We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mini-suites are loft style. Great fun. Breakfast not so good.”
Review of Pembroke Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pembroke Townhouse
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The mini-suites are wonderful very tall Georgian rooms. So tall that the hotel has put a mezzanine floor in them. This is great fun. It would be a good place to come for a romantic weekend.
The breakfast wasn't so good. The specialty breads were unpleasant and their French Toast which they promote as being really good is truely awful. It was two slices of mothers pride dipped and greasy. The coffee wasn't particularly good either. If you want good french toast go to Cafe Boulevard in Lower Baggot Street.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaLauren29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Daer Giles29,
Thank you for writing a review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you found the mini-suites to be fun! I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy our breads or French Toast, am sorry about this...
I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to us some day again.
Best regards from Fiona and all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Pembroke Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 793 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2011

My wife and I have just experienced a great Townhouse 15mins from the town centre of Dublin. We arrived early and our room was ready and further to that, we changed rooms without any issues for a higher floor.The Townhouse was very clean with nice decor throughout and the breakfast was excellent. Its no wonder that there are various awards around the walls. Service second to none, all staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Tea and coffee with home made cookies available at all hours was a very nice touch.Situated in a quiet area that was welcomed after the St Patricks Day celebrations. We will certainly stay at the Pembroke Townhouse again as it offers the best of both worlds. Well done to Fiona and the staff. Aircoach from Dublin airport stops 3mins walk from the Townhouse.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meshcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Daer meshcfc,
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor - we are really delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found Pembroke Townhouse friendly and service and breakfast excellent.
I hope we get a chance to welcoming you back again some day.
Best regards from Fiona and all of us here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

great location as was close enough to walk to city centre but just out of the hustle and bustle enough for a quiet nights sleep. service was great, breakfast was perfect, and good value for money as we had a full irish breakfast and buffet for 10 euro. my only downfall was my room was quite small but my sister-in-laws was far bigger so just pot luck really! rooms where spotlessly clean and the lady on reception was very helpful regarding information. i would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Daer poenrich,
Thank you for writing a review on Pembroke Townhouse.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service good!
I hope we get to welcoming you back some day in the future.
Best regards from all of us at Pembroke Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed 1 night in the hotel, for St. Patrick's Day. The hotel was reasonably central (with a bus ride from Dublin Town centre to Marion Square, and a 5-7 minute walk) but far away from the noisy crowds.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are laid out over 6 floors. Early check in was accommodated and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our room was on the 6th floor; a bit on the small side, but a nice room. Not much of a view, but we didn't gothere to look out the window... Nice basic bathroom, and just like the whole hotel, it was very clean. The only problem was the cystern making a lot of noise when filling up, and it lasted literally for about an hour for it to fill up. The bed was a little bit on the short side; if you are over 6 feet tall, then your feet would touch the foot board. Also, there was no kettle in the room, which for me is a must. However, there is a pantry in the lounge, next to the reception, where you can make tea and help yourself to other goodies too, which is a nice touch. The lounge is beautifully decorated.
The breakfast was fantastic, for 10 Euros you get a full continental breakfast with a wide choice of pastries and cereals, and they even had walnut cake. 15 Euros will get you the Continental breakfast as well as a full cooked breakfast, which was amazing quality and plenty of it. They even had gluten-free bread.
Overall a great hotel and I hope the cystern issue was just in our room and will get fixed :-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ancsa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Daer Ancsa07,
Thank you for writing some comments on Pembroke Townhouse - we are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and most importantly that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
And we looked for and found that toilet - all is fixed now!!! -
I hope we get to welcoming you back another day.
Best regards from Fiona and all of us at Pembroke Townhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Great location, walking distance from the center of Dublin, some nice restaurants nearby, we liked Hugo's. Hotel was very friendly with nice sitting room with tea, coffee, delicious shortbread etc.. Good substantial breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Daer SarahT40
Thank you for writing a review on Pembroke Townhouse - we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and mostly that you found the staff friendly.
I hope we get the chance to welcoming you back again!
Best regards from Fiona and all of us at Pembroke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

The hotel is about 25 minutes walk from Temple Bar area. Its in a nice area and the walk in to the centre of town is a really nice one.

The staff in the hotel were really lovely and very helpful. The rooms aren't particularly big, but are clean and nicely decorated.

Breakfast was great, so get a room with this included if you get the chance!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walshy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Dear Walshy1973,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay - thank you for writing!
I hope we get the chance to welcoming you back again.
Best regards from Fiona and all here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I don't usually write reviews but I just had to for this place. It's a beautiful little townhouse which is a pleasure to stay in. I'll say straight up it's a little out of town but it's not too far to walk (took me about 10 minutes to Trinity College but I'm a quick walker) and it's a very pleasant and safe walk. The townhouse is in a nice neighbourhood with shops, rail station and bus services nearby.

My single room was large with a double bed and was very tastefully and elegantly decorated. Also spotless. The best thing about this hotel though without a doubt was kindness and attentiveness of the staff. They were always friendly and ready to help. The homemade biscuits which are available 24/7 are just a joy. Breakfast (which was included in the deal I got) was so good with a big choice (I wish I'd stayed longer so I could've had the chance to try everything!) And yes the banana bread is gorgeous (even though I don't like bananas!)

This place is really lovely and I'll certainly recommend it as a place to stay in Dublin - I'd say it was a home away from home but it was better!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loulous_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FionaTeehan, Manager at Pembroke Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Dear loulous_j,
Thank you for writing a review on Pembroke Townhouse.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are very proud that you say the best thing is "without a doubt was kindness and attentiveness of the staff." Thank you for such a kind comment, it is something we really to be!
It is also lovely to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and the bananas in the banana bread!!!!
Hopefully, we will get the chance to welcoming you back again some day.
Best regards from Fiona and all the crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#34 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
0.3 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#87 of 150 in Dublin
2,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembroke Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Townhouse

Address: 90 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $132 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pembroke Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Pembroke Townhouse! ...homelier than most hotels in Dublin! Situated in the heart of Georgian Dublin in Ballsbridge and just a 10/15 minute stroll from Grafton Street and St. Stephens Green. Pembroke Townhouse is a 4 star guesthouse with 48 bedrooms equipped with the modern conveniences of a hotel.... Pembroke Townhouse has the personal touch of a guesthouse....Make yourself at home and raid the larder in the middle of the night for home baked cookies or browse the restaurant reviews in the comfortable drawing room over a glass of wine or a coffee. Breakfast gets many compliments! As we are passionate about our food!!... from the Full Irish Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order or treat yourself to the continental buffet which includes Pembroke's home home baking. Secure Parking is complimentary to residents (subject to availability) and free wi-fi is available throughout. Pembroke Townhouse is included within the list of hotels of the Bridgestone "100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Guides; Fodors Guides "Best"; Michelin Guide; Georgina Campbells' Guide.... "Our aim is to provide you with the highest standard of accommodation and hospitality." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Pembroke Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembroke Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing