We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Overnight Stay in Ballsbridge”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #75 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Overnight Stay in Ballsbridge”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I was attending a function in one of the hotels in Ballsbridge before Christmas and decided to stay overnight in the area rather than rush back and forward to home on the evening of the event. I choose Pembroke Townhouse based on a recommendation from a colleague and was really pleased with my decision.
It is one of those beautifully restored houses in Ballsbridge and is described as a guesthouse but is identical to a small hotel. On arrival I received a lovely welcome from the receptionist and coffee served with homemade biscuits (Which were stored in a tin in the larder where guests are encouraged to help themselves).
My room was nice and spacious – with a double bed and a mezzanine level. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean with a power shower, robe and slippers. Even though I did not spend a lot of time in the room it was certainly comfortable and I was delighted with the luxury of leisurely getting ready for the function rather than sitting in rush hour traffic.
Breakfast the following morning was a lovely spread consisting of a buffet and hot menu with home baking and fast, friendly service.
Overall I was really pleased with my stay at Pembroke Townhouse. The staff were efficient and friendly, there is a homely feel but with hotel comforts. I will definitely return and would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Dubgirl71 ,
Thank you for staying with us and also for reviewing our guesthouse.
We are delighted that you enjoy your stay.
We truly hope that throughout your stay you felt as comfortable and relaxed in Pembroke Townhouse, as you would in your own home. Thank you again for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay, hopefully in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    262
    127
    49
    21
See reviews for
124
337
42
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay if you want quality, non intrusive, good value accommodation. Like a home from home in the City. Lovely location, only few mins walk away from dart station into town and in a fab location for a pleasant walk into the town. Cosy elegance for a great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Tracy C,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and mostly that you felt cosy and "home from home"!
Thank you for writing and I hope we get to see you again.
Best regards,
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2012

had a lovely 2 night stay at the Pembrooke, very inviting and warm welcome from the staff,rooms comfortable,the most perfect location for a stay in Dublin, i would highly reccomend it. Really lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar1494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Shar1494,
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.
We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are so pleased that you liked our yum breakfast!
I hope we get to welcoming you back again.
Best regards from Fiona and all the crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I would happily recommend a stay at the Pembroke Townhouse, particularly to those looking for a central but 'quaint' location and a really helpful team of people. The decor is really pleasant, the lounge is a great meeting point, it's very clean and well maintained. Staff are very attentive and responsive. We had several queries about local eateries and landmarks and were rewarded with precise information and a fun weekend. Congrats to all of those involved, a pleasure!

Room Tip: "The highest rooms always have the best views!!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear brendandee,
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and felt the staff were attentive and responsive. I hope we get to welcoming you to stay again.
Best regards,
All the crew at Pembroke Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I wish I could write a better review of the Pembroke. We stayed here twice, once at the beginning of our trip and then again on our last night in Ireland (traveled around the country inbetween). The hotel itself is nice, clean and the staff are fairly friendly. The breakfast was adequate. The rooms, however, are tiny - not very much room to move around in, esp if you have a suitcase or two out. we had a room facing the street. the time of year was early september, so it was actually still a bit warm, but in order to get some air circulating, we had to open the only window facing the street, thus letting in the street noise. they could stand to install fans or something to move air around the rooms.
we actually had a very nice experience during our first stay and so booked our last night with them (before leaving for the airport in the morning). when we arrived on our last evening, we were told that we had run up a big phone bill during our last stay, and they had neglected to charge us for it when we checked out the first time. first we asked them what tehy would have done if we had not come back for a second stay and they outright told us they would not have charged us for it, but because we did return we were now going to be charged for these calls. The charges came from several local phone calls we had made in order to use our international calling card. we had inquired at the front desk about this when we originally made the calls and were told that local calls were free (as they often are in the US). Based on that, we did not hesitate to use the local number on our calling card and call family members, etc. We were unaware that, in fact, local calls were NOT free apparently.
After MUCH arguing, both the night before we checked out and the next morning (involving the manager and everything), they still insisted we pay for the $40 phone bill. Regardless of whether or not local calls are free, WE were told that they were by the person at the front desk. And had we not returned to the Pembroke they would not even have charged us! The whole situation was ridiculous.
In the end, we left with a bitter taste for the whole place. I would not reccomend this place to anyone. The rooms are tiny, they charge a high rate for their crappy wi-fi (which you can only really get in the lobby and you have to pay by the hour), and the management either needs to communicate better with its staff or take some lessons in customer service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WenatcheeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear corvallis_traveler,
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much, that you decided to book with to us again for your last night of your trip.
When you stayed with us almost 2 years ago, we then discussed in detail the subject of the bill and it is not suitable for me to repeat the details of this discussion in a public forum.
Our kindest regards from all the team at Pembroke Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in December for one overnight. The staff are polite and friendly and the breakfast is nice but that's about it. I had booked a double room and found that room incredibly small with a very old small tv on the wall. My room was facing the road and traffic woke me at 6am. This hotel is in a good location if in Dublin for business but definaltely not for a relaxing break. I would not recommend this hotel as I found the rooms incredibly noisy and small.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Mary G,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and had trouble sleeping, but glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed breakfast.
We hope you would like to come and stay with us again and we would love to arrange a room that would be more suitable for you so that you can enjoy your stay - do drop us a line advising us if you decide to stay again.
Best regards from Fiona and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visited the hotel with my girlfriend on a weekend away, and had a very good experience. The location is fantastic and the rooms were nice and clean. My only slightly negative experience was the the room was next to the lift, which while we initially thought might make it loud, was surprisingly quiet and cozy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Pete S,
Thank you for writing. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found us a quiet cosy location.
I hope we get to welcoming you to stay again.
Warmest regards from Fiona and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#32 of 151 in Dublin
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 151 in Dublin
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#29 of 151 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Latchfords of Baggot Street
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Property: Pembroke Townhouse
Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing