We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD!”

Kennedy's Food Store
Ranked #272 of 2,596 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Award winning, child friendly & customer focused community cafe. Our aim is to provide fresh, locally sourced homecooked food with friendly efficient service in a relaxing neighbourhood environment.
Kells, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were in Dublin at dinner time and walked over to a lovely little restaurant, that, unfortunately, had changed ownership and ethnic cuisine. But, right next door was this little gem called Kennedy's Food Store! The menu posted outside had several yummy sounding selections so in we went. The wine list was rather limited, but reasonable priced, offering glasses, half and full bottles (our half bottle house wine €14.50). The 2 course early bird was our choice (€17.95 each). My appetizer was a self-selected trio of 3 of my favorites: pesto, hummus and olives with 2 types of bread. (The bread portion was a little too meager to really do justice for what I selected.) We both chose the steak for our mains and it was fine.....not great, just fine, cooked to the requested degree of doneness, but not overly flavorful. Mister decided on a dessert for his second course, a very rich chocolate brownie with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and, really, what could go wrong with that? The service was good, with several servers each bringing a different offering. The atmosphere was lacking, but as we were paying at the counter, the cashier/server mentioned that there was a very nice bistro area upstairs. It would have been nice to have been advised of this upon entering. The charge of €2 for a teabag and small pot of hot water seems a bit excessive, but I've come to expect it in too many Irish restaurants. The cashier was astounded when I handed her a cash tip of about 18%, saying, "Oh, you don't need to do that!" You can always tell I'm an American, I guess. because of the tip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmmyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    31
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have been here regularly for breakfast over the past couple of years...breakfasts are cooked fresh..scrambled eggs are cooked as ordered ( not dry and tasteless) bacon is also good ..homemade wholemeal bread is really good and is on sale and worth buying..good value overall..service is quick and friendly ..went there recently and found myself sharing a small space downstairs with 4 babies...yes it was unusual but i would have liked the option of going upstairs ...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisydakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I go to kennedy's regularly for lunch and some soup and never thought of reviewing. Well here I am.

This place is great and diserves more recognition on here. They do really good food and soups at a good price and it is definitely worth a look.

Coffee is also great here.

Staff are lovely and friendly and you'll definitely get a big hello!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drbeatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Had breakfast here a few times and was always really pleased with the quality of the food, the service and the price! The menu is small with a few different egg options and all the usual Irish breakfast options available and generally there are a few specials as well! The service is friendly and efficient and there is a nice, relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. While I have never gotten anything from the deli downstairs everything looks wonderful - really fresh with lots of variety!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Very good value & service”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Sat night - table for three - not booked but Kennedys facilitated us with a welcome. Waitress was friendly and chatty. Restaurant has a number of awards signs outside but could do with a more obvious sign at door. Restaurant was upstairs and small but intimate. Food was excellent and service was brilliant - well done to our South African waitress.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennedy's Food Store also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Kennedy's Food Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing