We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but no free wifi”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place but no free wifi”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a beautiful townhouse south of the city center on a main but relatively quiet street. Parking in the rear is free. Wifi, however, is not free. It is 15 Euros for 24 hours and 2 Euros for 1 hour. This may also be for one device only. We have been in southern Ireland for a week and have not paid extra for wifi anywhere else. The service was excellent and the room was clean. They have a small "larder" closet in the drawing room that guests can take from at no extra charge, such as cans of Coke, homemade cookies, bags of crisps, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi John L.
Thanks for writing and we are glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.
And guess what - the wi-fi is free now !!!!
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    260
    127
    48
    21
See reviews for
119
331
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Pembroke Townhouse was a beautifully restored boutique hotel accommodation - their complimentary breakfasts were delicious and staff was always very helpful. It's located conveniently to bus stops for those folks who prefer not to drive in the city centre. Rooms were very clean and decorated with quality furnishings. Their wireless was free. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Michelle G,
So glad you enjoyed your stay and mostly that you felt our staff were helpful.
Look forward to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice location in Ballsbridge area of Dublin, about 10 minute walk from Dart train station. Efficient check in/out. Clean hotel with lovely breakfast. Our bedroom in lower floor/basement not the best - next to lift shaft and also door to carpark adjacent to bedroom window, so lots of early morning noise of people coming in and out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
MissWales82,
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for writing.
I hope we get to welcoming you on another occasion - If you are coming again, maybe let us know you prefer a quiet room and we can also arrange earplugs.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely old georgian house and surrounds, inside and out. Our room was at top of the house, looking out towards the street and mountains in the distance. Room was nice, spacious and clean. However, with a fabric head and footboard, you knew it could do with some re-upolstery.. left you wondering alittle about the stains...
Breakfast room was alittle cramped, you were quite close to the tables on either side of you, had to excuse yourself just to get past other seated guests, as you made your way round to the buffet breakfast. Homebaked food delicous, especially the banana bread toasted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Carol A O,
Glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we get to welcoming you again some day.
Our best regards,
Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I was really hoping to give this hotel a better review but I just can't! I couldn't even tell you one of the staff names. No one really spoke to us while we stayed there and when they did they seemed so bothered by us. The breakfast was pretty good and the service staff was wonderful but other than that what a dissapointment. Every time I asked a question I felt so stupid and like I was annoying the staff. The room was ok a little old and dingy. It was too far from town... It should have been a lot better. I would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stephylynn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear stephylynn02,
Thank you for writing and I am so sorry to hear that you felt that our team were not friendly to you, something we strive for.
I hope you give us the chance to wlecome you on another occasion.
Our warmest regards from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Another stay at this lovely house. Had a lovely room with large bed and a mezzanine, not that I needed this.

The breakfast is outstanding and the staff really pleasant and helpful

The only thing I would request would be a bottle of water in the bedroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Bridget L,
Thank you for writing and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and mostly that you felt the staff welcoming.
Remind us of the water when you some again and we can arraneg it for you - we have chilled filtered water in the kithen and mineral water for sale too.
Until the next time...
Best regards,
Fiona and all teh crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel could be so much nicer.The double room booked was two singles pushed together which made it quite uncomfortable.No bath...just a shower.Our ground floor room had a small window with no view as there was a bush growing over the whole window so it was very dark.Had to go downstairs to get your own tea and coffee.It would be nice to have tea making facilities in the rooms.We did not have the breakfast.The reception staff need to be more helpful and cheerful...a smile would be nice.The hotel was in a nice area though...about 10 euros for a cab into town or a 20 minute walk.Dublin is well worth a visit...just take plenty of euros with you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trewince31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear trewince31,
Thank you for writing and we are sorry to hear you would prefer not to return.
But if you do decide to come back, please remind us you perfer a bath as we have different rooms with Bath, on different levels, different views, etc and we will do our best to give you a room to you personal preference. We have afew roosm only with shower only.
We offer complimentary tea / coffee room service 24/7 by dialing "0" - maybe you were'nt aware of that.
I do hope we do get the opportunity to welcoming you again on another occasion.
Our warmest regards,
Fiona and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#25 of 151 in Dublin
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#33 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#20 of 151 in Dublin
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing