We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you like quiet comfort, well-appointed rooms, elegant common spaces, and delicious home-cooked food, Pembroke Townhouse should become your home from home when you are next in Dublin. It is an easy walk to the cathedrals, art galleries, museums, shops, and restaurants that make the city so special. The staff are friendly and helpful, our room was airy and comfortable, and we enjoyed a quiet cup of tea in the lounge at the end of the day (especially the shortbread and melting moments!)The breakfasts were simply wonderful--fresh fruits and homemade compotes, home-cured bacon and sausage, free-range eggs, salmon, and some of the best just-baked bread we have ever eaten. Taking it with us wasn't an option, but getting the recipes was. The service and the presentation of the food were impeccable. Easily a five-star restaurant! The Pembroke Townhouse is quintessentially Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holyer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2015
Dear holyer6,
Thank you for writing. We are so glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us..and love the description "home from home"...and we are very glad to hear you felt the crew were helpful and friendly ...and we are blushing about our breakfast - happy to hear you enjoyed!
I hope we get to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    260
    127
    48
    21
See reviews for
119
331
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I often need to travel to Dublin on business and have stayed in various places in the past, but I will make Pembroke Townhouse my regular 'home from home' after a lovely brief visit last month.
Rooms are spacious, staff are friendly and the cookies are great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2015
Dear Vince C,
Thank you for writing. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay..and love the description "home from home"... You are always welcome - I hope we get to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Difficult to know where to start really. While the information on the website was not inaccurate, I didnt get what I expected. The photograph on the website certainly didnt reflect what I got. On arrival, I was expecting a fresh contemporary luxurious room as per the website but this is not what I got. So what was the problem? I was in room 101, this was a room in the basement next to the car park (not a view of the roads of Dublin as advertised). Because of this, we needed to keep the blinds closed while we were room to maintain privacy so there was no natural light while we were in there. Also, being next to the car park, the room was very noisy, the fact that deliveries were made through a door next to our room didnt help. There was one free socket to charge phones etc and the tv was a 14inch low definition CRT high on the wall. This is not my idea of a luxurious room although I understand that this is subjective. The website says you can "choose from one of 41 luxurious rooms" but when I asked to change my room, I was not able to because the hotel was full (understandable).On the positive side, the room had a fantastic shower.
This hotel is in a nice part of Dublin and was perfectly located for the purpose of my trip (event at the Aviva Stadium). There are some nice restaurants around it and it does only take 15 minutes to walk in to the city. Had I got the room I was expecting, I'm sure my rating would have been higher.

Room Tip: avoid 101 and possibly floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spidy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PembrokeTH, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 8, 2015
Dear Spidy365, Thank you for writing and so sorry you did not fully enjoy your stay or felt our website not representative of what we are - we do try to portray what we think we are.. (I am not sure we use the word "luxurious", more "cosy" anywhere on websites we have a control over..maybe third parties - but would love to know where we could make a change on that if so..)
I hope you decide to come and stay on another occasion - maybe drop us a line and will try allocate a room that suits you better (you might be interested to hear we will have new upgraded tv's too). Best regards, Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff at Pembroke Townhouse were gracious and helpful to us. It's a charming place, and our rooms were unique.The breakfasts offered great options and were scrumptious! The Pembroke is located right around the corner from the city bus line, which was very convenient. If you're a walker, it's a pleasant walk to St. Stephen's Green and the city center. We also enjoyed walking around the Pembroke neighborhood, finding nice places to eat and shop. You won't go wrong if you choose to stay at the Pembroke Townhouse!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 829Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
829Jean - thank you for writing and I hope we see you again soon!
All the best from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, Co Antrim
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed two nights during Dublin Horse Show. Helpful staff, comfortable rooms, great breakfast. Best little touch is the lovely complimentary tea/coffee and SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS HOMEMADE cakes when we came back from a long day at the show. I can't think of a nicer place to stay. Well done!

Room Tip: Very close to the RDS and AVIVA Stadium. Perfect for Horse Show and Rugby Matches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Julie Teresa Olsen,
Thank you for writing.
You are very welcome. Glad you liked our cakes!!
I hope we get to welcoming you again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona and alll the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Where to begin... We stayed two nights here and could not wait to leave. As we first arrived and brought our luggage up the steps, the hotel MANAGER just looked on and did not even bother to hold the door for us though she was standing right next to it. The hotel staff were cold and not helpful. We felt as if we were bothering them and they appeared as if they did not want to be working there. One would expect a more hospitable welcome.
Then the room....quite drab and unfinished (web photos were very deceptive). We had two twin beds which were separated by at most 2 feet which then only left room for luggage along the wall. The room was sooo small that I felt as if I were in a college dormitory. Unable to walk around the room, we were stepping over the beds and luggage to get around.
DEFINITELY, not worth the money especially given the many choices in Dublin. They should convert it to a youth hostel.
Our trip to Ireland and Northern Ireland was beautiful and the people were wonderful except for this one experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirig06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Kirig06,
Thank you for writing.
I am sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay and mostly that you felt the staff were unhelpful. Also, I am so sorry if you feel I did not help you with your luggage. I usually offer help if I can at any time, unless the phone is ringing or the likes, so have to tend to it - I am so sorry if you felt that way.
The rooms shown on our website show some of our bedrooms which vary, but we havent made any changes since we took the photos. The sizes do vary and we have 2 small rooms... if you decide to come stay again, please drop me a line and I will do my best to personally lok after your preferences.
I hope we get the chance to welcomingyou again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

At the beginning of July I had the pleasure of staying at the Pembroke Townhouse. There were so many nice touches that I cannot list them all, but they made me feel completely comfortable and relaxed. From the larder offering complimentary hot drinks and home made biscuits to an outstanding breakfast it was a memorable stay. I usually choose to have breakfast out of a hotel as they are generally mediocre, but this was tremendous. All the staff that I came across were friendly and represented Ireland in the way that you would expect.
I would consider going back to Dublin on the strength of this hotel alone - it was that good.
I can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you Steve ,
We are blushing!
Glad you enjoyed you stay and I hope we get to welcoming you again some day.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#27 of 151 in Dublin
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing