guests come over and we used the comfortable drawing room and the library/private dining room to meet with them...we ordered a good bottle of cabernet....one was enough as it was only an hour meeting and 2 guests did not drink....we parted and walked to an elite irish restaurant ....about a 15 minute evening stroll...the morning breakfast was just lovely and fresh...the breakfast room full on that weekend with mostly European guests......a very nice, tall and elegant Chinese waiter talked to us about his life and fondness for the country ...the young receptionists at the front desk seemed to not like their jobs as they seemed distant .....maybe dreaming that they were more fit to be in the movies than answering queries and telephones....the owner doesn't visit much as he depends on the lovely hotel manager, Fiona, to run everything....she is very sweet and helpful and overworked..... the hotel owner may be pushing his luck...all in all, we would return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarak211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2015
Dear barbara k,
Thank you for writing a review on tripadvisor.
We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and mostly that you felt the staff were helpful. We look forward to welcoming you again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghaberry
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to go to the Fleetwood Mac gig at the O2.

Initial impressions were good, nice front of house in a good location. It was relatively easy to find by car and the locked car park was great. The hotel is only 20 minutes walk from St Stephens Green too.

However the room which was beside the lift opened onto reception which was weird. We weren't too bothered by noise but other members of our party were kept awake by guests coming and going all night. The room itself was decorated rather roughly although it was clean. There was a tiny 1990s portable tv with a poor picture. No tea making facilities in the room but the free fudge cake and shortbread at reception made up for that.

I noticed on checkout a crudely written note saying that because they were full the night before new guests would not be able to check in until late afternoon. I found this a bit strange and unprofessional. There were popular concerts and the GAA final on that weekend, the management knew it would be busy so put on extra staff?

I expected more for the price

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheNomiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Dear TheNomiMo, Thank you for writing and so sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay.
I might address some of your comments -
The note left at reception that you are referring to was not left by the guesthouse - it was left by a tour leader of a group who was staying with us who was leaving instructions that were meant for all his group, he asked could he attach it to the reception desk for them - and it had the group name it referred to on the top of the letter - he was only leaving instructions for those group guests who had arrived at the crack of dawn, so was advising them the rooms were not available until later... there was no issues with shortage of staff as we are fully staffed. Sorry if you read it and left it was from us to you.
I am sorry you preffered tea / coffee in your room, but maybe you weren't aware that tea / coffee and homemade cookies are available 24 / 7 by calling room service free of charge - we offer this as an alternative to making it oneself.
I hope you decide to come and stay on another occasion - maybe drop us a line and will try allocate a room that suits you better (you might be interested to hear we will have new upgraded tv's too). Best regards, Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Extremely noisy. rooms are tiny very basic and stink of cigarettes . staff clearly don't want to be there and couldnt care less any complaints are treated with disdain and disinterest . Checked in at half three pm and was told our room would not be ready anytime soon. dropped our bags and on return our room had been given to someone else. we ended up on ground floor where it was so noisy that we did not sleep a wink. our room stank of stale cigarettes . really disgusting. I travel a lot and stay in hotels at least once a month this hotel is a standout in low standards. Aesthetically it looks the part and the location is good neighbourhood is great but the Pembroke Townhouse is a real let down. avoid! Many other decent hotels in same area to choose from. I have never written a negative review before but am compelled by this experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dongalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Dear Dongalway,
Thank you for writing a review.
I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We really do try to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay where possible, so am mostly disappointed to hear that you didn't feel our staff were helpful.
Maybe do come and stay again and drop us a line and I will personally make sure you are looked after. Best regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived from Boston, and took the airport bus to the stop near this hotel. About a 15 minute walk to the hotel, past lots of shops, restaurants and bars which made the walk seem like a shorter one.
Nice neighborhood, some foreign embassies, very safe to walk around in. Check in was easy and fast. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the street, no problem with street noise and we liked having a lovely tree outside our window.
We didn't take breakfast at the hotel but found a bakery down the street (Baggott) and off to the left, before you get to the bridge over the river, that made their own scones. 4 different kinds to choose from and they had other baked goods, and also porridge, as well.
We did enjoy the hotel's coffee and cookies in the small pantry space in the lobby and once we came in from sightseeing and there was cake to snack on. Such a nice, welcoming touch.
One experience in Dublin we enjoyed, that we kind of stumbled across, is at Brewley's on Grafton street, they have a small theater on one of the upper floors. We went to a play there, which included a soup lunch, one afternoon. It doesn't play at night, only in the afternoon. We loved the feel of it and it wasn't something I've seen noted anywhere else.
We'd be happy to go back to the Pembroke again. Really good location, close enough, but far enough away to be in a neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alastairdeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2015
Dear alastairdeacon,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and mostly taht you felt the crew were helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent location and facilities. I arrived and staff were friendly and attentive. Great room. All in all a good place to stay long term or just over night.

For work it was excellent and nearby and although close to the centre of Dublin it was not so close that you are disturbed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Nathan316 - So glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope we get to meet you again soon. Thanks for writing. Best regards, Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 151 in Dublin
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Latchfords of Baggot Street
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing